Journal logo

More Observations On Vocal Challenges

Just A Few Things That Come to Mind

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished about a year ago 3 min read
10

Introduction

I am glad to see the Vocal smaller short period challenges which gives the platform a more dynamic feel, but the “Blue Haiku” Challenge really hit me mentally.

The previous Haiku Challenge seemed to be reasonable, but “Blue Haiku” followed close on the heels of the first and people realised they could produce haiku very quickly.

While this may not affect Vocal, lots of the Vocal Facebook Groups were flooded with a veritable tsunami of “Blue Haiku” entries and that made me incredibly conflicted because I could read all my friends’ entries and that made me feel incredibly guilty so in the end I just decided to ignore most of my friends’ haiku entries.

As I am an Administrator in Vocal + Assist I have to oversee the posts from the Challenges and try to group them in threads and guides. You can see by clicking on the link and joining the group.

I was going to limit myself to two, but ended up submitting five, so I am no angel.

Traditional Japanese haiku consist of three phrases that contain a kireji, or "cutting word",17 on (phonetic units similar to syllables) in a 5, 7, 5 pattern, and a kigo, or seasonal reference.

The two winning poems in the High-Ku challenge contained no seasonal references so they were not actually haiku but senryū, however that’s down to the Vocal moderators , as they did not specify these criteria in their definition, and I only became aware of it when my friend Lee pointed this out about one of my entries.

Types Of Challenge

In my time on Vocal there seem to be four types of challenge Fiction, True Story, Playlists and Poem. My writing is mostly articles about existing things, and my poetry and fiction is not good enough for top Stories therefore not good enough for a Challenge, although my Playlists and Articles do get Top Stories and I am a Top Creator in the Beat Community so I am anything but off the radar, with over twenty thousand reads.

Generally there people prefer the Fiction Challenge because effort has to be put into producing those stories which must contain more than six hundred words, and very often go up to five thousand words.

These sorts of entries allow creators to make new worlds and experiences for their readers and mine, and while I write every story as a stand alone piece, people often come back with “What Happens Next?” , so often Challenges set off series by many Creators.

Recycling For Challenges

My own opinion is that Challenges should be new stories only, but I can understand the frustration of having an old Vocal story that would be perfect for a Challenge, but the only time I ever recycled a piece for a challenge I was severely criticised for it. Vocal does allow recycling, but I dare not ever do that again.

Challenges As Prompts

One of my favourite things about Vocal Challenges is the fact that they give you prompts to write and create stories. Even if I don’t enter the challenge the challenges prompt me to create and because of the entries I know that is true for all of us, but I do prefer new stories when they finally appear because I know the creator has worked on that to produce their opus.

I think I prefer the fiction ones myself because it really shows that the creators can start with virtually nothing, just a few words from Vocal, and produce a masterful world and experience for us all to fall into.

Conclusion

I hope that this is not too critical or controversial and would love to hear your thoughts on the Challenges. They are what tempted me to join Vocal and I think that they are a great part of the whole Vocal experience.

I included "Sing Your Own Song" by UB40 because that's what we are all doing in our own way on Vocal.

workflowproduct reviewliteraturehow toadvice
10

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudey

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • Emily Marie Concannonabout a year ago

    Spot on, Mike. I agree. Vocal's challenges are sort of a mixed bag for me. My personal favorite challenge was the mystery box since I felt like that entry was one of my best. But I don't think I followed the prompt closely enough. That's my issue, I take too much liberty lol.

  • This comment has been deleted

  • Misty Raeabout a year ago

    I agree with most of what you say, except for your assertion that if your fiction isn't good enough for top story it's not good enough to win challenges. The two aren't hand in hand, at least in my experience. I've only had 3 top stories ever. Only one has ever won anything in a challenge. However, I've won and placed in several challenges (if we count the Vocal + fiction awards and the Ukraine thing, we're at 8 and counting, I think). So don't loose hope. Also, I happen to enjoy your fiction. 😁

  • KJ Aartilaabout a year ago

    I appreciate and agree with the majority of your thoughts on this - and with Scott Wade's suggestions below - as for me, I'm about 50/50 on what appeals to for the challenges they put out, & lately for me it's been. on the lower end, I think. :)

  • Rick Henry Christopher about a year ago

    Very good article Mike. Yes, the Haiku challenges were crazy. The group went bonkers. I also could not keep up with everybody's Haiku posts. I think maybe I read about a 1/5 of all the haikus that were posted in the group. There were quite a few I did not read. I'm still reading a few here and there. But I really missed a lot of them and I'm sure some of the ones I missed were probably very very good. But there were just way too many to keep up. Although if all those haikus would have been posted in one thread such as the Haiku threads that you started we probably would have been able to get through every single one of those haikus and read them because they would have been in one place, it would have made it much easier to follow up and read more.

  • J. S. Wadeabout a year ago

    Good observations Mike. I agree challenges should be held to a max number of entries. Maybe 2-3. Other ideas - 1. release a long list (top 50) a week prior to the Final announcement. 2. Periodically, have a challenge where Vocal + members vote on the contest winner. People’s Choice Award. One member, one vote.

  • Eugenette Morinabout a year ago

    I find that the challenges are always the same... haikus - 2 challenges in a row. Fiction -- all about dragons or sci-fi. I would love to see something like write a script or a joke or a funny story... so damned tired of sic-fi, dystopia, and fantasy! And I wish they would limit the number of entries possible per person... 50 entries for one challenge is ridiculous and leaves no chance for others. Those are my 2 cents worth

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.