Journal logo

Public Speaking

Was it for me??

By Sara LindseyPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
1
Public Speaking
Photo by David Straight on Unsplash

The temperature in that library had to be reaching 100 degrees. Oh, that’s right, they turn the air off in the summer to conserve money. Every possible fold in my body was dripping sweat. I know my face and neck had to be “Fifty Shades of Red”. At least as red as a cherry red Firebird. Of course, I had to inherit rosacea from my mom and every time I get the least bit stressed, I tend to light up like a bright red-light bulb, lucky me.

Why in the world did I get here 2 hours early? I have checked my handouts, props, music and slide show too many times to count. Arriving so early has just given me more time to worry and more time for the redness on my face to intensify. The handouts are good, props set to go but technology is not my wheelhouse. I remember that my husband stayed up with me late last night trying to help me develop an engaging slide show but I know something will go awry with the computer. If I were a betting person, I would put money on it. It always does something strange when I touch it. It’s a gift I wish I could return. I put chocolate in the center of each table to bribe my audience. I have door prizes that all teachers love. I don’t know a teacher alive that doesn’t love a freebie. I can’t remember why in the world I agreed to do this guided reading training for our staff. Oh, that’s right, it’s part of my job. You must have determined by now that this is the first training that I have completed on my own. Public speaking is not my forte. Especially for people that I know. My audience today will be the teachers and assistants that I see each day at school. I would much rather be training a group of strangers. Finally...the clock strikes 8:30. The first few teachers walk in the door with their planners and notebooks in hand. I jump in with my gregarious, “Good Morning!” They return with, “Oh, hey Sara”. I’ve discovered there’s never a great time to train teachers. In June, right after school is out, teachers work on report cards and end of the year paperwork. In July, they are working on supply lists and planning a schedule for the first week of school. When you look out into the group, it looks like they are eagerly taking notes. But I’ve been a classroom teacher long enough to know exactly what they are doing and thinking, seating charts, transportation lists, supply lists, etc. Finally, everyone arrives and I start talking about how guided reading will work this year. The more I talk, the more I realize that I actually enjoy talking about guided reading. As the day moves on, I continue to spit out more and more research and knowledge about learning to read. I look up from my notes on best practice and I actually see a few teachers making eye contact and smiling. Hey, that’s a good sign, isn’t it? Could it be another teacher is raising her hand to ask a question?

Asking Questions???

Could a few of them actually be engaged in what I’m saying to them. Suddenly, I hear bells in the background. Am I dreaming? Did an angel just get her wings? No, wait, it’s just my timer to remind me it’s time for lunch. I dismiss everyone and remind them to be back in an hour. I run to the bathroom to wring out my shirt, use the restroom and run to get some cold water. Then I return to the sauna (otherwise known as the library) to prep for the afternoon session. At 1:00, teachers begin the roll back into the room. I know from experience they will not be as active because we all really need a nap following lunch. I continue on with the information and try to get them active to keep them awake. A teacher raises her hand and I get so excited. “Do you think we might get out a little early today?” Suddenly, I feel deflated. Maybe it’s not going as well as I think. Especially if I have attendees that are trying to escape early. I respond, “Sure, I’ll do my best to finish up a little early. I know you have little ones at home.” At 3:00, I’ve done about all I can do. I’ve articulated every bit of knowledge that I can about guided reading and why it’s important to our school. As I begin to clean up, one of the teachers comes to the table and says, “Hey, I really enjoyed today. When school starts, could you come and model a guided reading lesson for me?” I thought I had died and gone to heaven. Those were just the words I wanted to hear. I responded, “Of course, I would love to model a lesson in your classroom. Thanks so much for coming today!” It was at that very moment that I realized that I not only enjoyed teaching young students but I also enjoyed sharing knowledge with teachers. Maybe public speaking isn’t so difficult when you know a little bit of what you are sharing with your audience! Maybe I'll try this thing again!

I did it!!

literature
1

About the Creator

Sara Lindsey

Wife-Mother-Christian-Teacher-Author

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.