Journal logo

No, I Don't Get Paid By The Hour - Remote Jobs Are My Ticket To Freedom

I started working remotely about a year ago, and it's the best decision I've ever made.

By Courtanae HeslopPublished about a year ago 5 min read
Like

I'm a writer and editor, and I've been living the remote lifestyle for about a year now. It's by far the best decision I've ever made - but not just because of the freedom it gives me.

I started working remotely about a year ago, and it's the best decision I've ever made.

And that's why I started working remotely. Working remotely has given me the opportunity to pursue my own passions and grow as a person without having to worry about the time commitment it takes to travel to work.

I've found that remote jobs are often more flexible, allowing you to work when you want and where you want. This freedom can be great for balance in your life, especially if you have children or other responsibilities that require your attention outside of normal working hours.

When looking for a remote job, make sure it aligns with your personal values and goals so that it doesn't end up taking over your life or becoming something else entirely.

You see, growing up, my family had plenty of money to spare.

You see, growing up, my family had plenty of money to spare. We had a nice home in a nice neighborhood with plenty of bedrooms and bathrooms for everyone. I went to school in a private university and received an education that was well above average (though not as expensive as some). My parents always made sure that I had the nicest clothes and accessories - shoes especially. A car was just waiting for me when I turned 16 years old; then again after college graduation at 22 years old. And each year, we took at least one vacation over spring break or Christmas break where we'd go somewhere warm while getting away from all this cold weather back home!

My parents worked extremely hard to provide us with everything we could want.

My parents worked extremely hard to provide us with everything we could want. I never wanted for anything and was very fortunate in that respect. However, a life of luxury can be a curse if you don't learn how to appreciate what you have or use your gifts and talents for the benefit of others. When I was younger, I always thought that working hard meant making as much money as possible so that I could buy whatever I desired without having to worry about money again. But this wasn't really working hard - it was just being greedy and selfish! Being greedy is easy because it feels good at first; however, it's not long before greed will lead you down an unfulfilling path where all you think about is yourself instead of others around you.

So when it came to living on my own and paying my own bills, I panicked.

There's no doubt that you're worried about money. We all are, at least a little bit. But when it comes to the question of whether or not remote work is the right choice for you, your worries should be just as much about finding a job in general as they are about being able to pay your bills in particular.

My first year (and then some) working remotely was filled with moments like these:

  • I'm worried that my job will fall through and I'll have nowhere else to live if I don't find something soon!
  • Oh god, what am I going to do when my lease runs out? My landlord knows this isn't my permanent home address - what if she thinks I'm not serious about wanting this apartment? What if she thinks I'm never coming back and changes her mind about letting me rent again? And then where will I go??!!

I struggled to find a job until landing a position in an office cubicle.

Before I started working remotely, my biggest fear was that I would never find a job. I thought the only way to make money was to work in an office, and most of those jobs required experience. How could I get experience if no one would give me a chance?

I didn't know any other options besides office jobs, so that's what I went for. But when it came time for me to apply for one, my heart sank as soon as I saw "experience" listed on their requirements list. What were they going to think of me when they found out that despite having graduated from college only three years ago with honors and being able to speak multiple languages fluently (one of which is Spanish), all my experience consisted of working at The Gap part-time while living at home during college?

But once I started working remotely, I realized things could be very different.

When I started working remotely, I realized things could be very different.

I could work from home and have more time with my family.

I could travel more.

I could work on projects I was passionate about.

I could choose when to work and who to work with.

It's important to me that I earn more than enough money to support myself - without panicking all the time

I want to be able to support myself and my family. In the past, I've been paid on a per-hour basis. That means that when I was sick or taking time off, my income was cut in half - while simultaneously paying for those lost hours at full price. This can be stressful because you never know how much money you'll make from week to week, month to month, or even year to year; some months will be better than others! Not only does this create financial stress (which is bad enough), but it also creates mental stress because as adults we're supposed to be able-minded and focused on our work instead of worrying about whether we'll have enough money for rent that month.

I want all my hard work at whatever company I work for go toward building up my savings account so that one day soon I can afford a house and maybe even buy some land too - just like John from "The Grapes Of Wrath".

Conclusion

I know what it's like to feel like your income is a variable that you can't control. But if you're willing to put in the work, then there's no reason why you can't make it happen. If you're looking for a way out of that situation and want to learn more about remote jobs, check out our guide on how they work and why they might be right for you!

PS: Hi! I am a freelance writer with a passion for writing. I am open to most genres, but my primary expertise is in content and blog writing. If you would like to discuss any upcoming projects please feel free to contact me by email at [email protected]

Also, view my other work here:

  • https://www.jamaicaobserver.com/career-education/should-you-ask-for-a-raise/
  • medium.com/@courtanaeheslop
  • https://vocal.media/authors/courtanae-heslop
  • https://ojaint.com/the-truth-about-negotiating-your-salary/

career
Like

About the Creator

Courtanae Heslop

Courtanae Heslop is a multi-genre writer and business owner.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.