Journal logo

My Writing Journey

It's taken a while to get to this point

By Elise Published 4 years ago 4 min read
2
Photo Source: Pixabay

I have written bits and pieces about my journey to writing but not in this much depth. I love talking about this sort of thing because it blows my mind that I actually have my own author story to share. I never thought I would! And I always find it inspiring to read about other people’s adventure into the writing world, so I’m excited that I can contribute.

How it all started

Back in 2009, I had actually tried writing a story before I ever knew anything about writing. It was a story about the fall of Atlantis and it was badly written so I scrapped it. Which I regret because I would love to see the difference in my writing now compared to back then. But deep down I’d always wanted to write, being creative was the only thing I had going for me. I always felt I had never been smart enough or confident enough to do anything else. Creativity was something I was good at, something I was comfortable with. It was something that made me happy and free in a weird way.

Many years after that failed Atlantis story something else happened that led me down the right path of becoming a writer. I can clearly remember the day. It was mid-2014 and I was out having dinner with my friends. The conversation led into T.V. series and my friend told me to watch this one show that he thought I would love. Back then I hated watching a new television series, I have no idea why I’m just a strange little human. So I was reluctant at first, but skip over the complaints and there I was binge-watching this amazing new show. I hadn’t ever been into anything like this before, I could be found watching Friends or Daria on repeat but this, this was different. It made life feel brand new and shiny. I wish I could recreate that feeling again, it was amazing.

Now you’re probably wondering what the hell a television series has to do with writing, just wait for it. Also, can you guess which series I discovered and loved? 10 points for guessing correctly and no cheating!

Back then there were only four seasons out so I finished the series within a few weeks of starting and I was left wanting more. Unfortunately for me, and the rest of the world, the next season wouldn’t be out for another year. That is when I discovered that the show was based on a book series and my mum owned the books, how lucky am I? I was curious and excited but unsure if I could commit. In the past, I had only one or two books that I would read over and over, (wow, I can see a pattern) and I would rarely venture onto anything new unless it was short. But when I skimmed over the pages of these thick beautiful books I was ready and eager to read them all. Seeing the names of favorite characters excited me because I would be able to take a look into their minds and know more about their backstories. I’m sure by now you guessed what series I’m talking about. Yes, that’s right, my new favorite show was the one, the only; Game of Thrones.

My experience as a writer

I began reading the book series and I was hooked. Granted it took me six months to read them all, but I was so obsessed and inspired that I decided I wanted to write my own book. And that is how it started. So, I began jotting down ideas, taking my mum’s ear off about all these characters I had come up with, I had even started writing the outline of the book. Eventually, it got to a point where I actually loved the characters and their backstories, and I loved the story idea that I began writing.

Note: I still have all the documents of that story. I haven’t finished it yet because for a while I lacked confidence in my writing ability. But who knows, I might give it a go again.

During the process, I put my all into this book. With no writing talent or experience, I went ahead anyway. I was confident in myself for the first time. But then, of course, there was a week or two where I became distracted and lost all interest in the book, so much for commitment. I had written 15 thousand words and I wanted to hurry up and end it so I could try to sell it as an eBook. Impatience is the devil! I pushed myself to write another 15 thousand words and I finally ended the book and not very well I might add. I posted it up on kindle like the noob I was. Only two people bought it, so my confidence was low now. I gave up and took down the book and went on to study writing instead. Of course in the meantime, I was writing short stories and just having fun with that, but nothing ever went anywhere. Funnily enough, I thought studying would help my writing, and it did but it also halted my creativity and I didn’t want to write anymore.

So I quit for quite a while. But here I am, writing once again and loving it. Looking back at my path to writing it actually inspires me to start creative writing once more. Maybe I’ll take a little looksie at my awful story and see if it can be fixed.

Thanks for reading. I hope this story gave you a little inspiration for your own writing endeavors. Leave a comment below if you had a similar experience, I’m always fascinated to read about other peoples stories.

Have a great day ❤

Originally posted on Medium

career
2

About the Creator

Elise

I love all things tarot, art, and writing!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.