Journal logo

Selling during a pandemic

Life can be pretty tricky

By Unidentified WriterPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like
Selling during a pandemic
Photo by Ibrahim Rifath on Unsplash

I've recently dropped out of a semi-regular sales job. My goal was to make as much money as I could throughout the day, which consisted of a prolonged afternoon and an averaged morning. After a while things start following a certain routine, and we, kind of, become the routine. Have that ever happened to you before? Realizing what was happening and not fighting the change that was taking place all around your self. I did, for a while, and then I chose to take my destiny into my own hands and quit that compromising gig. But how had I ended up there in the first place? Why was I working with a company that I didn't feel like working with? And why on hell am I telling you this?

I was in 12th grade, I was fresh out of home, coming down from Europe and coming over with my parents and an average sized luggage. After a while things cooled down and I was basically an average New Yorker, except that I was a Visa holder. Back then the immigration policy was making headlines pretty often, but more importantly the legal justice in general was just getting pinned down from every imaginable direction. Yes America had its first Black President but that hadn't miraculously solved society's issues.

After a year or two I was getting ready to graduate High-School and get into the big boy's league, only if I'd known what was coming ahead of me I may have ended up sticking around much longer my upcoming sales job and would have ended up in a different situation, obviously. That being said my high-school years weren't so tough to work with, and life was keen enough to allow me the occasional time out.

It was during a summer day that I had noticed a Latina looking woman strolling around in my neighborhood, going from business to business, handing bags to strangers, as if she was trying to sell something, which she was. At that point we quickly exchanged numbers and I ended up working for her boss, which she ended up sleeping with at one point or another, when exactly, that I'm not so sure about and never were. She was a nice looking lady, in her twenties but at least 5 years older than I was. After a while we did end up dating but that was years later.

So before graduating I was able to inject a couple of working days every now and then, that allowed me to breath out of my regular living condition, which was pretty much confined to the four walls of my tighten living barracks. Life can't let you know that something is going to happen before it's too late, and even when that's the case, it doesn't mean that it'll get better anytime sooner. But back then I was working for a company, which I recently hooked up with again, to only part ways from, once again.

From a general standpoint the idea of getting paid for the amount of work once can put in, me in this case, is quite attractive, but working in sales while people are dropping faster than the frame rate of a washed-up computer trying to stream a high-end video game can be quite tricky, so I quit. But back to where I was isn't so much different to where I actually am, still struggling to maintain an above zero bank account, while constantly looking out for new ways to better my surroundings without getting great results. Now is the time for me to truly move on and stop trying to live in the reminiscences of a darkened past.

humor
Like

About the Creator

Unidentified Writer

I write for the love of life and the hate of despair.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.