Fiction logo

Saving Annie

Finding a Cure

By Sara LindseyPublished 2 years ago 21 min read
Like
Saving Annie
Photo by Emiliano Vittoriosi on Unsplash

In hopes that it would ease the unbearable pain of her breaking heart, she ran as fast as she could down the long hospital hallway. She’d wake up in her own bed any minute now. She had to. There was no choice in this matter. Her mom promised that she would be there for all the important events in her life. That’s just the way it’s meant to be. Her heart physically hurt. The pain was excruciating. Just a month ago, Mom had told her that she was going to beat the wretched virus. Her mother took on the stance of a fighter. Her mom was the only one who called her Anna Kate. Her mom always said that was the name she was given so that is what she would be called. But at some point, in her childhood she just became Annie with everyone. Oh, in this moment, how she missed the way her mom said Anna Kate when she got into trouble. Angrily, Annie pushed her way through the heavy steel doors and headed down the stairs toward the exit outside of the hospital lobby. She ran as if she could get away from it. She tried to convince herself that she could outrun the pain. Every time her feet pounded the pavement, she cursed God and what he had done to her mom and family. Her father had just died a year ago. Why would someone want to hurt her family? She couldn’t stand all this agonizing pain. Never in her life had she felt so broken. It was though she was spiraling to the bottom of a dark pit and she knew she couldn’t possibly see her way out.

Carson darted after her, begging her to stop. She never even stopped to look back at him. She just ran alone into the dark night. He couldn’t stand to see her in this much agony. He watched as she moved in and out of the parked cars. He knew he couldn’t lose her. She didn’t know it but she was his everything. Finally, Annie made it past the parking lot to safety between the picnic tables under the big Oak tree and fell to her knees and wept uncontrollably. As he reached her, he went down on his knees and pulled her into his open arms. He hugged her so tightly that she couldn’t move. She couldn’t breathe. Not so much because of his hug but because of the uncontrollable sobbing. No words were spoken between them. He just let her cry it out as he swore to himself that he would never let go. He didn’t even make an effort to speak because he knew there were no words that could make this right for her. The pain cut too deep. An owl hooted from one of the branches in the background. Crickets chirped. He couldn’t possibly know what to say in the face of such an overwhelming loss. He gently lifted her up into his arms and walked her to his car. He somehow managed to open the passenger door, slowly easing her down into the seat like precious china. He kissed her lightly on the forehead and walked around the car. He looked over at her. She stared into space without speaking a single word. It was as though her tears had dried up and the loss had left her in a complete state of shock. Of course, she was in shock. They all were. She seemed lifeless. His Annie had always been so courageous and full of life. That was the first thing he ever noticed about her. He was drawn to her enthusiasm and the way her face lit up when she was happy. He pulled out of the hospital parking lot and they drove. He didn’t know where he was going. He couldn’t take her home. Too many memories in that house. Besides he knew the house might not be safe. Periodically, he would glance over to check on her. What did he do now?

Eventually he pulled into an all-night gas station to get gas. He looked over at her and was shocked when the words came out of his mouth, “Annie, I want you to marry me.”

At first, she didn’t move, it was as though she was frozen in time. Then slowly, she turned and looked at him and said, “Carson, what are you thinking?”

“I’m thinking that I can keep you safer if you are with me 24/7. You’ll go everywhere I go as I investigate what happened to your parents. We’ve got to get to the bottom of these assassinations. Your mother’s death was no accident. You know that, don’t you? You know she would want you to be somewhere safe until we find the killer, “He pleaded with her.

“Carson, I appreciate your concern but neither of us are in a place where we should make such rash decisions. We’ve both been working on this investigation for the last 6 months and we weren’t able to save Mom. I’m probably next. You shouldn’t even be around me. It’s not safe.”

“Annie, do you know how ridiculous that sounds? Beside you is exactly where I need to be. Someone poisoned your dad a year ago and then moved on to your mom. I’m terrified that you are next on their list. I have to be with you all the time. If I’m not, I’ll lose my mind,” he said as he ran his hand through his coal black hair.

“You can be with me all the time without getting married, Carson, “she said as she took hold of his hand.

“Maybe the killer will be afraid go after a cop’s wife, "he said as he squeezed her hand tightly.

“Carson, the person started off killing a well-known senator. No offense but I don’t think they will stop to think about me just because I’m a cop’s wife.”

“You’re still staying at my place until the case is solved. We have no idea why they are doing these things. We don’t know if it’s political or personal.”

“Okay, Carson. I have to admit that I would feel better with you right beside me. I will also need you to help me make funeral plans for my mom.”

They drove back to his house. It was not the first time she had slept there. He and Annie had been best friends for years. She just didn’t know how much he loved her. He had loved her since they were in the fifth grade and she punched Billy Parker in the nose because he made fun of Carson’s glasses. From that day forward, he had watched her date guy after guy, graduate high school and finish college. She always said he was her best friend and she didn’t want to screw that up. As he watched her walk up the steps to the bedroom, he thought about asking again. No, she’d refuse just like always. Besides he needed all his focus to be on the investigation. He headed toward the downstairs closet to get a pillow and blanket for the couch but he knew he wouldn’t rest.

He jumped up when he heard the ear-piercing scream. He grabbed his gun and ran up the steps as fast as he could. He got to her room. She was screaming and tossing and turning. Clearly, she was having a nightmare. He ran to her side. “Annie, Annie, wake up sweetheart, you’re having a nightmare.”

Her tear-filled eyes opened and she saw Carson. “My mom is really gone, isn’t she? You’re right it was just a nightmare. I’m sorry. Go back and lay down. Tomorrow will be a long day with all the plans we need to make.”

“Do you want me to call to the doctor and get something to help you sleep?

“No, I’ll be okay. Besides, Dr. Whitt, our family doctor, is out of town.”

She watched him walk slowly out of her room. She loved him so much. She didn’t want to tell him because she was afraid someone would go after him next. She wished she could convince him to stay away for a while but she knew there was no way in hell that he would leave her alone. She pulled her knees to her chest and wondered how in the world they had gotten to this place. A year ago, her mom and dad had both been alive. Her dad was getting ready to retire from politics and they were planning to travel the world. She had just finished college and had plans to work at her mom’s pharmaceutical company. She loved Carson but she needed his friendship. Why were the most important people in her life dying? Furthermore, why couldn’t one of the best pharmaceutical companies in the US discover an antidote. Her Uncle Mark was the lead scientist trying to dissect and identify the poison that killed her dad. He really wasn’t her uncle but she started calling him Uncle when she was young. Now her mom had been killed by the same slow-working poison. They had some of the top scientists in the world working on this case.

Carson went back downstairs and paced the rest of the night. He was used to stakeouts and all-nighters but this was so much more exhausting than any other case. Finally, he settled enough to sit down at his desk, turn on his computer and review the details of the case. He had a list of possible suspects separated by personal and professional relationships to the family. They knew the poison had to be ingested so they were assuming that Senator and Mrs. Dawson had been poisoned through food or drink. It was just so strange that the scientists at a top pharmaceutical company couldn’t identify the poison. He looked through the list of people who worked at the company. He had interviewed each employee from the company. None of them seemed to fit the profile of a killer.

Annie woke up and glanced at the clock. It was only 6:00. She felt like a piece of her heart was missing. She felt so alone knowing that her mom was no longer in this world. It had taken so much strength to get through her dad’s death. She just didn’t know if she had it in her to do this again. She knew she didn’t have a choice anymore. Suddenly, she felt something else, nausea. She made a beeline to Carson’s bathroom. She threw up several times and just collapsed on the floor. She heard Carson coming up the stairs and then he was standing in the doorway. Then he was lifting her up in his arms and carrying her back to the bedroom.

“Oh no, Annie, no, no. This is not happening. It can’t be not to you,” he whispered to her as he kissed her forehead to see if she had a fever. “You’re burning up. Why didn’t you come and get me sooner?”

She lifted herself up so she was on her elbows and said calmly, “Carson, it could be just a stomach bug or something. You and I both know that I haven’t taken good care of myself since Dad died. I have also spent the last two weeks sleeping in a hospital chair beside my mom. Let’s not jump to conclusions yet. Let me call Uncle Mark and ask him to test me.”

“Okay, I’ll call him for you if you want to get dressed. We need to get there as soon as possible.”

“Carson, I hate to sound negative but if it is the virus, it’s not going to matter if we hurry because we’ve been looking for an antidote for well over a year so it really won’t matter.”

“Please don’t talk that way. I refuse to lose you. I love you too much!”

Annie took his face in her hands and said, “I can’t believe you finally said it. You know I’ve loved you forever but I never wanted to risk our friendship. We’ve both been so frightened of losing each other and now we really might.”

“Don’t say that. I promise I will do everything in my power to find the person who poisoned your mom and dad. And you’re right you may just have a common stomach bug, “he said as he kissed her forehead again, “Get ready and I’ll be downstairs making the calls that you were going to make today for your mother’s funeral and I’ll call Mark first.”

Annie slowly got herself up and held onto the wall as she made her way to the shower. Somehow, she managed to shower and wash her hair. After that, she put her jeans and sweater back on and braided her hair. She absolutely hated wearing the same clothes but she didn’t have a choice. As she finished up, Carson was standing behind her looking into the mirror. He did not look happy.

“You should have called me and I would have helped you with the shower. You could have passed out and hurt yourself. I got all the calls completed. Mark wants us to meet him at the lab as soon as we can.”

“When did Reverend Scott say he could do the funeral?”

“He said Thursday would be best. He also said your mom had written out everything she wanted a months ago because she didn’t want you to have to deal with it. He said he would take care of everything, flowers, obituary and make necessary calls to your mom’s family and close friends.”

Annie began to cry so Carson just held her. “That’s my mom. She always put my needs ahead of her own. I don’t know what I’m going to do without her in my life. It hurt so much when my dad passed away. I just don’t know if I can find the strength for this, "she sobbed into his shoulder.

“Please know that you won’t ever be alone. I’ll be with you through it all, “he said as he stroked her hair.

Carson carefully walked her down the stairs and helped her into the car. They headed to the lab to let Mark do some testing to determine if this was a common stomach bug or if Annie had somehow been poisoned. Carson weaved carefully in and out of traffic but glanced over every once in a while, to check on her. She just had her head back against the headrest with her eyes closed. Her face looked so pale and she looked so thin. He must not have noticed her losing weight because he had been so engrossed in the investigation while trying to save her mom. He was praying so hard that this was just a common virus. He was squeezing the steering wheel so hard that his knuckles were white. Finally, they made it to the lab. Carson helped her out of the car and they made their way into the building. Mark was standing in the doorway, waiting. He had been so close to Senator and Mrs. Dawson. He loved Annie just like a niece.

“Hey Uncle Mark,” Annie managed to squeak out.

“Hey sweetheart. Let’s go into this room here and get you tested, “he said as he helped walk her into the room.

Annie sat on the exam table and pulled up her sleeves. “Pick an arm. It doesn’t really matter which one. Is it okay if I lay back while you take my blood? I’m just so sleepy.”

“Sure, you lay back and take a little rest and you won’t even know when I’m drawing blood then you can nap a little until we get the results. It will be about an hour,” Uncle Mark said as he pulled a warm blanket from the warming drawer to cover her.

Mark took her blood and left the room to test it. Carson just sat in the chair beside her. He pulled his phone from his pocket to look at the details of the case. They had a few people who had made threats against Senator Dawson but all three of them had been imprisoned the last few years so they couldn’t have poisoned anyone. Their allegations and complaints against the senator were not even legitimate. Senator Dawson was a great man. He worked hard for the people of his state. Carson looked again through friends, professional relationships, staff and extended family. None of it added up. One thing that he did notice was he did not interview Mark himself. One of the other detectives had completed the interview. He looked over the notes. Unfortunately, he was going to have to interview him again. Annie would not be happy about that. God forbid, Annie could be a victim too. About an hour later, Mark came back to the room. His face looked solemn almost as though he was in physical pain. He gently touched Annie’s shoulder to wake her.

“Sweetheart, I wish I had better news. Sadly, we did find the same virus that your mom and dad succumbed to. I promise you that I’m going to continue to work on the antidote for you. We get so close and there’s just one element that we can’t determine. But I give you my word that I will continue to work on it day and night,” Uncle Mark said as he squeezed her shoulder.

Annie and Carson both just sat there for a few minutes in shock. It hadn’t seemed so real until now. Annie laid back and covered her eyes with her arm. She could actually die. Carson refused to let that happen. He stood up and spoke first to Annie.

“Annie, I will not let you go. I will find out who has poisoned you. I promise.”

Then he turned to Mark and said, “Can I speak with you in your office?”

Mark replied, “Sure but I need to make arrangements for Annie to be in the hospital so she can be closely monitored. Sadly, the virus is moving more rapidly in her system than her parents’. I wish I could strangle the person who is doing this.”

Mark left the room. Annie sat up and looked sternly at Carson. “I will NOT miss my mother’s funeral. You have to find a way for me to be there on Thursday. I don’t care if it’s in a wheelchair or I have to be carried. I refuse to miss it.”

“I won’t let you miss it. We will get you there. Will you be okay if I go talk to Mark for a bit?” he asked her.

Just as he spoke the last word, a nurse knocked on the doorframe. She was pushing a stand with IV fluids and all the equipment she needed to take Annie’s vitals. She told them that she would remain by Annie’s side at all times. Even when they moved her to the hospital she would be assigned only to Annie.

Annie looked at Carson and said, “Go ahead and do what you need to do. Just don’t ever forget that I love you.”

Carson gave her a quick kiss and replied, “I love you too. But don’t worry I will always know that you love me because you will be telling me every day for the rest of our lives. I will see you at the hospital soon and when I do, I will have that antidote, I promise.”

Carson quickly walked to Mark’s office where he found the door open and Mark sitting at his desk. He questioned him for well over an hour and not once did Mark give any indication that he had anything to do with the crime. He just didn’t seem to fit the type. On the way to his car, he was racking his brain about what to do next. Finally, he thought he would go back to the Dawson’s house to look through things again. He and fellow detectives had gone through the house more than once but he just couldn’t help to think that he was missing something there. As he pulled into the drive, he noticed a strange car there. He got out of the car and pulled his gun. The front door was unlocked so he slowly opened it and quietly walked through the house. When he got upstairs, he noticed lights on in Senator Dawson’s office. As he walked in the office, drawers and papers were scattered all across the floor. Then he saw him. He was crouched down trying to open the Dawson’s safe. Carson didn’t recognize him from the back but he did have salt and pepper hair just like Mark. It couldn’t be. How could he have been so wrong and how did Mark manage to beat him here.

“Put your hands above your head and stand up slowly. Make no sudden moves or I will shoot,” Carson shouted.

The man did as he was asked. He did not seem to want to run. He slowly turned around and Carson realized it was not Mark at all.

The man began to speak as Carson put cuffs on him, “I’m so tired of running from this. It will destroy my family and friends but I’m just too old. I just can’t do it anymore.”

Carson started reading him his rights and then said as he pushed him along, “I don’t really care how tired you are right now. I just need to know if there’s an antidote to the poison.”

“Yes, there is one. I never wanted them to actually die. I thought Senator Dawson would give in eventually but he refused to bend and then it was too late.”

Carson turned to him and said, “It’s against protocol but I’m going to take you to Mark Williams first so you can tell him all about the antidote.”

Carson turned on his sirens and lights and fiercely drove to the lab. He led the man into the building. Mark was so shocked when they walked into the office.

“Alex, what are you doing here in handcuffs? Please don’t say you are involved in this case,” Mark questioned.

“Do you know this guy?” asked Carson.

“Yes, this is Dr. Alex Whitt. He’s been the family doctor for the Dawson family for years.”

“I’m breaking the rules but I want him to tell you everything about the poison and how to develop the antidote for Annie. Then I will take him to the station.”

Dr. Whitt preceded to tell Mark how to create the antidote. After Mark got all the information, he went right to work on saving Annie. Carson booked Whitt at the station and took him into an interrogation room. The doctor began spewing information. Apparently, Senator Dawson had received evidence that Whitt was selling prescriptions for narcotics to the general public to make extra money. The senator begged Whitt to turn himself over to the police. Whitt said he couldn’t do that to his family and friends so that’s how he decided to create a virus to make the senator very sick. He never really expected him to die. When he died, Whitt searched the Dawson’s home trying to find the evidence. He became paranoid that Mrs. Dawson would come across it. Then he was scared Annie would come across it one day. When Carson found him trying to open the safe, he decided to give up.

After finishing with Whitt, Carson went to tell Annie the good news. By the time he got to her room, Mark was already putting the antidote in her IV. She would be okay. After a few hours, she began to look a little better. She looked at Carson and smiled and said, “You did it just like you promised. You saved me.”

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

Sara Lindsey

Wife-Mother-Christian-Teacher-Author

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.