Journal logo

Nudity, Simulated Sex, and Consent: A Revaluation For Perfomers

A conversation has started in the acting community surrounding how productions conduct intimacy, and it's only through this vital conversation that I've taken a moment to reflect on my own past experiences.

By John ThackerPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
A recent performance as part of a 'New Writing Festival' at the Academy of Live & Recorded Arts

The discussions and conversations I’ve had with fellow performers this last week, in light of the recent news within the acting community, has let me to reevaluate the way I look back upon some of my own experiences regarding nudity and intimacy on stage, screen, and in the audition room.

Prominently I remember two stage roles that both involved full-frontal nudity. Neither experience involved any kind of direction or choreography, there were no discussions at all. It was almost like an unspoken thing. The result was embarrassing and uncomfortable. My performances were hindered as I was aware those particular scenes were looming, I would fumble awkwardly through them. I felt until recently disappointed in myself that I felt unsettled. My unease was my fault and therefore I should do better, it’s part of my role.

Another experience was on a film project with various graphic sexual content between me and a female-identifying actress who I’d met a few hours prior. We both were required to simulate sex and the director literally said ‘go’, with no direction and again no intimacy coordination. The actress was clearly uncomfortable but was told to show her breasts and arch her back for the male gaze. I couldn’t help think what if there was another actor in the scene and not myself who was given free rein to touch whatever they liked. It was again expected that we knew how to safely simulate sex like it’s the job of the actor and not the director/crew to facilitate.

The only consent or conversation had with one director was when he said ‘it’s in the script’. There were no discussions until the time of the shoot or performance. At the time I accepted that and agreed. It felt instilled into me this was part of the job of an actor. But I’ve come to realise that me saying accepting a part that has sex in the script and therefore consenting to nudity or scenes of sexual nature for the sake of the art form I love is giving trust to the director to create a safe, comfortable environment, that will be choreographed, thought through to safely conduct, and will ensure consent at all times. Not left to the performers own device that it’s the performer's job to feel comfortable because it isn’t. And it’s only through this conversation that I’ve realised that it’s ok that I felt uncomfortable in these situations.

One time at an audition for a nationwide commercial I was asked to grab my scene partners boob there and then in the audition room. The “consent” was asking if that’s okay to the girl whilst she’d probably already travelled to the audition. I was 17 and the girl was probably the same age. She clearly not been informed that some random guy would be grabbing her. I remember telling a few people the story after, unsure what to make of it, is this the norm? The general vibe was that it's part of an actors job, and what I (and my scene partner) should expect.

Another time I was about 13 or 14 years old and I was told that a director of soap was producing a short film, and they would like to see me for a part. This was discussed directly with me and were aware of my age. The part involved sexual content and at the time my naive 13/14year-old self didn’t even properly understand what it was I was reading. I got scared and when I questioned the content and how it would be filming and said that I might be a bit uncomfortable with that, instead of being assured that the environment would be safe, I was denied the chance to be seen for the role and I always regretted questioning it. I have questioned that decision years after and regretted it. Like it is something stupid I did, and I missed out. It’s only after recently reflecting I can finally recognise that this was inappropriate to send to me at such a young age, just expecting, without contacting my agent at the time or any adult.

All of these were either professional jobs or low-pay roles. But my stance is (and should have always been) that if the director isn’t able to facilitate a comfortable, professional environment, then an intimacy coach should be a requirement (even in the audition stage) for any scenes involving intimacy or nudity. I have never rejected work because of any intimacy or nudity, it’s never been something that I felt has been an issue for me as long as it’s valid in the text, it can be an important part of storytelling. I felt ok because I trusted that the consent I was giving would mean that I would be in a safe, comfortable, consensual environment, and I realise now I should not feel embarrassed or feel unprofessional for any of these experiences because the poor result is down to the approach of the director and not the performer.

As a performer you are already so vulnerable, sharing something to intimate with an audience, it’s magical but also shouldn’t be taken advantage of.

art
Like

About the Creator

John Thacker

Hello...

I am a writer, actor, and singer/songwriter from Manchester, UK.

Catch up with me on the socials...

instagram.com/johnjjst

twitter.com/johnjjst

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.