Journal logo

My Life As An Independent Living Assistant

Journal Type Entry

By Randy McGrathPublished 3 years ago 8 min read
1

"Buzz Buzz Buzz!" Computer snooze for five more minutes, I grumble and roll over in bed, opening my groggy eyes and groan. Its time to get up an ready for work. Now don't get me wrong I am one of those lucky ones that have a job they actually enjoy. My groan is at the annoyingly early start to my day. It is either 4:00 A.M or 5:00 A.M. Yes I know what your saying :"That's only an hour difference" However that hour difference is what will help define my day.

I am what psw's in my type of field of work call an Independent Living Assistant. Now my employer does not call us or really consider us PSWs simply because we are by definition non medical in our work. However, you take away that one tiny factor and a psw is what you would have to use to describe me and those that work with me.

Now I went to College and have my College certificate in the field of Developmental Service Worker. Basically I have the basics of a PSW but have the added bonus of knowing how to work and take care of individuals who live with all and various disabilities. In my work environment this skill set is the best one to have, even better than being a full fledge PSW, this is because where I work our main focus is to assist individuals with disabilities, mainly physical, live their daily lives as independently as possible.

Now were I work has two main branches of daily work. For one we have what they call in house. When placed for a day shift as in house this means that I work at one of our three main apartment building locations and our clients live in these apartments and have go there through out the day to help and assist them with daily activities. On days where I work in house I am able to get the extra hour of sleep and wake up at 5 instead of 4.

The other branch at my location of work is called outreach. When doing this type of worker, I am out in the community going from location to location and assisting our clients in their own homes through out the city I live in. These days and shifts often start earlier in the morning and this is where I must wake up at 4 to get ready for a busy work day.

So after I have had the extra five minutes of snoozing that my Alex, that I have named Computer after my nerdy obsession with the tv show Star Trek, I get up and ready for my day. The first think I do every morning is a quick little work out routine of stretches to get my body warmed up, limbered and ready for the day. I make sure each part of my body from head to toe has a good stretch and raring to go before moving on with my morning routine.

Once all stretched and ready I move to the washroom to wash my face, every second day shave my beard or trim it in some areas, put on some face cream, hate how dry and flaky my skin can be, apply my deodorant, can't have smelly armpits for my clients, and than put on light cologne, surprising that my work allows scents as long as they very mild, and than get dressed. The dress code for my work place is different than what you might be thinking. Being so similar to a PSW I must be wearing scrubs. However, this work place is the complete opposite. Since we are considered non medical the management does not want us looking and making our clients feel like the work place is medical, therefore we may wear scrub pants but not a top or vice versa. My attire is often presentable well maintained sweat pants and a form fitting but still comfy lose t-shirt. Even in the winter I tend to go for the t-shirt cause the job can be demanding on the body and make one quite warm from its exhaustion if wearing long sleeves.

Once I am mainly ready to hit the road it is time for my fur babies to be taken care of and ready for the day. First my cat will be given her morning treat and than we wrestle a little so I can but a brushing cream on her teeth. She licks the cream around and brushes her own teeth, I will never try to get a tooth brush to do it manually seeing how the cream alone is a fight every morning. Next my big girl dog, is taken out for her morning duties and than gets her treats and same cream for her teeth brushing, luckily she does not mind the brushing and gladly allows me to apply the cream. Next I will uncover my bird and wish him a good morning and refill his water dish and his millet treat for the day. He often likes to chirp and sing as I take care of him to show his joy at my attention. Next to get ready is my pet Lizard. He is pretty easy as all I need to do is set 5 crickets loose in his cage for him to chase and eat at his leisure and spray his terrarium so he has moisture present for the day. Last to get ready for the day our my two little girls the bunnies. They get fresh ice for a cool drink of water on the daily two scoops of a mug of pellets as the food bag recommends one cup per bunny and I make certain they have an abundance of ready hay to snack.

Finally with all my fur babies ready and taken care of for the day I will turn on the radio that I will leave on for them once gone, have a cup of coffee or life juice as I like to call it, a quick bite to eat and lastly brush my teeth so my breath don't stink and "kill" my clients. LOL!!!

Now regardless of being either outreach or in house the way my working day is similar. Each client has various 'bookings' as work calls them. These are like appointment times when we see these clients and complete various tasks for them to be able to live there day to day lives. Many morning routines are similar where we will help clients wake up, than often since many are physically disabled we use ceiling lifts to transfer them from their beds to their wheelchairs or for those who want their showers or to complete bowel routines we first transfer them to commodes complete these routines than help them dress and than to their chairs for the day they will find themselves. Many will also need assistant with meal preparations to some may need assistants with being fed. Lastly we also help those individuals that have 'bookings' complete ADLs known as aids to daily living. These include light house keeping such as sweeping, moping, light dusting and tidy and clean up of kitchens and bathrooms.

All these tasks are tasks that many of us do each day and often we take it for granted that we can accomplish these tasks and not need help. However, doing this job I see how much these tasks are important and so ingrained in our lives that I cannot and will never take my days for granted anymore. These individuals are grateful each day to see us and have us there to assist so they can feel like there day has meaning cause things are getting done and accomplished and they are living! I often say to them and I feel it in my bones: "You are not disabled you are just differently abled than I am!"

To me this job is not really a job in my eyes. Sure I get paid for doing it and I can't complain cause this job does help pay my bills and sadly we all need to do that on the daily. But lots of the chores and work I do for and with my clients is chores as I mentioned early chores and activities I would have done for myself or will be doing for myself later in the day. So how can I call natural activities a job. Above that I get to meet many new and wonderful individuals. This job does have boundaries and I am mindful of them and make sure to not cross them on the daily.

However, we are often with these clients and their main source of interaction in the day. It is unavoidable that we will get to learn about them and their lives and grow to bound with them in a yes a professional way but also in a way that is friendly, courteous and profound. I may grown and moan at the hour of my wake up never do I moan and grown about having to work. The clients I see everyday are very grateful and thankful that I am their to talk to them and help them with their day, but I also feel a sense of joy and thankfulness with my job. Each day for me will and is a new adventure and I can't wait to see who I will meet and what new fun facts or moments of learning I will be shown each and everyday!

career
1

About the Creator

Randy McGrath

I am an ambitious amateur writer hoping to be published someday. Join me as I write true and fictional stories of gay love and life as well as journal type stories and lastly some reviews of my favorite shows.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.