Journal logo

My Deepest Desires

Unfulfilled desires can lead to misery

By Amari ParkerPublished about a year ago 4 min read
2
My Deepest Desires
Photo by Skyler King on Unsplash

I want, want, want, and I keep wanting! It may sound strange, but here’s one way to put it: will I ever be able to not want something? The more I want something, the more difficult and dangerous it becomes, but despite the danger and my caution, it all feels so good at times that my brain can’t decide whether it’s good or bad for me to want something!

My desire has followed me around for as long as I can remember. I’ve tried so many times to flee and hide, but it comes in so many different forms and stages that my mind can’t always handle it.

Should I be cautious about what I desire?

Yes, definitely! Because human nature is characterized by desire, which gives us a sense of direction and drives us to accomplish our specific goals but can also bring us deeper into the abyss,

What is the difference between desire and free will?

The capacity to desire is a property of the soul; Desire (iccha sakti) is an energy of the soul which gets transformed to lust (kama) when it comes in contact with the mode of passion — Muralidhara Das

I love this answer by Muralitharan Das. To have unrealistic desires can be very dangerous for your soul, mind, and body, and when this transforms into lust, it will be harder to get rid of your lust than to stop a fat kid from eating cake!

I’ve been sitting on deep-seated desires for a long time and have suffered from dissatisfaction and depression; believe me, I know what I’m writing about.

Keep reading because overcoming depression can be a challenging process that may require time and effort, but there are several techniques I´ll share with you, that you can take to manage and alleviate your symptoms.

With so much pressure from the system created to haunt me, I was unable to achieve my goals or fulfill my desires; I felt like I had let myself down, sometimes like I wasn’t good enough, and all this led to feelings of hopelessness and low self-esteem, which are often associated with depression.

But I was lucky to have friends, family, and a mentor that supported and helped me get out of that state, which is why I decided to write a book on this topic. I recognize that unfulfilled or unrealistic deep desires are a common experience for many people, and it’s essential to learn how to manage these feelings in a healthy way to avoid developing depression or other mental health problems.

One step I took was to try to reframe my desires in a more realistic and achievable way. Instead of desiring to be a famous writer, I set a goal to write on different types of platforms and started doing it regularly for the love I have for writing, even if it was just for my own enjoyment or to respond to a tweet of a non-famous person. This helped shift the focus from a particular outcome to the process of working towards a goal.

My second step was to practice self-compassion and acceptance. It’s essential to recognize that we all have limitations and that it’s okay to fall short. By accepting ourselves and our limitations, we can reduce feelings of inadequacy and low self-esteem.

The following techniques may be useful for overcoming depression:

Why should you seek professional assistance?

Seeking professional assistance from a therapist, counselor, or mental health provider is the first step in overcoming depression. You can create a unique treatment plan and pinpoint the underlying causes of your depression with the aid of a mental health professional.

Why you should practice Self-Care?

It’s crucial to look after yourself if you want to combat depression. Self-care can include a variety of activities, such as getting enough sleep, maintaining a healthy diet, working out frequently, and partaking in enjoyable and relaxing pursuits.

How to challenge negative thoughts?

Negative thoughts and beliefs about oneself, others, and the world can frequently accompany depression. A helpful method for treating depression is to challenge these thoughts and swap them out for more uplifting and practical ones.

How to build a Support System?

When dealing with depression, having a network of family, friends, or a support group can give comfort, understanding, and encouragement. They can offer both emotional and practical support as you open up to them about your problems and emotions.

Why you should try to engage in Cognitive-Behavioral Therapy (CBT)?

CBT is a type of therapy that focuses on changing negative thought patterns and behaviors that contribute to depression. It can help you learn coping skills and strategies for managing negative thoughts and behaviors.

Why you should try practicing mindfulness?

The practice of mindfulness entails being in the moment without passing judgment. It can lessen stress and anxiety while enhancing general well-being. Using mindfulness exercises like yoga, meditation, or other relaxation methods can be a good way to treat depression.

Conclusion

If we are not careful to manage our feelings in a healthy way, unfulfilled or unrealistic deepest desires can result in depression. We can prevent the negative effects of unfulfilled deepest desires and lead more fulfilling lives by rephrasing our desires, engaging in self-compassion and acceptance, and placing more emphasis on the process than the result. It’s critical to get expert assistance from a therapist or mental health provider if you’re dealing with depressive symptoms or other mental health problems.

Echo of Today:

It’s critical to remember that everyone’s path to recovery from depression is different, and what works for one person may not work for another. Seeking professional help and developing a personalized treatment plan that meets your needs and goals is critical. With the right treatment, support, and self-care practices, it is possible to overcome depression.

You are welcome to ask any questions in the comments section, or alternatively, you can subscribe to my weekly newsletters by clicking the link provided. I encourage you to engage with me in either way, as I am open to communicating with my readers.

Link: Let’s connect!

Join the waitlist to receive updates and more as I publish short articles about this book up until its publication. JOIN NOW!

product reviewreligionquoteshow tofact or fictionbook reviewadvice
2

About the Creator

Amari Parker

I have a passion for exploring the intersections of business, religion, and culture.

I strive to make complex subjects accessible and to provide readers with insights,

and guidance that they can apply in their own lives.

Tips are welcome!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.