Journal logo

My first time in Paris.

City of love, pee and dog poo.

By Magesh GeorgePublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like
Paris

My first time in Paris was everything I had imagined it would be. The streets were lined with charming cafes, colorful flowers, and bakeries that made my mouth water. I couldn't believe I was actually living in the city of love, fashion, and art. However, as time passed, I learned that there were both pros and cons to living in Paris as a resident.

One of the biggest pros of living in Paris is the abundance of culture and history. Everywhere you turn, there is something to learn, see, or do. I spent countless afternoons wandering through the Louvre, admiring the works of art and soaking up the atmosphere. The architecture of the city is also stunning, with buildings dating back centuries that are still standing strong. It's an amazing feeling to be surrounded by so much history and beauty.

Another pro of living in Paris is the food. I thought I knew good food before I moved to Paris, but I was blown away by the quality and variety of French cuisine. From baguettes to croissants, macarons to crepes, there's always something delicious to try. One of my favorite experiences was visiting a local market and picking up fresh produce and cheese to make a picnic by the Seine. It's little moments like these that make living in Paris so special.

However, living in Paris isn't all sunshine and roses. One of the biggest cons is the cost of living. Paris is one of the most expensive cities in the world, and as a resident, it can be tough to make ends meet. Rent prices are sky-high, and even basic necessities like groceries and transportation can be pricey. I had to adjust my budget and lifestyle to make sure I could afford to live comfortably in the city.

Another con of living in Paris is the crowds. While it's great to be in a city with so much going on, it can also be overwhelming at times. The streets are always packed with tourists and locals alike, and it can be difficult to find some peace and quiet. The metro is often crowded during rush hour, and it's not uncommon to have to wait for multiple trains to pass before you can squeeze on. It takes some getting used to, but eventually, I learned to navigate the crowds and find my own space in the city.

One of the cons of living in Paris is the pollution. Like many large cities, Paris has a significant issue with air pollution. This can be especially problematic for individuals with respiratory issues or allergies. Additionally, pollution can impact the overall quality of life and make it less enjoyable to spend time outdoors.

Another con of living in Paris is the noise. Paris is a bustling city, which means there's always a lot of noise. Whether it's traffic, construction, or simply people chatting on the street, it can be difficult to find a quiet place to relax. This can be especially challenging for individuals who need peace and quiet to work or sleep.

Another con of living in Paris is the bureaucracy. The French government is known for its bureaucratic systems, and this can be especially frustrating for expats or individuals who aren't fluent in French. From obtaining visas to navigating health insurance, the bureaucracy can be time-consuming and confusing.

Another con of living in Paris is the lack of personal space. Paris is a densely populated city, which means that personal space can be hard to come by. Apartments and living spaces tend to be smaller than what many people are used to, and it can be difficult to find quiet places to relax. Additionally, the city can feel crowded, especially during peak tourist seasons.

Finally, another con of living in Paris is the cleanliness of the city. Despite its charm and beauty, Paris has a reputation for being dirty. Pee and dog poop can be found on the sidewalks, and some areas have issues with bed bugs. It's important to be aware of your surroundings and take precautions to protect yourself and your living space.

Despite the cons, I still loved living in Paris. It's a city that's full of life and energy, and I always felt like there was something new to discover. I made some amazing friends and had unforgettable experiences, like celebrating Bastille Day with fireworks over the Eiffel Tower and exploring the city's hidden alleyways.

Ultimately, my time in Paris taught me that every place has its pros and cons. While I may have struggled with the high cost of living and lack of personal space, I also cherished the culture, food, and history that surrounded me every day. Living in Paris was a challenging but rewarding experience, and I wouldn't trade it for anything.

travel
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.