Journal logo

Red hot iron: Perspectives of a young blacksmith

Introduction and background

By Magnus BudgePublished 3 years ago 5 min read
1
The Blacksmith's Fire

My name is Magnus Budge, Of England. I left school at 16, Trained at college as a blacksmith and now I am employed as a Blacksmith near York. Red hot Iron is going to likely be a weekly "blog" about a certain subject - Although this week has two articles; the introduction (This article) and one on Materials in a modern blacksmith's workshop (coming later this weekend).

Almost as far back as I can remember, I have wanted to be a blacksmith. I think my first inspiration for this was my love of history. Throughout the past few millennia, there have always been 'smiths. Blacksmiths, though some were bronze workers (& earlier still copper workers) known simply as "Redsmiths", have always been at the centrepoint of history & culture - Every village or town having at least one blacksmith and sometimes more. I have always been interested in archaic & esoteric ideas including the occult and various local traditions of the ancient and modern worlds. In short: A blacksmith is an honourable craft, focused on efficiency and quality whilst still witholding traditions from times long gone.

I first hit a piece of hot metal with a hammer at the age of 12 or 13. It was in a local engineering workshop on a farm who worked for a local charity to give people an opportunity they may not necessarily otherwise have. I made a very slightly bent piece of metal, maybe 10mm (3/8") thick, slighly tapered to one side. From that moment, I wanted to explore further. I was at school at this time. "The Atrium Studio School" in Ashburton, Devon. A studio school built around the built environment - I couldn't have asked for a better environment to develop my skills in design and architecture - Which is where I believe my taste in Industrial style ironwork was fostered. A few years later, I went on a basic Blacksmithing course with a Blacksmith in Kettering, Northamptonshire. His name was John, also known by his moniker "The Copper Elf".

John showed me the basics of blacksmithing. I had a couple of days with him learning some basic techniques. He was kind and helpful (Then again, I was paying him!). He taught me to twist and fettle to make a few beautiful items, among which being a bottle opener and toasting fork which are common items to make on a basics course. I still remember the smell of the "vanilla" tobacco he had a habit of smoking. Terrible bloody habit, mind... But somewhat nostalgic now.

After I had met John and he showed me Ironworking, I had decided. This is what I want to do. A few years passed - I took and completed my GCSE's, all the time researching the ins and outs of blacksmithing and the traditional culture of the 'smith.

After I left school, this being on two-and-a-half years ago now, i decided to go to a college by the name of Plumpton College in the downs of East Sussex. An agricultural college by tradition, attending Plumpton opened a new chapter in my life. I began boarding at college, living on-site and attending a local Re-enactment group of Vikings. They were part of a society colloquially known as the "Vike". Whilst at college, I learned many things in primarily the style of Arts & Crafts works but also in some more traditional styles as well as more modern techniques in fabrication & welding and Small scale work (In this case, Jewellery). Attending college was a thing I'd never have expected - It shaped and moulded the person I was to the person I am now. Plumpton, although not what many would consider to be the best environment for learning a craft, was more than adequate for what I needed; Experience. In Blacksmithing, Experience is everything. It's the crucial part of my work where I can tell how to correct my mistakes and how to work and what will & won't work.

This year-last, I left college. I graduated with two distinctions and a distinction star, If that means anything. My time at college was cut-short by the Covid pandemic which meant i couldn't make a final piece this year and instead had to resort to designing and modelling a plethora of maquettes (small preliminay models) to substitute what work I wouyld have produced. All in all, college was an excellent experience - one I'll never forget, but wouldn't like to do again. That being said, I could afford going to Hereford Univerisity to take a BA in Blacksmithing I would have done. Unfortunately I come from a working class background - once where although it would be possible to take a loan to study, I prefer to stay debt free and un-shackled by a loan or mortgage as long as possible.

In the last month-and-a-half, I have been taken on a Blacksmith by Andrew Brind Ltd. in Elvington (near York). I am being paid minumum wage for the period of my 3 month probation (Which is £6.45 / hr for my age bracket). I work monday to friday, 7am to 3.30 pm, 39hrs a week plus overtime. We forge and fabricate a variety of gates, railings and forged items in any style the client specifies for almost any budget. This is where i am now. A month into my Probationary period; With the possibility of making some of my own work on the side as well as writing here information and almost a journal of my journey.

So that's me!

You can expect another article this weekend (probably tomorrow, the 14th of November.)

Should you wish to get a piece made, Don't hesitate to contact Andrew Brind Ltd. for a quote and mention Magnus sent you!

Signing out for now, Magnus Budge

P.S. You can also find my instagram below!

https://www.instagram.com/m.budge_blacksmith/

career
1

About the Creator

Magnus Budge

Start

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.