Journal logo

Merry Fitmas?

My return to the game, with these Awesomesauce people..

By Erik DeSean BarrettPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like
The Big Tree in NFK.. 12.11.21

Its been a long day, without you my friend. I wanna tell you all about it, now that we’re together again. FIRST!! May I give a shoutout to Wiz Khalifa? Will he see this? Probably Not!! If he does, will he find what I did to his track, the one dedicated to the tragic loss of the world’s most famous franchise member, even more so, one of the world’s most awesome humans, Paul Walker, very entertaining? Ehh…. Never mind that, I am certainly excited. WHY? Because this past weekend, smack in the middle of the journey to Christmas 2021, I received a truly great early gift.

This might be hard to believe, and I do apologize if it is, but nothing makes me happier, than seeing folks who are doing awesomesauce things to better themselves. I don’t like to spend my time thinking, processing, or just giving an eye to negativity.

Please let me pause to explain.. I hate it. #AndThatstheBottomLine. For some reason, my perspective as it pertains to negativity is constantly met with… OK DUDE, Suck it Up Butter Cup. Now that doesn’t bother me, because people will be people. I just thought I would share, just incase one wonders why I skirt away from the negativity as much as possible.

Back to my point. Saturday December 11, 2021. Two years almost to the Day. Three years removed from the genesis of 👋🏾Lets Walk. Nearly twenty people, met me in downtown NFK, for a day of exercise, and community expression. Let me pause to answer you next question… NO I DID NOT TAKE ATTENDANCE, but counting the folks in the pic, as well those who wish to not be identified #NeverLeaveATrace, rose those numbers to one of the greatest days of exercise I have ever hosted.

So what did I learn from this? I realized 2022, MUST BE the year of Physical redemption. I don’t know what that means yet, but here is what I do know. This city, NFK alone has nearly 300k, many setting their sites on bettering themselves, and why not now? We are looking down the road, seeing the wonderful sunshine that is awaiting outside this tunnel known as Covid-19.

Its also a good time to give a shoutout to a new friend. Madam Kindra, who as of September 2021, leads to effort to make certain HRVA is the healthiest region, this side of these states united. #ProveHerWrong. I look forward to chatting with her, and even drumming up some awesome ideas for both my community, and other communities who call this great place home.

Think about this… In 2008, the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS) issued the Physical Activity Guidelines for Americans to foster appropriate levels of physical activity at various ages of development. The proportion of Black youth reporting regular physical activity ranged from 33% to 52%; and of Black adults, 27% to 52%.

Carl J. Lavie, MD, is co-director of cardiac rehabilitation and preventive cardiology at the Ochsner Clinic Foundation in New Orleans. Lavie and colleagues collected data on more than 5,000 men and women aged 52-74 who underwent treadmill heart stress tests at the Ochsner Clinic.

The major findings:

On average, African-American men in the study were three years younger than the white men, yet African-American men's fitness capacity was 7% lower than that of white men. The difference is considered significant.

On average, African-American women in the study were four years younger than the white women. Yet African-American women's fitness capacity was 3% lower than that of white women. This difference is not considered significant.

  1. African-American men were more likely to be obese than white men: 44% vs. 33%.
  2. African-American women were more likely to be obese than white women: 37% vs. 27%.
  3. African-American women were also more likely than white women to be severely obese: 19% vs. 11%.

All this said, I feel its one of my mission statements, to do everything I can to promote the advancing of personal health. Think about what our lives would look like, if we were down more pounds, instead of downing more pills? Anyways that is just a few things on my mind, and I’m thankful you let me share..

Until Next

LATTERZ - ❤️EDB

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Erik DeSean Barrett

Blogger👨🏾‍💻 Vlogger🎥 Podcaster🎙Life Enthusiasts!!! On mission to prove one can do what they believe despite what anyone says.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.