Journal logo

MY CREATIVITY

Exploring new ideas

By Pritthijit DattaPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 4 min read
Like

THE PANDEMIC

The global pandemic started in March 2020. I watched the news and felt increasingly worried about what was happening. I struggled to digest the situation. Life was going to change direction, causing disruptions to many sectors. I had to cancel my weekend trip to Birmingham watching a concert and touring the city seeing the Cadbury Factory and having a curry. Me and wife looked forward to the trip. It was a disappointment we could not go. Given the severity of the situation, it was not worth the risk taking the trip. There have been reports in high infection rates, hospital admissions and even deaths.

The UK government started to introduce very tight restrictions to help curb the spread of COVID 19. April to June 2020 was the darkest times we faced during the pandemic. Hospital admissions were at the highest. The NHS was completely stretched. The UK public honoured the heroic work the NHS did during these challenging times by public clapping in houses.

It was very hard to accept to the new restrictions imposed. We could not experience the fresh air as much as we wanted to. Me and wife shopped in supermarket. The queues were so large. The atmosphere was subdued. A trip to the supermarket took one hour to complete the grocery shopping. Supermarkets introduced quotas to combat panic buying. The chaotic scenes at the supermarkets lasted for some time. Non essential shops were completely closed. Going to our local town felt like a ghost town. It felt so surreal. Majority of the shops were closed. The restaurant and pubs were completely closed. The banks were opened for limited time. Families could not interact with friends. Why has life has to reached to this point? When would it end? These were thoughts spiralling in my mind.

We could take daily strolls, but only once a day. Many people secretly mingled with other people, but were caught due to patrolling police on roads and air. Mental health was crumbling like anything. So many people were feeling depressed staying at home and struggling to engage in activities. Staying home led to so much boredom. Staying in home for long periods can feel stuffy.

Many would often tune into social media to express how they feel. I feel social media is escapism. Although it seen as diversion. you would have to still to face the problems I feel social media is more damaging to mental health. In the pandemic, we are all in the same boat.

It is easy break down during this awful situation we never experienced before.

What do I do?

I work as a fundraising manager in the charity sector. For 12 months, I worked from home. The only communication I had between my managers and me was phone calls and texts. We could not see other. All activities and sessions arranged had to be suspended causing a huge blow for our clients.

In June 2021, I returned to the office. I am so relieved that I have returned to the office. Activities and sessions have resumed. The uncertainty of the situation means we may have to re-adapt. We take each day as it comes and try to be positive.

The pandemic has changed the meaning of life. We appreciate life for what it is and be grateful what we have.

Working from home for a long period was not ideal. I soldiered on with my job. I arranged virtual sessions. The sessions received a good attendance. Every client meeting needed to be arranged virtually.

What can I do?

It got me thinking what can I do to bring families or friends together. The difficult times we are facing, I wanted to engaged myself and also inspire people.

I want to stimulate people mind. A concept known as Engaged struck as the most ideal name for the new venture created by me. I want to bring families and friends together playing quiz board games on virtual platforms like zoom and face to face through printable quiz board games. This idea has been never explored before. I want to spread the word about Engaged .

Engaged offer printable quiz board games aimed at adults and children. I have experiment this concept with a few friends, who applaud it and we played a game of Interactive 80s quiz book. My friends enjoyed the game very much.

Interactive Dog Quiz and Interactive Animal quiz are also available. In coming months, I will release Interactive Disney quiz, Interactive Star Wars quiz and Pub Quiz Champion.

Interactive Animal Quiz

Interactive 80s Game

I will release Disney Interactive Game in few months

Interactive Disney Game

Creativity is a great asset. You can make things happen. I want to make Engaged a success. You can have so much fun playing the games.

Engaged promote good times with families. You can have a laugh and have a drink together. Engaged will be open to UK, but also to US audience and other countries.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Pritthijit Datta

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.