Journal logo

Post New Years 2022 Tales

We survived.

By Las MatamaridosPublished 2 years ago 5 min read
Like
Post New Years 2022 Tales
Photo by David Vives on Unsplash

Viva Las Vegas!

My partner and I are never more prepared for travel than when we are heading to Sin City, especially for New Years Eve.

Everything from lodgings, car rentals, activities and even gaming strategies are all taken care of well in advance.

We typically use Turo for our car renting needs because it is a cheaper option than going through the traditional agencies and comes with much less fuss.

My partner and I decided that we would stay nearly a week which was our longest stay to date.

Busy holiday dates most definetly call for leaving extra early. I our case, we were up and out by 5am. With our usual stop at Eddie World we made it to the strip by 8:30 am, leaving us plenty of time to get situated and comfortable before the Lizzo concert.

AN UNFORTUNATE EVENT.

Every trip needs a little bt of action and we got ours right from the get go.

I rented a car from the Turo app. Its renting someone elses vehicle for whatever length of time you would like.

I have rented cars before for other trips and never once had an issue till now.

We arrived at our hotel and and checked it out beofre deciding it would be a good idea to grab a bite to eat before we started pregaming.

With no plans to drink yet, we decided it would be a good idea to head to a favorite spot Amano for some itallian carb goodness,(check out their IG... you are welcome.)

No sooner had we pulled out of the parking lot than we were pulled over by the police. In panic mode over what we could have done, newly arrived and completely sober we prepared for the worst. The tags were expired.

It was completely unexpected and after messaging the host I was informed that he simply forgot. The tags expired in August 2021 and It was December 31, 2021.

Mingsong the host just text a quick I'm sorry and that was the last we heard from him. This limited our trip to a huge degree because we like to go exploring new spot and destinations. Being far more for ride sharing than we wanted to spend, we missed out on quite a bit.

Update:

The company credited me $50.00 which is a far cry from the amount actually spent and refuses to refund the trip. Although this was the first itme something like that has happened to me on the site it has definetly made me nervous in regards to even wanting to rent from them again. Proceed with caution when dealing with Turo.

LIZZO

As I stated in my previous story, New Years Eve was all about the Lizzo show at the Virgin Theater. I was so excited, as it had been postponed from the previous year.

My partner and I gambled a bit at our hotel and began to pre game and wisely took a pre bash nap so we could hang the whole night long and into the late hours of the morning.

we woke up refreshed and ready to party, continuing to pregame with our Ultras and snacks. We got ready and ubered to the Virgin hotel where we had a few drinks at the bar nearest to the theater. After toasting goodbye and good riddance to 2021 and welcoming 2022 with whiskey shots we made our way into the theater eagerly awaiting the queen herself.

Lizzo does not disappoint. I highly reccomend her show. She is energetic, inspiring and so incredibly motivating. The Virgin theater is not a very large venue, therefore everyseat is a good seat. I had initially been wary about our seats because we were towards the back of the venue. I was instantly put at ease once there and seated. The view was perfect and close enough to make me happy.

LOST SPIRITS DISTILLERY @ AREA 15

Despite our inability to drive to most places one of the activities I was unwilling to give up was our tickets to Lost Spirits Distillery. It origonated in Los Angeles and once I was able to secure tickets the pandemic hit full force and the passes were cancelled. I was more than excited to say the least.

Checking into your experience requires going into the main entrace of the entire Area 15 experience. After going through a designated line outside and showing out tickets we were allowed in and directed to the distillery stand. If you already have tickets (which we did) all we needed to do was sign a waiver and get a map. The distillery itself was not in the main area but rather a short walk away.

Once there we were kindly directed to a waiting area outside till the previous group moves forward. Once inside you are immediately walking into a different world. Dim lighting and deep rich colors of lit reds are all around giving off a very cool and secretive vibe that I absolutely love.

There is a tour guide of sorts at the begin. They explain the history of Lost Spirits and some information on the rum and whiskey various made there. Then the doors open and its as if you are walking into a secret city. Our ticket came with a tasting which included six of the spirits made there at different locations. Each tasting has a theme spot and a host to give a brief explaination of the alcohol.

I read on the website that Fridays and Saturdays there are performers walking around and interacting with the guest. I am definetly returning for that as well. we were so impressed with the entire experience that I have changed my birthday plans from Palm Springs to Vegas so I can do this again. I very highly recommend the Lost Spirits Distillery at Area 15 for the rum and whiskey fan.

LEAVING LAS VEGAS

Wrapping up our trip was bittersweet as it usually tends to be because we have such the long list of all the things we want to do and see. Of course we are going back, in fact we will be going to Lovers and Friends music festival at the Las Vegas Festival Grounds in May. More to see, do and plan. I look forwards to all the wonderful things that 2022 will bring.

travel
Like

About the Creator

Las Matamaridos

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.