Journal logo

My First Quarterly Report of Vocal+

getting better all the time

By David X. SheehanPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
4
Three at time is quicker, duh

I began my Vocal+ journey on June 12th this year, laid down my $99.00, and started to write. The attraction, to me, was the wide variety of areas one could write about, simply by tapping out a minimum of 600 words, something I had done daily on Facebook going back to 2013 and for almost two years. Less and less after that as I moved back to the northeast from Fort Myers Beach, Florida. This platform has allowed me to add to some of those blogs, but also try my hand at fiction, which I find difficult, because so much of my stuff is from the heart, and with much emotion.

So, I’ve learned a thing or two along the way. First, there are many writers on Vocal+, so many. It’s been difficult to find the one’s I like and love, and would read their material, because it strikes a chord with me, sometimes even when I disagree.

What I have decided about my reading habits, and why the idea of subscribing appeals to me is that I can subscribe after reading, and then follow their stuff. I started with three authors, and when I got to be good at keeping them caught up, I’d read another and subscribe, so that today, August 14, 2021, I’ve subscribed to 16 different authors. I’ve been given credit for 267 reads after the first three months of being on board, is that good, should it be higher or lower? Anyway, I read each day.

I also look for challenges, I just entered my first poem “Alicia”, and the challenges tend to force one into areas which are foreign to me, but also move me to subject matter beyond just myself. It’s scary, but exciting. If it’s a reading day and I’ve caught up on my subscriptions, I tend to go to challenges and then to Top Stories.

A note on the Summer Fiction Series, I used a method of Titling each topic with what it was about and the date due. It’s my first try, but it was kind of cool to write on each one, a few words per challenge. I spent more time on which ever one was due first, but forced myself to expand on every one every day. It certainly keeps one focused and on schedule.

I have questions about my published stories, which is more important, the number of reads or the number of hearts?

In three months, 24 pieces have been published and I’m grateful, is that enough?

The topic of tips comes up often so my thoughts are that tips are always a good thing if you receive them. They are not an obligation, like going to a restaurant, if you live in the USA, if the service is good, the server receives a tip, it varies from miniscule to outstanding, based on service. I have been a server, while in college, and in those days the only extra money for important things like a pack of cigarettes, unfiltered Pall Mall reds.

My mother waitressed from an early age, it’s what she was doing, when she met my father at George’s Café in Portland, Maine, just as WWII was ending. When their family got to five kids, and in her thirties, she went to work as a waitress at a local restaurant, Ling Ting’s. Several nights a week, she’d serve burgers and fries and frappes (a big scoop of ice cream, syrup, and two thirds full of milk, slapped into the Hamilton Beach blender, until it threatened to overflow then serve). But, I digress, what did you expect, I’m a writer. My mother worked for one reason, not to pay bills as is the case most often these days, but to save for the price of a week vacation or two at a simple cabin or summer house on Cape Cod, somewhere near the ocean. She kept a stockpile of quarters in her top little jewelry drawer, the bulk of her tips went into the bank. For me, this alone, would be why I believe in tipping. I’m retired, 74 and have no other income than Social Security; I have COPD. I do a lot of Television and computer watching, sports, music, and some series. I walk, when the weather is just right. I live with my sister here in Maine, and we dine out frequently as we can. Given that there are always folks worse off then yourself, we always divide the check by two and give that amount to our server. We barely get by but always have enough to give others, it’s a God thing for us. I’d like to think our giving is just enough for some struggling person to get through another day.

So, the tip thing, I’m in favor, and if I ever get one, I’ll save like my mother did, and have already made the decision to send 100% to Camp Jabberwocky ( www.Camp Jabberwocky.org ), on Martha’s Vineyard, Massachusetts.

From the end of June to the end of August, Camp Jabberwocky offers children and adults with a wide range of disabilities the chance to enjoy the summer in a small family-like community – living together and enjoying jam-packed days filled with adventurous activities and experiences that are safe, empowering, exciting and fun. Campers stay between one and four weeks during which they enjoy activities and classes on campus and out and about in the community of Martha’s Vineyard.

At Jabberwocky, people with different abilities form the majority in the community. Their needs become priority needs; their concerns become concerns. And in this age, when cultural and individual sense of belonging is waning, a community that works is a light of hope.

I would do this because it reminds me of the summers as a kid, with abilities, I spent in the beach atmosphere with friends and family, but mostly for my friend Faith Carter, who told me of this place where she has spent many meaningful summers.

The end of my first quarter report on Vocal+ is I think I’m doing OK, and I’m most pleased that my very first piece, a story about my mother “Miss Tibby”, has the most likes and the most hearts. I know she would be most pleased.

Thank you Vocal+ and thank you authors for making my world hugely bigger, each day, and for those who read my stories.

product review
4

About the Creator

David X. Sheehan

I write my memories, family, school, jobs, fatherhood, friendship, serious and silly. I read Vocal authors and am humbled by most. I'm 76, in Thomaston, Maine. I seek to spread my brand of sincere love for all who will receive.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.