Journal logo

Property Investor/Developmer

A Newbies Story

By Mikki AshtonPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like

There are many people all over the country I am sure that can relate to my story, and I am sure there are many in avery similar position . So I hope this can help someone.

I have been interested in getting into the property business for years. For a long time as far as I knew the only way was to have a very well paid job or get an inheritance to use for a deposit, get a mortgage and start again .

For a long time it was dream for both myself and my dad . We would watch Homes Under the Hammer and Grand Designs wishing for the day we could do this for ourselves . As a working class man and a low income family we believed it was not possible for us unless we won the lottery.

Sadly my dad passed away never to fulfill the dream . So I decided to try to find another way.

I discovered Property Auction News . It had info on property auctions . Most were normal houses. But some the ones I loved the most and wanted for myself were the unusual properties such as windmills, police stations and my absolute favorite old bunkers . I would treasure the newsletters drive my husband crazy going on about my new favorite property that I wanted to buy . The only barrier was there was no way I could buy any of them .

I decided I would get properly educated so I went to college then University to study Business Management. I thought surely I could get a job in the industry. So I could make contacts and earn good money so I could be the investor I dreamed to be. I earned a 2:2 which is not bad considering I only left school with D's in GCSE. Whilst I was studying I was learning to drive , taking care of my 2 young children and my dad was fighting cancer. It was the hardest time of my life. But I was determined to succeed . After Uni I applied for many jobs in Estate agents and Letting Agents but no one would give me a chance as I had no experience. So I gave up for a while . I ended up working in Customer service , which I hated.

I stumbled across these two young guys from Peterborough who were buying all the run down low end houses they could . One of them started £50k in consumer debt! I need to find out how he did it!

Re-inspired I began to read again . The first was Property Magic by Simon Zutshi. Then 2 buy the Peterborough guys, Multiple Streams of Property Income and Property Investment Secrets. There was a way!!!!

I began to educate myself again with podcasts , books and I managed to get on taster courses and Masterclasses . I now know how I can achieve my dream . I learned about joint venture partnerships and lease options and deal packaging and many other strategies.

I am beginning with property sourcing and deal packaging. I have learned as much as I can and feel confident I can do this! I have been working on my business for a month now . No deals as yet , but I have investors and a great community behind me so I know I can achieve my dream.

I have made some really good friends along the way and a business partner who's strategy is investing in HMO's, which is my ideal way to start. But there are so many straegys to lrean about , the basic buy-to -let, which are single houses, HMO, which is rented out room by room, with all the bills included. Serviced Accomodation which is where a house is rented out on a short term basis to holiday makers, builders, or people working away from home for short periods of time for up to 4 months , which is too short to rent a flat but too long for a hotel this is a very high cash flowing strategy but also requires lots of work . Not my idea of fun .

After all these years I have finally found a way ! If you want it bad enough you will find away . Educate yourself you can achieve anything! Never give up . Don't waste your life with procrastination. Take life by the horns do it now! I believe in you.

career
Like

About the Creator

Mikki Ashton

Hi all ! I am mum of teenage daughters, married for 20+ years and work full-time for Amazon Logistics . Animal lover with 3 dogs and a cat . Have a wide range of interests.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.