Journal logo

September Book Round-up

My book recommendations from September!

By D. M. McCoy Published 2 years ago 3 min read
1
Five books in hand in front of a white background photo by D.M. McCoy

Well, here we are at the end of another month, and this month was a little slower for me in the way of reading books. I only managed to get in a handful of books this month, as I got derailed by how long it took me to read one book. It took nearly nine days to read, and I had to force myself to stick with it. I will tell you more about that book in a minute. But first, let’s talk about my four favorite books this month and one that I wasn’t the biggest fan of even though it was made into a Hulu tv show.

The book I liked the most this month was Carrie Soto Is Back by Taylor Jenkins Reid. It had a mix of heartbreak and triumph throughout the book. It was a book about sportsmanship and allowing your heart to open back up to love. It’s about trusting yourself and going after what you want at any age. Also, who doesn’t love a great comeback story? I highly recommend you give this book a read. You won’t regret it!

Finding Me by Viola Davis was the book that got me in my feelings and had me think about my childhood trauma. Viola writes in a way that feels like you are right there with her, reliving these memories. It made me want to reevaluate my childhood and write about my traumatic experience. This, by far, was one of the best memoirs I have read in a long while. If you want a story that pulls at your heartstrings, give this book a read!

Another book I found remarkable this month was Other Birds by Sarah Addison Allen. This book was about how a person’s past doesn’t define who they are now and whether knowing their past changes who they are now. We may try to outrun our past, but it will always find a way to catch up to us at some point. And these characters tried to forget their past, but things in the present made them have to come face to face with it in order to become who they were meant to be. This was a fascinating read and definitely one that you should read too!

The Most Likely Club by Elyssa Friedland was a book that showed yet again that it’s never too late to go after your dreams. We, as women, don’t have to be perfect to be role models for younger girls. That all we want is to see a woman living her best life and being honest about it. We all fail at some point in our lives, and that’s just part of being human. And this book was fearless and captivating in how it showed these women coming into their own and not letting the struggles stop them from becoming who they were always meant to be. You should definitely give this one a read too!

Now to the book everyone seems to like, which somehow turned into a TV show on Hulu, Tell Me Lies by Carola Lovering. I’m not saying that I didn’t enjoy this book at times, but it didn’t feel super authentic to a toxic narcissistic relationship. I have had plenty of toxic relationships in my life, and I know that everyone’s experience is different, but I feel like some key things were left out. Like he never seemed to put her down, jokingly insult her, or even love bomb her. I wanted more intensity from the relationship. But that said, once I finally got into the story, I had it done relatively quickly. And I will probably continue to watch the TV series.

That’s the end of my takes on the books I read this month, and I hope you find them helpful in picking your next selection of books. I look forward to telling you next month about the books I read. And make sure to stay safe during the spooky season, and read some good scary books too!!!

book review
1

About the Creator

D. M. McCoy

Dedicating my Life to Writing amazing stories!!!

Book-lover~Stay at home mom~Introvert~Lover of beaches~Army Veteran

Follow me on Instagram at https://www.instagram.com/d.m.mccoy

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.