Journal logo

Morpheus' seduction

Horse, light, heir, (hell)

By Novel AllenPublished 11 months ago 4 min read
4

The winged horse Pegasus came to my side as I sat gazing out upon the serene blue waters of the Aegean Sea. Upon his back rode Loktali, my true love. The magnificent night though, had bewitched me, I could not look away.

Wonderous was the scene, as I observed from my perched view of the lovely Greek island of Kos, where I idly reposed atop the flowered rocks. The beckoning sounds of the water's depth were hypnotic and serenely soothing. Across the undulating waters, the lights of the Turkish shorelines twinkled a merry invitation, daring me to defy danger, climb astride the stalwart, handsome creature and soar across the sea to dabble in the offerings of her luxurious gifts.

Gently, I heard my name called upon the sweet night wind. "Licea".

I turned at last to look at you, dear Pegasus, and my eyes became opened. For I saw you not, upon that horse, my lover. It was Morpheus, that Greek God of dreams, of Ovid's Metamorphoses, who now mimicked your beautiful human form, and appeared to me as in dreams. I knew him not, for his true form, a semblance of that winged daemon, was but an evil impersonation of the true you.

I, seeing his true facade, recoiled from his embrace, that wicked Morpheus, wore a white and black coat, had horns, and carried an ivory box filled with dreams in colors. Each color signifying good and bad.

From the gates of Horn, Ivory and Hell, Morpheus send dreams to entice, mock and beguile. Beautiful demonic and beastly, he will infiltrate your basest desire.

This is the God of dreams and sleep, the brother to a thousand like siblings. Do not trust your dream within which he appears. Morpheus, thou son of Hypnos. Beware Morpheus, Phobetor and Phantasos, the most prominent of the demons of sleep. Guard you dream senses for sights and sounds, hear with your hearts, taste with your tongues. Allow not sweet smells to guide you to his alluring touch.

Beware your dreams!

I had been waiting for hundreds of years for my love to awaken from the dream sleep within which hellish Hera had, in a jealous rage, sent him to wander far and wide. Never would he rest, until the winged horse was sent to fetch him, ere his punishment should end. Hera had loved Loktali, but he loved me. The Gods can be so cruel. I had vowed to wait for my Loktali until the end of times.

istock

Now the horse too, has been beguiled, thinking that it brings you, Loktali, brings love, when all it brings are dreams and lies riding here this night.

Pegasus suddenly leaps and spins, whinnying, neighing and bucking in anger. It too realized your trickery, enchanting Morpheus. The creature throws you unceremoniously to the ground, neighs once more and soars high into the night sky. I could laugh at, and enjoy your discomfort, but knowing the wrath of the Gods, this could bring me even more misery. I choose to be commiserative and rise to the occasion graciously. I extend to you my hand. With an arrogant wave of your hand, you refuse my gesture, maybe thinking yourself too much of a man to accept my proffered aid.

Are you mayhap doing the bidding of the formidable Hera, my dear Morpheus, for I tire of her tricks.

Morpheus suddenly disappears in a gust of eerie wind.

From the sky the hurried sounds of thunderous beating wings are heard. It is Pegasus. The beautiful creature brings me my long lost love. At last, I can bear him the heirs which will surely usurp the quarrelsome and selfish gods of old, who refuse to change their ways and allow newness and light into our dark existence.

We embrace passionately, our faces collided, became one. We drink deep of each other's long awaited unity.

Our bewitchment is at an end. No more can the gods meddle in our lives. We shall, together bear the fruits which shall topple an arrogant and disdainful system of selfishness, lust and greed.

My love does not yet speak. I take his hand.

"Come Loktali, our lives begin anew today. All shall be well".

Olympus is in beautiful form today. A perfect day for new beginnings!

Mount Olympus

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

satirehumanityheroes and villains
4

About the Creator

Novel Allen

Every new day is a blank slate. Write something new.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Rana Shafiq5 months ago

    I am professor Shafiq masters in Mathematics and post graduate,in computer science I teach maths, physics and chemistry. my interpretation is purely based on students' comprehension ability. If the student doesn't understand the subject, I explain with the basics until he understands the topic. Basically maths is a logical subject, if we grasp magic we don't need to worry about maths subject.... Very positive and productive content ♥️♥️

  • I've always been fascinated by Greek mythology so imagine my excitement when I saw this! Such a fantastic story! You outdid yourself on this one. I loved it!

  • Babs Iverson11 months ago

    Fabulous!!! Loved it!!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.