Journal logo

Schäfer's Round Up

My inaugural wossname. *whistle* All the stories in the pen, come by, come by 😁

By L.C. SchäferPublished 9 months ago 3 min read
20
Schäfer's Round Up
Photo by POOYAN ESHTIAGHI on Unsplash

I've wanted to do this for a while. It seemed a bit pointless when my stats were in my shoes. It would be a nice gesture, I guess, but not much of a leg up, from a practical point of view.

I decided to bite the proverbial bullet and share with you a few pieces that stood out to me, with a particular focus on highlighting some bits and bobs that (in my opinion) didn't get the recognition they deserved.

I don't know how many pieces I'll shout out to, or how often I'll do it. Maybe I'll never do this again. Or maybe weekly - isn't that how these things go?

If a piece has already had plenty of eyeballs on it, I might skip it. If it already won a challenge or got Top Story, maybe it doesn't need another shout out (even if it does deserve it).

Just like with recipes, I like a minimal amount of waffle before jumping into it 😁

Here we go:

I stumbled on Are You a Good Citizen by Ian Read a little while ago.

Why I think you should read it

It's brilliant spot of dystopian fiction. I love the mantras! If you like Handmaid's Tale, or 1984, this could be right up your alley.

Stand out line

Hard to pick, but this one stuck with me:

Good citizens ask no questions.

+++

Next up, His Mother's Portrait by Christopher Donovan.

Why you should read it: It gave me chills in a Black Mirror/Jurassic Park "I can actually sort of see this really happening" kind of way. I also quite like his character's thoughts on skiing, and I fully agree.

Stand out line:

if walls could talk, it's a very good idea if they don't sound like your mother

+++

A Letter From the End of the World - another bit of dystopian fiction, this one from lucyjb. Can you believe, when I stumbled on this one, there were no likes or comments or insights on it at all.

Why you should read it: It's beautifully written and thought provoking. I especially like the character's musings on death and belief.

Stand out line:

even in the face of their own doom, humanity would not believe it until it happened. Some would call that foolish, and it is, but those who believe before they see are fools, too, and there are no in-betweens. One either believes or they don't, and that makes us all fools in the end.

+++

And diverging from the dystopian theme a little, The Writing Circle by Hannah Moore. Some writing about writing - why we write, and who for, and its value. I was convinced this one would get a Top Story. Convinced!

Why I think you should read it:

Because it will resonate with you. Multiple lines will jump off the page at you and you'll find yourself going, yes, me too!

Stand out line

We yearn to express. Perhaps driven by an ever-present consciousness of our own aloneness, we are frantic and perpetual in offering some piece of ourselves to someone else, in taking in the pieces offered by others.

+++

And last up - this beautifully written bit of short fiction from Teresa Renton, "The Gingerbread Baker".

Why I think you should read it

It's well written, with voluptuous descriptions of food, and just the right amount of creepy.

Stand out line

He tasted, he ate, and discovered he liked the taste of these juices and the salty sweat of imperfection.

+++++++

Thank you for reading! I hope this inspired you to check out some of the stories listed. Go and give them some love.

list
20

About the Creator

L.C. Schäfer

Book-baby is available on Kindle Unlimited

Flexing the writing muscle

Never so naked as I am on a page. Subscribe for nudes.

Here be micros

Twitter, Insta Facey

Sometimes writes under S.E.Holz

"I've read books. Well. Chewed books."

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (17)

Sign in to comment
  • Kayleigh Fraser ✨8 months ago

    I don’t know why it’s taken me so long to find these! A brilliant series. Thank you for doing this 🙏✨👌

  • And just dropped into this one , thank you again

  • Donna Fox (HKB)9 months ago

    I'll have to add these to my reading list, I love the shout outs and the way you have presented this L.C.!! It gives us a tidbit that helps us decide if we'd like to jump into the story/ work, although your sales skills are by far the best I've seen in this kind of article! Great work and such a generous thought! 💜

  • The only one I've read is Teresa's story. I definitely have to come back here to read the others!

  • Ian Read9 months ago

    It warms my heart to see A Good Citizen get some of the love it deserves. Thank you, L.C., you got some wicked good creators in this article! :)

  • Some great creators for us to follow

  • Hannah Moore9 months ago

    Thank you so much. I was pleased with that piece, I just sat down and wrote it in one little gush and it really feels like a used my voice in it - that nudity of which you speak!

  • Judey Kalchik 9 months ago

    Some terrific new-to-me suggestions.

  • Mackenzie Davis9 months ago

    I will be back to read these wonderful stories but I wanted to say thank you for doing this! It’s awesome to see everyone’s unique take on the compilation style, and yours is quite different but just as compelling! Looking forward to reading these! I think I read Hannahs, and agreed that it would get TS! How did it not? ❤️❤️❤️

  • Alexander McEvoy9 months ago

    Love when my favourite creators give out their recommendations! Awesome list L.C.! Thanks for sharing :)

  • Sonia Heidi Unruh9 months ago

    I love the format you've laid out here -- as well as the recommendations!

  • Lilly Cooper9 months ago

    I will come back and check the stories mentioned when I have some more time, but I like what you have done here. The format of an opinion and a snippet is likely to get people following the links. Well done, very community minded. I hope it succeeds!

  • Grz Colm9 months ago

    Good on you! I’ve not read any of these as yet!😊 I need to do this too. But I forget what I read. Need to start taking notes! 😄

  • Mariann Carroll9 months ago

    I will give them a read after I catch up with your latest stories. It’s amazing how many stories you have been writing, I can’t keep up. I love how inspirational your are in right now . Sensation. I am so happy for you 🥰

  • Poppy 9 months ago

    I get excited every time someone does one of these series! Thanks for the recommendations. I’ll have to read them soon

  • Sian N. Clutton9 months ago

    Thanks for the recommendations! You're a great writer yourself - so if you like them, I'm pretty sure I will too.

  • Rachel Deeming9 months ago

    Great idea and I will try and check some of these out. I don't know how you have the time but applaud you for it! Writers need recognition and writers can help with that. Good on you.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.