Journal logo

My unwavering past

Trust god

By Alicea Ellis Published 11 months ago 3 min read
Like

Growing up I always dreamt of becoming a dancer but the more I got older the more I realize that my talent would not be appreciated much unless I go overseas. I grew up in the parish of Manchester people normally say it’s one of the coolest parish in Jamaica. Living in household with three siblings and both parents. We had a outdoor kitchen where we would have to go and look wood to get the fire started for dinner. My favorite dish at the time was curry chicken and white rice. Some days we couldn’t afford the chicken so we would eat a tin mackerel. My favorite game was dandy shandy this game was played with three person one in the middle and two at the end, we would throw the ball at the one in the middle and try to hit that person if. If the ball hits that person then someone else would go in the middle. School was always interesting I can remember one time when I was locked in the bathroom by a bigger girl because she wanted to take away my money which I hid in my shoes😂 My big sister had to come to my rescue and save me from her. At home we had different chores I would have to wipe the steps before going to school, oh how I hated those stairs. My sister job was to wash the dishes. Dad would bring home bread on Fridays to make corn beef sandwiches. Saturday nights were for soup and Sunday would be rice and peas and chicken. My dad started cheating on my mom and abuse her also, she moved out on us because she couldn’t take anymore m. At that time I was in high school. My dad didn’t show any interest in us anymore he would lie that he had to go to work on weekends just so he could spend time with his new family. With no mom in the house I had to take on those responsibilities by myself because my big sister who wasn’t my father child had left to form a family of her own. Taking on responsibility that i wasn’t prepared for later made me hate my dad, my mom would come once a week just to wash sometimes, after awhile she stopped coming. The reason my mom stopped coming was because my dad got drunk one night and confessed he had another child it hurt my mom so bad she cried. My teenage years was ruined and I hated it. My little brother she was the smallest stopped doing work at school, he just didn’t care, he missed our mom. One day my cousin wife came from Kingston to visit us when I was about eighteen she didn’t like what was happening so she took me with her even tho I would miss my brother and sister I had to go. My little sister had to take on the role I was playing and start to cook, wash ands on. At first moving to Kingston was great until I got a job my cousin wife started to take all my earnings from me. All I wanted to do was go back home to Manchester. Things took a turn for the worst when I met a guy in Kingston he lied to me about having a family. His baby mother threatened me I got so scared to even go outside I told him to stay away from me which he didn’t. He started stalking me . One day he told me he needed to see me I said no he later threatened to kill my family out of Fare I went to meet him. He started talking to me about why I wanted to leave him he then grabbed me and tried to stab me with a knife I had to run for my life. Today I can say I learnt my lesson.

history
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.