Journal logo

My Year on Vocal.Media

Should you join Vocal.Media? I spent a year writing articles on the space and these are my thoughts.

By Brian AnonymousPublished 5 years ago 4 min read
7

I can't believe that I started writing on Vocal.Media a full year ago. Throughout the year I've written 148 articles. They're mostly reviews for movies and small personal opinion pieces. Averaging it out that's almost an article every two and a half days. I didn't even think I would be able to produce articles that fast.

It's not like I'm a great writer either. I don't have a crazy amount of views for each of my articles, but it was good to be able to write my thoughts on certain things that crossed my mind. It's also nice to know that you have a potential audience.

Along the way there were some interesting things that happened. Certain articles would trend and get some decent views. That's always exciting to hear, but you don't get to see whether they are trending because it's a good article or a bad article. There's no comment feature on this site. Occasionally, I would be featured on the front of some interesting theme. It's always nice to get recognized and especially nice when they tip you for your article. The appreciation goes a long way.

Vocal.Media is a good outlet to get creative and keyboard vomit words all over the screen to rant about issues. I like that they don't have any filters on what you want to talk about. The contributors are diverse and intelligent. I only wish they had a few other categories like finances.

I don't feel confined to writing a certain type of article all the time. I can diversify my articles and I control the content. Then again, the articles have to fit the subjects of the preexisting categories of Vocal.Media. They have some pretty diverse categories though.

Vocal.Media shouldn't be seen as a way to make money though. Although, I've written 148 articles and some of them have been viewed quite a bit I've only made a maximum of around eight dollars. For the time and effort that I've placed into the articles that's less than slave labor wages. I've only made a total of probably 25 dollars in tips. Vocal.Media doesn't even give you actual money until you reach 35 dollars. So it'll be a long time before I even receive a dollar from them.

Should this deter you from joining the community and writing? I say no, I think it's still a great way to open up your mind and release your inner writer. I never expected to make that much money on Vocal.Media mainly because I'm not a writer. Well I was never a writer before joining the site. I find that I can write articles a lot easier now, with all of this practice. Words come out of me a lot easier and it's still a lot of fun.

The thing is a lot of people get into things and then quit probably a month or two down the line. Don't do this. You have to be consistent to see results. When you see the number of views for your articles start to light up it brings yourself a little sense of satisfaction that you had shared your thought with someone else. If you make a little money on the side on top of that, then that's just a bonus.

I can see how professional writers can truly hate sites like Vocal.Media. It's taking a lot of amateur writers a platform to spew out propaganda and incorrect information. I say yes that could be true. Unfortunately that's one of the downfalls of this new digital age.

I hope more people discover Vocal.Media and continue to write articles. It will draw more diverse view points and audiences. I kind of prefer this platform over spaces like YouTube because there's a lot more work involved with YouTube.

With Vocal.Media you can write things out anonymously and simply submit the article. With other media platforms like YouTube you have to create a visual product as well as a story.

In the first days of the internet they used to have blogs that people would write and they wouldn't make any money off of them. Now you can make money writing them. I would have to say if you do want to make money you'll probably have to have a pretty big social media presence. That would probably help you get a ton of views on your articles.

Please try to do it for yourself though. I know it's going to sound cheesy, but it's really satisfying to be able to write for yourself and not care too much about the views or the money. I've been doing it non-stop for a year and I'm still excited to write more.

feature
7

About the Creator

Brian Anonymous

I have tons of opinions that change constantly. I watch a lot of movies and play video games. There are some articles on my struggles with languages and dance as well.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.