Journal logo

Promote Yourself

EP 04 | Ways to Do It

By Sophal HengPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like
Promote Yourself
Photo by Photos Hobby on Unsplash

Well, hello again! As promised in my previous post found below, once they have approved my post, I was going to write about where you can promote yourself based on your topics. It is a sure sign to expose your writing.

I was surprised that the approval was less than 24 hours but that is a good thing because now I will know how many posts I should submit per day and when. I am all about planning and so should you!

Social Media is Key

Yes, social media has been in the middle of many controversies because of the differences in opinions. You learn that you cannot please everyone. The primary focus should be on what is important to you.

Are you writing for a controversial audience or do you want a subtle, mature group that enjoys life without all the bad juju?

The key is not to follow the crowd but own it.

One platform great at getting a new audience is Twitter. Yes, I am aware of how toxic Twitter is but it is only toxic if you allow it.

Twitter is a great place to collect your new trending topics to write about. Plus, you cannot tell me that the outrage on this platform is not hilarious.

I have deleted my Twitter three times but I always find myself back on Twitter for these reasons:

  • Organic traffic
  • Topics galore
  • Great place to network

If you use the proper hashtags and find the right people, you will have a suitable environment to work with. With that being said, come follow my Twitter so I can share your work there and even give you a little feedback as I read your stories.

The second platform that I highly recommend for any topics and niche is Pinterest. This platform has been a great lifeline for a lot of my blogs. Most articles have been shared, repinned, and viewed with an impression of over 64k a month. That is not a terrible month, if you ask me.

Pinterest is about attraction and rogue topics. Most people told me that Reddit is the source of this form of promotion, but I disagree. Reddit is a wormhole for clout chasers. Clout chasers don’t understand Pinterest, so they refuse to attack something they are afraid of.

Not only does Pinterest have a wide range of audiences, but there is also an app that you can use to share and connect with like-minded individuals.

Check out my latest review on it here.

Most people jump into Facebook as another means to promote, but Facebook is the last place that I would recommend because they saturate the groups and pages. They do this to encourage you to buy ads. Most people believe that spamming their timeline with their latest article will be the best promotion, but in actuality, they are just annoying friends and families.

I notice that Facebook is the make it or break it for every close relationship, especially when one expects their friends and families to share their work, yet none of them do.

To avoid that form of interaction, I always tell people to use other means. Your families do not want to work for free. Quit relying on them to pass the words about your latest makeup tutorial. Hope and pray that your content is good enough to get exposure through YouTube or something.

But Wait, There’s More

The platforms I shared are great for article writing. If you are spread out as a content creator using video sharing and such, there are more platforms you can make arrangements with to capture the attention of new viewers.

Stick around and find out what my next suggestions will be. Until then, I am signing off since work is calling. I will promise three articles a day on here because writing is a piece of cake for me. Tootles my lovelies!

social media
Like

About the Creator

Sophal Heng

Welcome to my Vocal Media where I share my daily thoughts and posts that would originally be posted on my website at sophalheng.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.