Journal logo

My Heroes of Hip Hop: Missy Elliott

A tribute to one of my biggest heroes of Hip Hop, Missy Elliott

By Joe PattersonPublished about a month ago 5 min read
5

“When the rain hits my window

I take and - me some Indo

Me and Timbaland, ooh, we sang a jangle

We so tight, that you get our styles tangled

Sway on dosie-do like you loco

"Can we get kinky tonight?" Like Coko, so-so

You don't wanna play with my Yo-Yo

I smoke my hydro on the D-low” - Missy Elliot “The Rain (Supa Dupa Fly).

Yep those are the lyrics of the rambunctious and creative Melissa Annette Elliot, better known as Missy “Misdemeanor” Elliot. She is the biggest female Hip Hop artist of all time and one of the most creative minds to ever bless the world of music.

Missy Elliot

Melissa Annette Elliot was born on July 1, 1971 in Portsmouth, Virginia to parents Ronnie and Patricia Elliot. Music played a big role in Missy’s life from the earliest days of her childhood. She was an active singer in her church choir and she loved to sing and dance for her family. Known for her very upbeat personality, Missy was well noted for her humor. Missy was also subjected to poverty and abuse at a young age. When her father Ronnie became abusive towards her mother, Patricia, they split from her father and left him behind. In her adolescence Missy became close friends with Timothy Mosely who went by the nickname Timbaland. It was also at this time that Missy became interested in Hip Hop and rapping and the duo would set out to seek an active future in the world of Hip Hop music.

Missy and Timbaland

By the late 80’s Missy had become a well-crafted music writer. In 1988 she formed a girl group name Fayze, which later changed its name to Sista. The group’s talent caught the attention of Jodeci group member Devante Swing, who decided to add Missy, Timbaland and Sista to his Swing Mob collective group at Elektra records. It was here that Missy would group as a writer and wrote songs for big name acts like Jodeci, she has also started rapping on a number the records that she was writing. By 1995 the Swing Mob collective had dissolved and Missy and Timbaland along with their other close friends in music including rapper Melvin “Barcliff” Magoo were looking to craft a new sound. It would be around this time that Missy, along with Timbaland and Magoo were introduced to young R&B sensation Aaliyah. Together they all crafted Aaliyah’s second full length hit album, One in a Million. During their time working together Missy and Aaliyah would become best friends.

Aaliyah and Missy

After crafting Aaliyah’s sophomore album, Missy then began crafting her debut solo album, Supa Dupa Fly.

Supa Dupa Fly (1997)

“Why you played on me? Wasn't I good enough for you? (Wasn't good enough)

All those other girls you've been with can't do like I do (Do, do)

Gave you all my dough when you needed it all the time (Uh-huh)

And if you planning on leaving me again, then give me a sign (Say what, say what)” - Missy Elliot (Beep Me 9-1-1) ft. 702.

With Timbaland’s advanced sound of production and Missy’s over the top lyrics and lively personality, Supa Dupa Fly became both a critical and commercial hit that made Missy into one of Hip Hop’s most dominant females. This gave way to a future legacy that would be unmatched.

Missy Elliot

How can I describe Missy Elliot’s influence over me? She was always the blueprint for who I wanted to be as a rapper and a writer in style. Her music inspired me my whole life growing up because she was always the life of the party. Every time a Missy classic comes on a flood of memories overtakes my thoughts and I’m transported back to one of the greatest times of my life. Songs from Missy like “The Rain (Supa Dupa Fly), “All N My Grill”, “Lick Shots” and “Work It” really made my childhood fun, even during the worst of times.

Da Real World (1999)

I always said that Missy Elliot was one of the Michael Jackson’s of Hip Hop, meaning that on top of her very animated personality she also had very animated music videos that were an event to watch that you never forgot about, just like Michael Jackson’s influence. I also always loved how Missy’s music wasn’t just the sound of the times, but they always reflected the time period. Her 1999 hit album Da Real World was dedicated to everyone who was effected by the 1999 Columbine High School massacre and her 2001 hit album Miss E…So Addictive was dedicated to her best friend and singer Aaliyah who died in a plane crash and the victims of the September 11th attack, all of which had occurred at the end of the year 2001.

Miss E…So Addictive (2001)

One thing Missy never gets enough credit for is how great she is as a writer. She has written so many classics from some of the greatest artist and groups of all time like Aaliyah, SWV, 702, Total, Ciara, Whitney Houston, Beyoncé, Monica, Mary J Blige, Mya, Keisha Cole, and so many more. Missy wrote songs that were some of your favorites without you even realizing and if that isn’t genius then I don’t know what is.

Under Construction (2002)

Missy Elliot was recently inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and I have to say, it was a long time coming. Missy is certainly a Rock and Roll legend of all music in general. Her music has crossed all boundaries and backgrounds and the world of music would not be what it is without my hero of Hip Hop, Missy “Misdemeanor” Elliot.

“Is it worth it? Let me work it

I put my thang down, flip it and reverse it

Ti esrever dna ti pilf nwod gnaht ym tup i

Ti esrever dna ti pilf nwod gnaht ym tup i

If you got a big, let me search ya

To find out how hard I gotta work ya

Ti esrever dna ti pilf nwod gnaht ym tup i

Ti esrever dna ti pilf nwod gnaht ym tup i

Come on” - Missy (Work It).

Missy Elliot.

celebrities
5

About the Creator

Joe Patterson

Hi I'm Joe Patterson. I am a writer at heart who is a big geek for film, music, and literature, which have all inspired me to be a writer. I rap, write stories both short and long, and I'm also aspiring to be an author and a filmmaker.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Babs Iversonabout a month ago

    Superbly written & loved your tribute to Missy Elliot!!!💕❤️❤️

  • Tiffany Gordon about a month ago

    Great work Joe! Missy is another zodiac twin of mine. :) Her work is always fresh & entertaining!

  • Allwyn Roman Waghelaabout a month ago

    Yeah she is the ultra legend of hip hop

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.