Journal logo

Shiplife 101 #1

A crew members point of view.

By Victoria KeeleyPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
Like

There are so many misconceptions about what life is like on a cruise ship and how to come about working in the industry. I have been traveling since early 2013 and have many experiences that I feel will enlighten people. Plus, one day it’ll be a huge thing to tell my kids. To see my experiences and also so I can remember half of the things I went through as a teen into my early twenties – the fun, sadness, ups and downs.

The Application Process - Where to start? This was the biggest dilemma I faced when I started to research as I had no real idea where to look. I studied Travel and Tourism diploma through to a management course at Uni. The first question I was asked all those years ago was; ‘Where do I see myself in the industry in about five years’ I replied, ‘Working on cruise ships.’ I didn’t really care in what capacity I just knew that was the road I wanted to go down. How to get there was a different story. Looking back almost seven years later I jumped in the deep end really, I had the knowledge of my college and university course and my travels at Camp America with Surprise Lake Camp but no real cruise insight. When I began to apply I was lost. I wanted to find videos or a personal experience to relate to, to give me insight into what life was like because that was my biggest question. I was afraid of going away I wanted to know what I would be getting myself into in regards to living on a ship for a prolonged period of time – I found nothing of interest.

My Camp America experience led me back to looking into the agency Kings Recruit. I then discovered all the other recruiters that work with cruise liners. In my personal experience Kings were the best. Looking back I owe it all to them, it was a fantastic tool. They helped me secure my position on Norwegian Cruise Line. I originally applied as a Youth staff as I wanted to work kids.

Getting the job of my dreams - I actually conducted my interview whilst I was at camp. It was the weirdest most surreal experience of my entire life. I was first interviewed by Kings again to validate my previous working skills. I can remember it like it was yesterday. I had requested the time off from my boss at camp to take the interview for Norwegian. I sat in a cabin in the middle of the woods surrounded by 300+ acres of forest. You could hear kids screaming near the lake, the birds whistling, and the breeze blowing open the door. I couldn’t believe where I was sat. The lady on the other end of the video call was so sweet, we chatted for about twenty minutes and she offered me the job just like that. I sat for a good minute in pure shock. She asked me if I was okay. I immediately responded. ‘Yes, yes, I need to tell my mom!’ She chuckled to herself and went through the next steps. I remember not even listening and not registering what was going on. I remember that she had said I would start in September. Camp ran until mid-August so it hit me that I wouldn’t have any time at home before being whisked away for six months.

After the call ended I cried for about twenty minutes. The pit at the bottom of my stomach, filled with butterflies. I remember running out of the cabin, and sobbing uncontrollably, I passed by the Camp Director and she gave me the biggest high five as if she knew I had gotten the job. She congratulated me and continued on. I couldn’t think what to do so I ran to the Arts and Crafts building where my ‘Camp mum’ worked. She was the lady I told everything too. I ran inside and she instantly locked eyes on me, the tears streaming down my face said it all. We collided and embraced. She told me how proud she was of me and we cried together – a dear memory that I will never forget. Babs rescued me that day I was so glad I had someone like that I could confide in as I think I would of hyperventilated as my mum wasn’t there. I had told my mum the next day and from that day to this she has said as soon as we finished face time, she cried so hard, but was so proud. My mom is my rock and has always supported my choices regardless of how hurt she was.

So it begins - After returning from camp I had to begin the process through Kings. Sorting my visas and insuring I had the correct paperwork. Something to this day I am now familiar with but holy Jesus, I had no idea when starting up. Kings Recruit came in very handy, my mentor Sam was there throughout the entire experience. He helped me through the stages of getting my visas, to booking my medical. The stress of filling out paper work consumed me and asking my mom for help was no use as I knew it hurt her. (I always knew deep down she didn’t want me to go). So I searched for different resources as well as pestering Sam every day with questions. The visa process was actually not too difficult, if you have applied for visas before it’s a little simpler than you imagine at first. I had already applied for four J1 visas, so my application process seemed the same.

travel
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.