Journal logo

New Writing Prompt #1

Do I like my name?

By Victoria WardPublished 22 days ago 3 min read
1
Found on Bing Images

Do you like your name? Do you feel like it? Does it suit you? If you could change your name, would you? What would you change it to?

My name is Victoria; it means “victory” in Latin. My friends call me Tori. My parents didn’t know what to call me before I was born, so they looked at a list of prominent names. Among the list of names was Elizabeth; I could have been named after Queen Elizabeth. I found out that my grandmother’s middle name is Elizabeth, and my cousin also shared that middle name. I could have been named after my grandmother or Queen Elizabeth herself, but I was named after another monarch. I wasn’t named after Queen Victoria, but I do like the royal ring it has to it. My Dad, Vincent, has a name that means “victorious,” so in a way, I am still named after someone in my family.

Do I like my name? My name is important to me because it was created by the big man upstairs who passed it down to my parents who passed it down to me. My name reminds me of what the creator of the world has planned for me in the future. Even though I don’t know what this season will bring me, I know that he is in control. I do my best to complete the goals the Holy Spirit sets in front of me for the Lord’s victory. I believe my name suits me well.

If I could change my name I wouldn’t want to change it to a completely different name. I still want to be recognized as Victoria in professional matters, but I also want to be known as Tori to friends and family. Almost everyone I know already calls me Tori. Maybe one day, I might legally change my name to Tori, but for now, I will stick with Victoria.

“A rose by any other name would smell as sweet” (Shakespeare, Romeo & Juliet).

I am a young adult who likes to read, watch, and write about fairytales, princesses falling in love with princes, and finding adventure within a book’s crisp pages. With the power of a pen, I can write myself a new story. I want to make a career out of writing, editing, and creating words or art for someone. I don’t necessarily want to make a great name for myself, but to spread encouragement, love, joy, and peace to those who read or look at my work.

I have a list of stories, reviews, poems, and more that I want to write. I want my name out in the world, but not for fame or riches. I want the freedom to write wherever I am, whenever I want, and for whomever I want. In this way, I want ME, Victoria, to be out there in the world making a new name. I am convinced that my name aptly describes my personality and character. It perfectly encapsulates who I am as a person. My Heavenly Father will lead me wherever he has planned; I am his child. My soul has a unique name for my soul, and I will cherish it, no matter what it is.

Shakespeare, William. Romeo and Juliet. Dover Publications, 2014.

*This post is the first in many writing prompts that I hope to present to my audience every couple of days. I have about 300 prompts to choose from! Keep an eye out on more to come in the future.

workflowVocalcareerart
1

About the Creator

Victoria Ward

I am a girl who likes reading, writing, watching, and having fun! I love writing about books, movies, music, games, and anything else that makes me happy.

Come down the rabbit hole with me!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.