Journal logo

Meanies Among Us

Take The Bullying Elsewhere

By Misty RaePublished 2 years ago 5 min read
6
Meanies Among Us
Photo by Clem Onojeghuo on Unsplash

I get times are tough. Gas is ridiculous. Food is following suit. Where I live, corn on the cob has been advertised as on sale for 99 cents a cob!

If that's a sale, I'd hate to see the regular price!

That’s almost $12 a dozen. That's nuts! I’ve never paid over $3 and I won't.

So yeah, times are hard, but there’s a recent trend that troubles me. Writers are demanding reads and proof of comment and even more, they’re demanding tips.

It’s mostly on Vocal right now. But yeah, it’s nasty.

Friends of mine as well as yours truly, have gotten messages from purported authors demanding reads and comments on Facebook. Others have been directed to provide tips, some rather aggressively.

That’s not how this works.

Facebook writing groups work on the principle of reciprocity. Someone posts a story. People read it, they give feedback and then others post their stories and people do the same. It’s been that way since I joined Vocal in February of 2021 and Medium a few months later.

It’s, as Sheldon Cooper would say, a social convention.

But now it’s not. Apparently.

I get inflation. I get unfavourable algorithms. I get needing to pay your bills. I’m in the same boat.

But when did supporting fellow writers become bullying? When did it become okay to send private messages demanding reads and proof thereof?

When did it become okay to demand tips when another writer posts a story on Facebook in the same vein as the original poster?

Yeah, that happened. I read a story for the Vocal Fantasy Challenge that was posted on Facebook in one of the groups. I entered a story even though I’m not much of a fiction writer. So, I commented on his story and posted mine. The author actually asked me if I left a tip!

Is this what we’re doing now? Is this what we’ve become? Here’s more:

Really? You “direct me”? You direct me to leave a tip for the what, the privilege of you reading my story?

Okay, but you know, bye Felicia! I’ve won 3 challenges on Vocal and counting because best believe, there will be more, I can fu*king write! I was a Fiction Award finalist and I was one of the top 50 in the Ukraine Challenge.

I don’t like to say it, but for the year and I bit I’ve been there, I’ve become a bit of a Vocal freakin' legend!

So to all writing bullies, and this one, in particular, I have to ask who are you to charge me $5 to read my story? You can write son, you’re obviously intelligent and you can write. But you aren’t the literal shit.

I am. I’m sorta one of the Grand Dames of Vocal Challenges and I DO NOT pay for the privilege of posting or being read (okay, sorry, I'm being a bit hyperbolic here, you got me all riled up).

What you need to do, is humble yourself before me and before all of the other great readers and writers on the platform that do you the courtesy of reading your work.

You’re talented. I can’t deny that. You do good work. Not great. But good. There’s potential there for a great writer to emerge. But you’re letting the hustle get in the way.

I get where you’re at. You gotta eat too. Maybe you have kids to feed. It’s rough out there, but you know the old saying about flies and honey?

Yeah. You’re being a jerk. No one is going to read a word you write when you “direct,” or bully people into tipping. Tipping is a voluntary payment for exceptional work. I haven’t seen it from you yet. When I do, I’ll be the first to throw you a 20. But my standards are high, really high, so ya know.

Or, if you're really having a hard time, there's no shame in saying that straight out. I've seen people post in some of the Facebook groups something to the effect of, "emergency, bad thing happened, would appreciate tips to get me through." You'd be surprised how supportive the writing community can be.

My advice to you is to become more of a team player. You don’t have to badger people into tips. In fact, I’d say don’t.

I don’t like the nasty turn writing groups are taking on social media. I won’t deal with that garbage. I’ve proved my worth. I’ve won my challenges and I will win more. I’m in the top 1% of Medium earners. It’s not ka-ching, buy me a huge house money yet, but it pays my rent and buys me wine.

And it’s also where I learn and grow from other writers every single day. If I didn’t read the work of others, I’d have nothing to say. You know the saying “no man is an island?” Think about it.

You want to bully people 5 bucks at a time, you won’t last long. You’ll be a flash in the pan with so many others who got too big for their teeny tiny pants.

Or, maybe, just maybe, you could put your big person pants on and stop fearing other writers. Because that's what bullying is, right? Fear disguised as aggression.

Post, read, comment, and learn. Humble yourself. We’re all out here trying to earn a coin, but you ain’t all that. You haven’t earned the right to demand payment. None of us has. You love the work, I’ll take your contribution. If not, fine.

Humility, get some.

_________________________

Originally posted on Medium.com

advice
6

About the Creator

Misty Rae

Retired legal eagle, nature love, wife, mother of boys and cats, chef, and trying to learn to play the guitar. I play with paint and words. Living my "middle years" like a teenager and loving every second of it!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Sissi Smith2 years ago

    I... cannot believe this is something that even needs to be addressed. It would have to take some serious audacity to demand financial support. I cannot imagine doing that even on platforms where I am established and somewhat of a Grand Dame of my other craft. Thanks for writing this and giving a newbie a fair warning to look out for!

  • Lol. Pleasure to meet you, Grand Dame of the Vocal Challenge. I read those screenshots with puzzlement. In so many ways, I think of writing as a soft space to land. To force others to read my work, almost destroys the reward of having the work read.

  • Call Me Les2 years ago

    I remember seeing this play out (the part you screen-shoted). VSS and GI will always have a zero tolerance policy for badgering. It boggles my mind though that we even need that policy....like massive facepalm moment. I'm glad you put the word out and even more glad Vocal picked this up!

  • Mariann Carroll2 years ago

    This is why , I am a fan. You Rock. I would love to post this on that guy wall for sure. The Vocal Legend has spoken. His story was good but not good enough to get away with that kind of behavior. Thanks for this post , Love it! Can’t wait to read your future stories.

  • Words are not enough to describe how much I love this! You should not have censured his name though 🤣

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.