Journal logo

My odd side hustle pays up to $300 per gig

Want to try and replicate it, I can guide you

By Irina PattersonPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 3 min read
The joy of being an event entertainer. Photo by Irina Patterson, the author

I am an event entertainer in South Florida. If you decide to become an event entertainer in your neighborhood, find this story on Medium, leave a comment, I will respond with more advice and encouragement.

You don't need to be super talented to become a popular event entertainer. How do I know?

As an event entertainer for almost 20 years, I had a lot of time to study the market.

You've got to be kind, yes, and you need to have a lot of energy, yes. You do not have to be super talented. 

I've seen really talented people who failed to connect with the audience. And, I've witnessed some people who were super popular even though they were just "average" in terms of talent.

I can't get enough of those smiles. Photo by Irina Patterson, the author

I make between $250 and $300 for a two-hour gig in South Florida. So far, this work is more financially rewarding than my writing projects.

I'll keep you posted when things change and I make more money as a writer.

We are now in December. My phone has been ringing off the hook. I'm getting so many requests that I have to distribute the overflow of my gigs to my friends-entertainers because I can't be present at two places at once.

Well, I am an established entertainer. I have a Google business listing and a page on Gigsalad, which is a special platform for event entertainers. Plus, I am always brought back year after year by my regular clients.

How can anyone start as an event entertainer?

Today, it is much, much easier than it was back when I began.

When I started, in 2004, we didn't have YouTube. Now, you can watch face painting or balloon twisting videos on YouTube for a few hours and you should be ready to go. 

You don't have to be an advanced artist. If you need to start earning money fast, you can be ready as soon as your supplies arrive. 

Where do you get supplies?

In the US and a few other countries, Amazon will deliver all of your supplies to your doors. Where there is no Amazon delivery, search the Internet for alternative sites to Amazon, let us know how that goes. 

You should not spend more than $50 on your first-time box of supplies to determine if this is a suitable side business for you.

If you want to try face painting, these are the professional paints I buy on Amazon.

Letting kids play with my professional paints. Photo by Irina Patterson, the author

Want to try balloon twisting? Buy a bag of balloons, a hand-held pump, and a black Sharpie marker at any local store to draw faces on your balloon animals.

Want to try being a Santa --  buy this costume.

For Mrs. Claus - -  this is a great outfit.

Before you jump in with both feet, let's review some PROs and CONs of being an event entertainer.

Yes. It is that much fun. Photo by Irina Patterson, the author

PROS : What I enjoy about being an event entertainer

1. Getting out, away from my computer, making new friends.

2. Attending exciting and colorful events and being paid for doing that

3. Practicing my creativity in a public setting, being praised for my work by other human beings, instant gratification.

4. Making people happy, seeing smiles, getting hugs.

5. Being compensated while developing my creative talent.

That's all fantastic!

"Where is the cake?" Photo by Irina Patterson, the author

Now, some CONs 

It needs a certain attitude. Let's take a look.

1. There is a lot of travel involved, often to unfamiliar places. I adore it, but many people would not enjoy this part.

2. It's physically and emotionally demanding at times (especially if with kids). It is perfect for me. I do understand, though, that it may be tough.

3. You never know what to expect. You must rely on your wits to deal with something unpredictable. It's entertaining for me! That wouldn't appeal to everyone.

4. Not an easily scalable business. It is more of a fun business for creative souls who want to get away from a computer screen. That's me. 

. . .

So, if you have an outgoing personality, enjoy making new friends, and are creative, then event entertaining might be a great side hustle for you!

Don't hesitate to ask me questions about this story and anything elseon Medium in the comments section. If there is an interest in certain aspects of this hustle, I will respond with more specific stories.

Let's spread some joy -- Irina Patterson, the author.

Share this post, who knows whom we might inspire and help to earn a few extra dollars this holiday season! 

Let's spread the joy!

My other stories.

advice

About the Creator

Irina Patterson

M.D by education -- entertainer by trade. I try to entertain when I talk about anything serious. Consider subscribing to my stuff, I promise never to bore you.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Irina PattersonWritten by Irina Patterson

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.