Journal logo

News Years Resolution for 2022?

Finish what I started in 2020!

By Rose Loren Geer-RobbinsPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
News Years Resolution for 2022?
Photo by mk. s on Unsplash

The last day of the year! We have made it another 365 days! Looking back, 365 days flew by quickly. So what did I do for 365 days?

I joined a gym in November. However, I haven't been there in a week because of the holidays and a winter storm. Let's be realistic- I didn't go because it seemed like a lot of work, and I had the perfect excuse not to go.

I traveled across Alaska for five months straight- and still haven't seen it all. However, there are a few roads that I can now navigate with my eyes closed, in a snowstorm, listening to an audiobook while sipping coffee.

I worked on my blog. I just hit 1,000 views. A milestone that took almost two years to achieve. Thank you to my family that equates to 300 of those views! Regardless if you only looked at my blog because I guilted you into it- you still helped!

I started a book, and it still sits at chapter six. But I will begin again soon.

I started a website to include Alaskan history. But, unfortunately, it still hasn't made it past the 1700s.

I attempted to complete 2,021 run/walk miles. I completed 1580. Going to try again in 2022.

I started trying to write letters to family and friends. I made it two months before I was discouraged by the lack of response.

I started a PodCast- but couldn't figure out how to get it published. I might start that again! That was fun - I will google it today.

Looking back at this list, I have come to a single conclusion. I should quit my job. I don't have time to work and be my authentic self. It is the year of the Great Resignation- maybe I should join the bandwagon. It seems that we will be a country of YouTubers, crafters, and bloggers soon, and there will be no one working in a traditional setting soon.

This was the year that Americans found that they could turn their hobbies into a cash pot and ran with it. I follow a Tic-Toker whose only job is to send out boxes of stones and Taro cards. The stones may or may not be natural or artificial; they may or may not have healing properties; they may be large or small. The Taro Card? The business owner just pulled it from a deck. No explanation on that particular card- it just haphazardly belongs to them.

Another Tic-Toker pours liquified paint on a canvas and spins it with a drill, and they are making thousands of dollars a month. My favorite one is the person who has trained their dog to paint and sells the pictures for $300.00 each. I can't say too much about that- I spent $60.00 at the Alaska Sea Center on a 4x4 framed painting of a seal's nose. It is so tiny that I can't remember where I put it in the house, and I haven't seen it in months.

The last day of the year! We made it! I started a book club this week. I have 30 people already signed up, and I need to settle that. I didn't realize that if you create a book club, you have to have your shit together to make it work. I need to finalize the reading list, send out the books, figure out an ice-breaker event, and plan on how to engage this many people across the state of Alaska. That is on top of the fact that I am creating an Alaska Cook Book that I need to finish and send out for approval and publication.

I know that in my last letter to the internet, I stated that I was going to aim high in my resolutions for next year. However, I am beginning to think I don't need to aim high- I just need to finish what I started this year.

humor
Like

About the Creator

Rose Loren Geer-Robbins

One does not simply become a famous writer! It takes many hours before the sun comes up and even more when the sun sets. I am never sure what world I am living in, the one that I am writing about or reality.

www.wannabehistorian.blog

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.