Journal logo

Mourning a Job Loss

The Death of a Position

By Tasha ZdenekPublished 5 years ago 2 min read
Like

A lot like the death of anything in someone's life... the death of a job or position is a process to internalize.

I recently experienced getting fired for the first time in my life. I've been let go before, downsizing or not making the cut after a probationary time but never fired... ouch!

This is the process I witnessed and experienced, whew... what a ride.

Day 1 - Total disbelief and denial, I'm a good employee.. I thought. How could this have happened? What could I have done differently? Was it me? Was it them? Were we just not a good fit? Stage one complete - Denial and Isolation.

Day 2 - Anger, how can I get even? I wanted to post everywhere about how they did me wrong. The things the company did that we're just not good practices and anything else I could drum up. Don't worry, I didn't. Stage two complete—Anger and Revenge.

Day 3 - Bargaining, with myself and others. Maybe if I did this or that, things would be different. Does anyone know anyone hiring? How can I fix it? Can I fix it? I did everything I could think of. I just needed to feel reassured that I would be able to make an income and my family wouldn't lose their home. Stage three complete - Bargaining to change the outcome.

Day 4 - Depression, this may not always fall in to this order and in all honesty there was a tad of depression the entire process. But by day four I had cried so much and felt so hopeless that I really didn't see a way out of it. Stage four - Depression (brutal stage).

Day 5 and beyond - Acceptance, this is my reality. Where do I go from here? What is the next step? What can I do, what do I want to do? How can I earn money? Stage 5 will never be complete. I have come to the realization that this is an ongoing stage and it should be!!

So from this point moving forward I will be discovering new things to try and passions to fill my heart, life and wallet. I don't really know where my path will lead. I don't know how this will end. But I know I went through something pivotal and I know I'm not alone.

As with any loss in life, there is a mourning process and it is so hard. But we are not alone on this journey. We have family, friends and even online communities for unbelievable support.

And... I WILL BE OK!!

This is not the end of my story, but only a new beginning.. wish me luck as I explore new options and opportunities—what an adventure!

career
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.