Journal logo

Release, Create, Sleep, Repeat

Being In Flow

By Kathleen ThompsonPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 3 min read
1
Kat & Sugar

Every New Year I choose a word. A word to guide me. After the last two tumultuous years, I am choosing a word to remind me of being in synch. A word that doesn’t suggest anything close to upheaval for my mind or body. I am choosing the word FLOW to be my mainstay. I am creating and trusting in a flow that is manageable and within my domain. I will make time for my callings and my responsibilities. There is both time to exert my energy and time to reboot my battery with a power nap.

Mornings bring activities that help me create what is to be my future: first, I begin writing in my journal as a way to bring peace to any voices of inner pestering so they can be released. Out on the page. Period. No more mucking up the mind for the rest of the day.

Next- onward and upward with that which delights.

A cup of English tea and honey with cream for a jolt of caffeine and a few moments of silence. I ask the Universe or Cosmos what will bring me joy today and I ask to be shown how to be in flow. When I can be totally receptive, I do get signs to answer those inner questions. To the best of my ability, I follow through… as in the way of “being in flow,” as I continue to figure out new sources of income to replace a job I lost after 34 years of employment. This process also suggests “going with the flow,” where I select and accept side jobs that don’t take a toll on my energy grid and actually bring me delight. Availing myself to flow is when I give myself permission to engage and employ joy in whatever I am doing. I have always considered myself a creative person whether I am taking photos, writing stories, doing massage therapy, cleaning, organizing, caretaking, planning etc. At this moment in time, I am juggling all those roles in a flow of my own making; no frantic balls are bouncing off the walls or dropping out of my hands. The flow I wish to create is close to what author Angeles Arrien speaks about in her explanation of “the four-fold way,” as a way to move through and navigate life. Her four-fold philosophy is basic, yet profound:

“#1. Show Up

#2. Pay Attention

#3. Tell the Truth, and

#4. Remain unattached to the outcome.”

Of course, # 4 - the last step, is the most difficult for me and I’m sure for many others, but then that’s what I think sleep and relaxation are for.

In the evening, I become an even deeper purveyor of what will “release outcomes,” and bring flow and calm to my night. The right mattress, like a "Lull," lays the foundation to feeling great peace and enjoying a quiet slumber. When I add a 600-thread count of 100% viscose bamboo sheets... heaven will often sing me a lullaby as I lay down to sleep. Of course, a fine pup companion like say an American Eskimo, my favorite furry friend, adds love and comfort like no other sentient being! If I need a little extra calm, taking 20 mg. melatonin and or magnesium just soothes and reassures and helps put to bed any lingering toxic thoughts that need hushing. I also personally take a drop of peppermint oil and rub it into my temples which creates a cooling sensation, wards off headaches, and scents the air with clarity while promoting deep breathing.

To be in flow at the end of the day means to gain a restful sleep which serves to quiet the rage or unrelenting thoughts that can potentially fill my personal airwaves. However, if the feeling of my body being depleted comes into my mind space at any time of the day, a little siesta is in order. It’s under the covers I go. Afterall, a good night's sleep delivers me back to my humanity, where the creative spark is lit again.

humanity
1

About the Creator

Kathleen Thompson

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.