Journal logo

My Teachers' Hatred Helped Me Write My First Novel.

Guess I made it after all.

By Sydnie BeaupréPublished 7 years ago 3 min read
Like
An image of Cael, and Khiara. 

So, I wrote a book. I'd like to think that it's a good one (I hope to God it's a good one!). It took me six years, from the age of sixteen until the age of twenty-two.

I'm sure it nearly killed me a few times. I know it got me kicked out of class and caused me to fail a few as well. It made me laugh, cry, want to smash my fist into the computer (or throw out the napkin/paper cup that I'd been writing it on!) in anger.

This was my life for that six years. I don't know how I survived!

The story is simple enough: Fallen Angels, Magic, Forbidden Love... the works. It's a YA Paranormal Romance. Cool, okay. Easy. WRONG!

I had to read the Bible, old testament and new. I had to do gigantic amounts of research on angels, and about Maine—where it's set—and about Faen creatures, and what the hell is a Rephaim? I learned not to use the Hebrew name for God because that's disrespectful, and I learned what was acceptable to change certain details about.

And I learned not to listen to those who told me that I'd never amount to anything.

As a kid, I had learning disabilities (still do) and my spelling wasn't great until I learned how to memorize literally every letter combination I could to overcome my dyslexia. Reading became my escape from the world. It was a world where I was made fun of for being too clumsy, too sickly, too socially awkward. Teachers would tell my parents that I was too morbid, that I was always reading when I shouldn't, and that I had to learn how to socialize. Kids would call me weird, a loser, stupid... and teachers started to call me the last one, too.

By my fourth year of high school, I'd given up. I couldn't do math properly (I have dyscalculia and nobody would freaking help me) so my teacher literally at the beginning of the year wrote me off as an idiot, instead of a student that needed extra help. So, I just stopped going to school. If I was an idiot in their eyes, if I'd never make it in anything, then I'd just quit.

And then, I started a program in grade eleven, called Genesis. I had two teachers who actually gave a crap about their students, all kids like me who had fallen through the cracks. We had a fridge, we had computers, we had couches! We could read whenever we wanted, if that's what we liked, which, duh I did, and we could study in a comfortable setting. It was that year that I sat down and decided that I had a story that needed to be told.

Don't get me wrong, I'd been writing forever before that. It was a passion. A hobby. But this story? It was different. It was... special to me. Because I was given the ability to give a crap about myself, thanks to my teachers. They told me that I was smart. They told me I'd go great places. That even if I was weird, it was what made me who I am and that they believed in me.

So, I sat down one day, and I began to write Dark One. Six years later, I look back on those formative years of school and I laugh. Because I published my book. And I actually give a shit about myself, sort of, in only the way that a writer can (self-deprecation is not exempt).

It's all because of the people who told me I'd never make it. And those that helped me realize I could.

literatureadvice
Like

About the Creator

Sydnie Beaupré

Sydnie Beaupré lives in their own imagination; a post-apocalyptic, zombie-inhabited world, where magical creatures and supernatural occurrences are simply the mundane.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.