Journal logo

Onward! & Upward!

Hello Again! (For the NTH...TIME...!!)

By Z-ManPublished 3 months ago 3 min read
Like

Suffice it to say, a searching question got me moving.

The giving ease of a certain family member urged me to take some of the action I have been putting off. They, in part, have provided me with plenty of space to take some time off.

They aren't alone, of course, in the wider view of things. But, in some ways, it worked better than otherwise.

Now, I may be relying on minced words and phrasing, but I feel the proclamation warrants some earned time in the limelight.

So that, and other family, and other elements, has seen me progressively cleaning up my car, working through my storage, cleansing my hands and life of article donations, attacking my finances, et al.

Admittedly, I am still skirting my job situation, really not wanting to just jump into anything(s) to get money rolling in. Going into the specifics of my debts for the next year--including that which doesn't warrant crossing the gap completely, and the sum total of my in-progress debt consolidation figures--while forsaking any consideration for housing at the moment (I could approximate that with my potential for earnings less the approximate, up-rounded debt figure), it certainly feeds the notion that an engineering position is more enticing than before.

With that said...

I would prefer remote work. And, added to that, the potential potential of traveling the continent in the process. (My mother suggested I apply for one of the Oscar Meyer Wienermobile driving positions, and though it appears they are looking for recent college graduates, I applied anyway--so we'll see what happens there!)

And, really, traveling for work would do me some good. It would:

  • Greatly expand my circle of knowledge, influence, etc., in terms of people and information
  • Allow me a means of going about my life in what may be the most peaceful, balanced way possible, on all accounts (without regarding missing my family, of course)
  • Give me a grander perspective of people, places, and things (pro-nouns!), the likes of which in any grouped or singular form would immensely tighten my writing and story-crafting potential
  • Open my days to opportunities which are essentially, and most certainly, non-existent in the environment which I currently, and have predominantly, lived my life

*Forgive me from this point forth, as the content may lose its tenacity. I am simply drawn to reaching the 600 word minimum at this point, so I can actually get this submitted!!! DX*

I know that I have great potential, I am simply without a box or two to make my home in in pursuit of them.

I mean, some things are immensely important to me, without a doubt, and override any need or desire to put such ventures into action. But the bottom line has always been steadfast and nagging: that I need money or the like to survive, and the only way to get that is to have something "valuable" to offer society--be it a book, or fast food, or a dime-store broom or nick-nack.

There is value in everything. There is no doubt about that. But it still comes down to healthy value: that which extends not only our livelihoods (mine and yours/"purchasers"), but those of our fellow human beings, animals, vegetation, and the remainder of conscious life outside of those parameters.

I have not suffered through things as many of those with heavier and immovable burdens have (those with children, in immense debt, et al), but I certainly see no value in wasting my life away on the pursuit of building kingdoms out of mediocre blocks and mileage.

Still, those things--like breakfast sandwiches--that I find myself want to spend money on when I have it, warrant some action of contribution on at least the strength of my own choices to heed laziness' call.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Z-Man

\m/,

Hello all! I am an aspiring vocalist, filmmaker + writer. I hope you gain something personal + inspiring from my work here. You are also welcome to subscribe to my YouTube Channel: Ad-Libbing With The Zman.

Thank You!

Zach

B']

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.