Journal logo

New Year Resolutions

Time to Keep Them Realistic

By J.B. MillerPublished 4 months ago 3 min read
Like
New Year Resolutions
Photo by Tim Mossholder on Unsplash

I was speaking to my husband today about New Year's resolutions. You know, those things we promise ourselves every year but inadvertently abandon before the end of January.

I have made some impressive ones over the years. There has been the old favourite of weight loss. Usually, promises of returning to the gym are part of that one. I have sworn to stop procrastinating. (We all know that was never going to happen.) The time I promised myself that I would start cleaning the house every day first thing. They are all usually something my ADHD laughs about. Honestly, I would be happy to eliminate all my doom piles, but every time I do, more appear. I tried to give up soda and junk food a time or two. What I discovered was that people do not like the decaffeinated version of me. That includes me! Diet Coke is now a part of my genetic makeup, and that is where it will stay. I wonder if I have ever achieved any of them! However, this year, I have two. They are not impossible or even complicated. So, fingers crossed, I will succeed.

Goal number one

The first is to take a walk every day.

Photo by Patrick Schätz on Unsplash

Neither snow nor rain nor heat nor gloom of night!

We have two dogs: a one-year-old mix and a five-month-old cocker. The plan is to take them for a walk every day. Over the past few years, my body has turned against me. Covid took me for a spin and left me nearly disabled. Over two years later, I’m still fragile and tired quickly.

But, I have decided that, if nothing else, I will walk the dogs daily.

TikTok has a viral theme going about walking right now. It talks about how much weight you can lose by walking. I don’t care about becoming super fit or skinny. Those ships have long sailed. I want to build up a little extra strength and endurance. The two beasts below will help me out with that.

Goal number two

The second goal is to write daily. I don’t know if it will be an article for Medium, Vocal or another blog. But, I should have plenty of material between university, blogging, articles and novels.

The lack of motivation and procrastination is what stabs you in the back!

Right now, I am working on a script for the stage. It’s part of my university course, and while it’s challenging, I find it fun. Who knows, this might eventually be a whole new direction for me. Scriptwriting is not something I had ever thought about pursuing.

Photo by Waldemar on Unsplash

The moral of the story

My New Year’s resolution is to walk and write every day. It’s something simple but rewarding. You do not need to make significant pledges or life-changing demands in your life. Baby steps. We have to walk before we can run. So many of us forget that and become overwhelmed with our decisions.

So, this year, instead of something big, make a small resolution. Save a dollar a week. Say no to that Friday afternoon McDonald’s. Give yourself ten minutes daily to decompress instead of putting it off until you’ve done all the work. You may find life is a little lighter and enjoyable if you do.

As always, I love to hear from my readers. Let me know what your resolutions are and how your year has been. What are your hopes and dreams for 2024?

advice
Like

About the Creator

J.B. Miller

Wife, Mother, student, writer and so much more. Life is my passion, writing is my addiction. You can find me on Linkedin at https://www.linkedin.com/in/brandy28655/

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.