Journal logo

My Thought Process

My journal entry and thought process

By Patricia L. LoganPublished about a year ago 5 min read
Like
My Thought Process
Photo by Thomas Hoang on Unsplash

"This is not a trendy post, and I doubt I will get likes." This is what every. Single. Person. Who write on Medium, Hubpages, Vocal Media, and others are thinking when they start an article. I should know. I am having these thoughts right now.

If you think that right now, please note that you are not alone. Every writer is far from perfect, so that does qualify you as human, and yes, you are bound to make mistakes. This fact is for people who are just starting out to people who have been writing for a while, like me. We all have days like this. For today, I am lucky I have my head on straight.

Today, I got up at 12 noon. Very typical of me since I do not hold a 9–5 job. Why? 12 years ago, I chose to become an entrepreneur. I was not fired. I quit. I was working at a retail store called Archiver's, which as of 2014, has been out of business. It was a craft store that sold scrapbooking and card-making supplies. I will explain what has happened to the crafting business in a separate article.

I wanted to have a company where I wanted to make scrapbook albums and cards for clients. They kept asking for that service at the store, so I wanted to do that. In November 2009, the company changed the employee handbook to state, "No employee may work for another company that is a direct selling company (I was also an Independent Longaberger Home Consultant at the time), have an independent business, or work for another company if they are working for Archiver's. I thought, "well, that stinks." On top of that, my store manager only had me working at $8.15/hour once a week. So, I was working only four hours, NOT at my request. She did that out of spite. I had a question about understanding the new hours she gave me, and now which was from the previous 35 hours the previous store manager gave me. Humm, 35 hours down to 4 hours does not sound too promising to me. The current store manager had a problem with me asking a simple question. She thought that I did not want to work the hours when I really did. I will tell you the rest later.

Anyway, back to the present day….

Next, I got up and started working. I needed lightbulbs, so I thought I would order online from Ikea and pick them up. It was a bitter 29°F outside, and with my car safely in the garage, I could order online, and when the order was ready, I could hop in the car, coat in hand in case something happens (like a stalled car), pull up to Ikea, have someone put said lightbulbs in the back seat, and I will drive home. I am getting used to doing curbside pickup. I had fun doing it two days ago for my Cricut Joy Machine that I ordered at Joann's. On the way home, I then picked up some Crumbl Cookies curbside, then got my Chick-Fil-a sandwich drive-through, and did not have to put on my coat. This virus is not why I do it. Sometimes I just do not want to get out of the car, and I do curbside or delivery.

I found out that the lightbulbs were unavailable for pickup or at the Columbus, Ohio store, and I was not about to drive two hours to the West Chester, Ohio store, so I forwent my favorite lightbulbs for life for some LED lightbulbs at Walmart. While I was at it, I decided to fix my favorite new dish courtesy of the Nomadic Introvert's videos and ordered the ingredients for a quick stovetop dish that consisted of mushrooms, spinach, rice noodles, tofu (oops, I think I threw out the tofu), and heavy cream, and I am not that hungry). The driver just delivered the items, so I am set.

Gizmo is fed for the night. She is my cat. I sometimes call her piglet (don't judge) because she refuses to have the feeding schedule I set to, so then she meows to get her way with food, yet her vet said that she is the perfect seven pounds. My dad calls her "furball." I must wonder if Gizmo needs a companion and if I am willing to deal with two cats. So much goes into getting another cat. You have to get the kitten to adapt the life at the house while "miss-older-cat-Gizmo" adapts to the new kitten.

In the meantime, I am going to cut it off right here. This is my journal entry for today. My challenge for you is to do a journal entry when you want to write something but cannot think of anything to write. You do not have to talk about every single detail. I did not. There are some things that I do not want to talk about. Nothing sad or too private. I just do not think it is anyone's business. I have not written in a while. A good while and I am making it short and sweet.

This is a tip for everyone who is a beginner at writing or struggles with a title or subject for the day. The key point is to write something. Writing a journal entry article may be goofy to some, silly, or stupid to others, but it may also be a jumping-off point for others who may find a subject. I love that making a journal entry frees your mind from researching. There is nothing wrong with researching a subject, but this subject is from your mind and your heart. You are being authentic with yourself and with others. There is no form about this subject. The subject is you. Heck, you may inspire someone to start a new hobby. I have not told you why I ordered a Cricut Joy Machine or what a Cricut Joy machine is and what it does. That's my next subject. I am trying new things with my writing for 2023, and I want you to come along for the ride.

November is the season for change for me for 2023, and I am spilling it in 2022. See you in my next article or blog post. That's another hint. I am reopening my blogs after almost a year of disappearance.

Bye…For now.

adviceworkflow
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.