Journal logo

My Happiest Memory

"We all have memories that we cherish. They are the things that make us who we are. I have many happy memories, but the one that stands out above all of them is the first time I met my fiancé." Let's learn about that

By Courtanae HeslopPublished 2 years ago 10 min read
Like

We all have memories that we cherish. They are the things that make us who we are. I have many happy memories, but the one that stands out above all of them is the first time I met my fiancé. It was a Friday night and we were going to watch a movie together, but it ended up being so much more than just two people sitting in a theater watching an action flick on the big screen. We'd already been dating for six months at this point, but somehow it never occurred to either one of us that we could take our relationship to another level by doing something as simple as swinging together at a park on such an otherwise ordinary summer evening.

The day I met my fiancé

I met my fiancé at a party. He said something like "I can tell we're going to be friends," and I said, "You're really tall." He was wearing a beanie, which is not how I usually like my men (sorry). But something about him made me think that he was going to be great for me, so I worked up the courage to ask him out on a date.

When we first started dating, I was living in an apartment with three of my friends - two guys and one girl. They knew the situation between me and their friend before they even met him (and since then have gotten to know him better than anyone else), so when they were telling us stories of how they met their spouses or significant others, it felt like we were looking into our future selves: college kids having fun together without any real commitment yet still finding meaning in each other's presence across time zones and continents apart.

It feels like only yesterday when I saw this same guy again at my friend's wedding - he had been away from home traveling for work for months at that point but still managed to come back just for her big day! It was obvious how happy she made him feel by just looking at his face; their love seemed so strong despite being apart most days during those years where marriage wasn't even considered among people our age group yet!

He was a stranger on the sidewalk, and I was on my way to work.

You were a stranger on the sidewalk, and I was on my way to work. You were wearing a suit, and I was wearing heels. You were walking in the opposite direction from me, so we didn't notice each other until we both stopped at the same crosswalk light. We exchanged smiles as we waited for it to change, but it didn't change - it stayed red despite there being no cars anywhere nearby and no impending danger of traffic coming down any side street or intersection. The moment stretched out between us as time grew still: the world was frozen around us in this perfect moment, where nothing else mattered but how beautiful you looked standing there under that pedestrian signal with all its blinking arrows pointing left or right, indicating which way led back home while another path took you away from everything familiar into an unknown future full of possibilities and potentials…

I want to believe that's really true - that those moments exist out there somewhere even now after all these years since 1982 when they felt like they could last forever if only we had more time together!

The more I thought about it, the more surprising it was that we hadn't done this before.

The more I thought about it, the more surprising it was that we hadn't done this before. We had been friends for a long time and spent hours on the phone each day talking about our lives and supporting one another through good times and bad. When we were together in person, we'd often spend hours hanging out as well - but instead of going to dinner or going shopping or watching TV, the two of us would talk nonstop about all kinds of things: life goals; family; our favorite books and movies; what we wanted out of life; who our heroes were; where we saw ourselves in five years…

We never really did anything like this before though - or at least not since childhood - so when she suggested it out of nowhere (as though she had read my mind), I was immediately excited at the prospect of doing something new together.

It was a Friday night, and we were going to watch a movie.

You were going to a movie across town. It was a Friday night, and you wanted to see the new romantic comedy playing at the theater over in town. You liked comedies, and it had gotten good reviews.

It was a new release, so there were not many people there yet when you arrived. The lights were down low in the theater when you walked into it; they did that sometimes because they didn't want people to see what was on screen before they got their ticket scanned at the door by an usher who checked them off against another list of names (there were two lists).

The theater itself was clean and smelled faintly like popcorn oil and fresh paint; it had been freshly painted recently because some repairs had been done to fix up some broken seats.

Just like any Friday night in the summer, we had the whole weekend ahead of us.

The weekend was ahead of us. A time to relax, spend time with loved ones, or even just spend time by yourself. We all had our own plans for the weekend and no matter what they were, we knew that they would be fun.

The weekend was a special time in our lives because it was something that not only brought together family members but also friends and significant others. We looked forward to this day because it meant that we could finally catch up on all of the things everyone had been doing since school ended for the summer earlier in June.

We walked to the park together, and we both sat down on the swing set.

My happiest memory is of a particular day at the park. My mother and I had walked to the park together, and we both sat down on the swing set. We swung back and forth until our legs were sore, then headed home for dinner. Later that evening, we took a walk together again before going to bed.

That day really stood out for me because it was one of those rare times when my mom seemed happy to be with me - and as an adult, I know how lucky I was then to have her in my life now!

That was when he looked over at me with a glint in his eye and asked me if I wanted to take a ride on the swings with him.

This was when he looked over at me with a glint in his eye and asked me if I wanted to take a ride on the swings with him.

I was surprised by his question, but also so happy I couldn't help but say yes. I hadn't been on a swing in years, and I couldn't imagine feeling more carefree than when you're flying through the air on one of those things - soaring high above everyone else and feeling like you could go for hours without ever touching ground again.

And that's exactly what we did that afternoon. We went outside, walked over to where all the abandoned playground equipment stood - swings included - and climbed up onto them together. He sat down on one swing while I took another next to him; then we began swinging back and forth, laughing together as we flew higher into space every time our legs pushed off against their planks of wood until they were nearly reaching up towards heaven itself! It felt good having someone else there too; someone who cared enough about me that they would go out there with me even though everyone else thought it was dangerous or stupid for us both being out alone together without our parents around just because we wanted some fun before dinner time came along later tonight when both families would be gathering together again for dinner after church services ended here at home before bedtime started happening soon afterwards tonight once again tomorrow morning early Tuesday morning early Wednesday morning tomorrow afternoon tomorrow night tomorrow evening here

Our feet dangled off of them because they were so high up, but as soon as I wrapped my arms around him and squeezed my hand into his, I felt exhilarated.

The swings were the kind that you had to jump up and grab onto, then swing out from. They were also high up in a tree, so our feet dangled off of them because they were so high up, but as soon as I wrapped my arms around him and squeezed my hand into his, I felt exhilarated. The wind was blowing through his hair and tickling the back of my neck. It was cold outside but the sun shined brightly on us; we laughed about how silly we must look hanging upside down like this because no one else was there to see us…

We spent hours upon hours on those swings that day: swinging gently back and forth while talking about our dreams for the future (for me it was being a writer), swinging faster until our toes would skim the ground when we reached full extension (which happened often), trying not to look down while going faster than ever before with just a little too much gusto (this resulted in many giggles).

We swung back and forth until our legs were sore, then we headed to the theater across town to watch a show that had just come out. This particular night happened years ago, but it is one of the happiest memories that I have.

I remember sitting on that swing, swinging back and forth with my fiancé. My legs were sore by the time we decided to go across town to watch a show that had just come out. This particular night happened years ago, but it is one of the happiest memories that I have.

When we were swinging together, I felt so free and happy. I didn't think about anything else besides him and how lucky I was to be with him at that moment in time. My mind wasn't filled with worry or thoughts about the future; all there was was this beautiful man next to me who made me feel like everything would be okay no matter what happened in our lives from here on out.

Memories can be some of the most important things in our lives if we let them into our hearts.

Our memories are some of the most valuable things we have. They can serve as lessons, or they can serve as an escape from reality. Whether good or bad, they're always there to remind us of who we are.

The first thing you need to do is decide how you want to store your memories. You could use a book (like this one), a computer file, or even just keep them in your head! Once that's done, it's time to start collecting those memories by taking photographs of everything around you. Take pictures on your phone and add them straight into your memory bank! Then when people ask what happened during their favorite event ever (as if!), tell them all about the amazing time everyone had until their eyes glaze over with boredom.*That's* how easy it is!

Conclusion

I hope you enjoyed reading about my happiest memories, and I hope that you can use them as an example for yourself. If anything, it's important to remember that even though these are just stories about me and my fiancé, there might be one out there for everyone else too - including you! So take some time today to think back on what made your heart smile when things were bad; maybe something will come back up that can help guide you through future challenges.

PS: I freelance write for a living, please consider hiring me for ghost, blog, or other content writing projects! [email protected]

advice
Like

About the Creator

Courtanae Heslop

Courtanae Heslop is a multi-genre writer and business owner.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.