Journal logo

My Adventures as a Pizza Delivery Driver

My Cell Phone Blew Off Of My Car

By Rhonda FarleyPublished 7 years ago 2 min read
1

As I find myself delivering pizzas once again, I am up for the next delivery at work and it is to a very large country music venue hotel. The hotel is so massive that the delivery drivers from work are not allowed to go inside of the hotel to deliver a pizza. If we were to have to go inside of the hotel to make deliveries to customers, it would take probably thirty minutes or longer, waiting at the front desk for the customer to arrive to get their food. When that delivery to the hotel comes up, the delivery drivers just pull up to where the valet parking is and the customer comes outside to meet us.

I know the address for that certain hotel when it comes up on my receipt and I always call the customer and tell them to meet me at the valet parking on the outside of the hotel. Nine times out of ten, the customer is waiting for me when I arrive at the hotel. This particular time when I arrived at the hotel, my customer was nowhere to be found. I pulled over and parked where the taxi cabs were all lined up at the valet parking. I got out of my car, got the order, my ink pen, and my phone out of the car, and stood there to play the waiting game. Instead of putting my phone in one of my pockets that day, I put it on the top of my car while I was waiting. That was a bad idea. After a period of time, my customer finally arrives at the valet parking and picked up their food. All was well, I thought. So, I got back in my car and proceeded to my next stop which was a few miles down the road.

As I was driving to my next delivery, I heard the loudest noise. It was my phone blowing off of my car onto the roadway. At the time, I had no idea what the noise could have been, like I had run over something in the road. I immediately looked behind me in my rearview mirror. I did not see anything, so I kept going. I arrived at my next location and delivered the food to my customer. I headed on back to the store and went to get out of my car and realized that I had lost my phone. It had blown off of the top of my car. Not long after that, I got another delivery back to the same hotel. I thought when I got there, I would ask the valet people if they had found a phone. Once on location again, after I had delivered my pizza, I asked the valet people if anybody had found a phone and turned it in. They went to look in their lost and found, and no phone. I left the hotel and went the same route as earlier that night, driving slow in hopes of finding my phone. I did not find it. The next day, several of my family members went and looked for my phone, they all got out of their vehicles and walked around trying to find the phone, but it was nowhere to be found.

On my next day off from work, I went and purchased a new cell phone, and the best part about it was is that I got it on sale.

careerindustry
1

About the Creator

Rhonda Farley

I work part-time delivering pizzas for Papa Johns. I love to spend my days off from work cooking, baking, or trying any new recipe. I also love to spend days painting. I love spending time with family and friends and both of my pets.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.