Journal logo

Reject

I am a job gypsy.

By Melissa K RodriguezPublished 4 years ago 2 min read
Like

In the past three years, I have been a temporary employee working for about three different temp agencies since I moved to Philadelphia from California. Some people like working as a temp because you only work in three month—sometimes, two day—increments, and it's always something different every time. And to be honest, I have a lot of experience now in various positions where I could technically put on my resume.

For instance, I understand the basics of working for a spa or a hair salon because I was a receptionist at a spa. I know how to send an order back at a college bookstore for a book that's out of print. I know how to file for a permit at a local zoning office for a construction or remodel job. I know, some basic dental work is billed, and I understand the ins and outs of Medicare, and also supplemental insurance. I know how, and if I want to sign up for a project management certificate, who to call and what it entails. I know how nursing homes work and also, how to walk an elderly person who doesn't really look at technical stuff, through setting up a personal medical device.

From my past experience, I know how to embalm a body, direct a parade, and I can work almost any cash register known to man. I can count change backwards without thinking about it. I have killed birds with my bare hands to mix in animal food, for a much bigger animal. I can talk any irate customer down from a ledge. Large volumes of people coming at me do not scare me at all. I can type 50 words per minute, manage a quickbooks account and troubleshoot any website over the phone. I am working on having four languages in my repertoire. (Right now, I only have two real, good ones.)

But what does this make me, now that I am grown up?

Answer: absolutely nothing.

The problem is, employers don't like seeing all this experience and not a lot of work put into one job, even though every single job I work to my full capacity. (Ok, maybe not at the job where I printed flyers—that was SUPER boring and it was just two weeks long, thank God.) It makes me look like a flake, which I am not. There aren't any permanent benefits or health insurance offered by most of the temp agencies themselves, but that might change.

I don't really make any workplace proximity friends because I don't stay at one place for longer than three months. I love it.

But, on the upside, I have not applied for a job I did not get at least an interview for. I know every interview question and can tailor it to that particular company. I can basically converse with anyone, about anything. I will know a little about it. If I don't know about it, I know how to ask a question so that person gives me the info, but frame it so they don't remember that I asked for the knowledge. I am a walking body of utterly useless knowledge, and I like it that way.

career
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.