Journal logo

My very 1st resume...

A world premiere.

By Nefarious DarriusPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 4 min read
Like
P/c: Trudi (aka trudi1) Nichols of San Antonio, TX; vía Pixabay. Please check them out; & show Love to the free site/stock photographer too. Thanks in advance.

16APR2023; 2307, SUN– Maryland, USA

"I did a thing!" Something slight, anyways; haha.

My very first resume in adulting/adulthood. I had the outline worked up for some time now; thanks in no small amount to my Battle Buddy, "DJ".

As the classic song by Oddisee goes, "You know who you are!" Seriously tho, mad Love to Famo.

Fun fact: I accidentally uploaded a rough draft of this in document form to social media for anyone to download; with my primary cell! Shaking my damn head (SMDH); haha.

It gets better: The title of the document was none other than my full gov't (legal) name! I never use my real surname anymore...

In any event, that'll teach me to be at least a smidge more deft; adept; and/or generally intentional. At least one can hope; pray; and wish for such to be so.

Speaking of which, which Mount Kilimanjaro does a bamma have to climb to secure the coveted "top story" designation? I jest; unless...

Conversely, and in all seriousness it'll be well worth the "price of admission" to simply get on the "Creators we're Loving" section; wink, wink. While I'm being *VOCAL*, now seems a decent time to remind everyone how I got my primary occupation of founder/owner of an apparel brand for U.S. military supporters.

Not only did I happen upon a mentor who per chance introduced me to his fav influencer's vids. However, I fortuitously decided to open an email from said influencer; in which he strongly recommended an online store as a way to capitalize on wartime snapshots that I was blessed enough to take while on deployment to Iraq.

Did I mention that I almost didn't even buy the camera; nearly died twice before half the pics were snapped; and was randomly promoted to a position where I could use the camera more, without any formal training in photography! "Good times.

Without further ado; and here's to you, the reader:

*** Begin transcription ***

DARRIUS [Redacted]

[Redacted city], MD 20772

[Redacted alternate cellphone]

[Redacted brand-new email]

Summary of Qualifications

  • Served 4.25 years in the Army.
  • Exceptional communicator.
  • Skilled in customer service.
  • Strong track record of problem-solving success in high-pressure, operational settings.
  • Proficient with technology.
  • Startup founder and owner.
  • Proud Girl Dad.

Work History

United States Army, Infantryman

August 2007 – December 2011

  • Performed as a member of a fire team during drills and combat.
  • Aid in the mobilization of vehicles, troops and weaponry.
  • Assisted and participated in reconnaissance missions.
  • Operated, maintained, and stored combat weapons (e.g. rifles, machine guns, anti-tank rockets, etc.).
  • Operated, maintained, and encrypted tactical radios for platoon.
  • Awarded Army Commendation Medal.

Lyft, Rideshare Driver

September 2013 – June 2016

  • Ensured that customers arrived safely and timely to their destination while creating customer satisfaction.
  • Created Excel spreadsheet and maintained files to track mileage, maintenance, and miscellaneous expenses.
  • Managed routes through use of iPhone app technology.

Uber, Rideshare Driver

September 2013 – June 2016

  • Demonstrated ability to deal peacefully with unforeseen circumstances or delays and use advanced driving techniques to better improve time management and safety.
  • Assured that the vehicle is maintained in excellent condition and is cleaned regularly.
  • Drove customers to various destinations upon request, with knowledge of multiple cities and efficient routes.
  • Established positive relationships to ensure customer satisfaction.

Postmates/Instacart, Delivery Driver

February 2015 – present

  • Received delivery requests and navigated to the restaurant or store.
  • Delivered the item to the customer’s location using directions from the app.
  • Ensured strong customer service and satisfaction.

Cresent Construction, Electrician’s Apprentice

October 2019 – present

  • Prefabrication and installation of outlets and switches.
  • Assisted journeymen in transportation and installation of conduit and cables.
  • Greet and engage clients, developers, and fellow crewmen with courteousness and compassion.

War ‘N’ Tees, Founder/Owner

December 2020 – present

  • Source funding to assist in marketing, order fulfillment, and branding.
  • Design, price, and incorporate products into online storefront.
  • Donate a percentage of all proceeds to nonprofits that drastically increase the overall well-being of the U.S. Veteran community.

Education

[Redacted] High School

High School Diploma

Graduated July 2007

Interests

  • Avid reader.
  • Occasional blogger.
  • Self-described audiophile.
  • Monthly science projects with my Princesses.

*** End transcription ***

***

***

Prayerfully, you gained something pertinent (re: useful) from this post. If so, then please think about considering a show of support; however you may see fit.

Additionally, I'm easily reachable via Twitter. That's for private and/or public convos on the works written by me, my fav writers, as well as my other influences too.

The link in my bio will "counterintuitively" have that unmistakable tab in its main menu. Invariably, there's a tab in the very same menu cyclically returning you to my profile on this unfathomably superb site for writers.

Shoutout to all Vocal's inventors/staff/readers/writers. "[Y'all] the real MVP."

Lastly, if you're in the market for an incredulously original article of clothing or such: There's copious amounts at the link in my bio. Please don't believe for a NY minute that I'll be even remotely unappreciative of any all who "look out for the cookout".

***

listworkflowhumanitycareerbusiness
Like

About the Creator

Nefarious Darrius

I'm a Grunt who’s been stuck in traffic for the past few decades or so. From DC to Seattle & Iraq; to back in "The Swamp". Also, I Love my Progeny more than life. Born Day: 4/20. Lastly, my apparel brand, War 'N' Tees is live! One Love.

***

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.