Journal logo

Little Miss Scattered

Flamin' galahs, she's a bit scattered today. Here's why

By Monique KostelacPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Little Miss Scattered
Photo by Inera Isovic on Unsplash

“Geez, she’s a scattered one today, hey?” my spirit guides must be saying as they’ve watched me with an arched brow all morning.

They wouldn’t be wrong. I have been scattered today. It’s almost like the more I decide to do one thing at a time and focus on time-batching, the more things I seem to find to do.

And I know exactly what has caused it. It’s not what you think- but it might just be something you can relate to.

In recent weeks, I’ve received a whole lot more clarity on what I want to do. Instead of umm-ing and aah-ing about whether I should pursue it or not, letting the doubts pile up and talking myself out of it, I recognised that these were just doubts and nothing to worry about and declared that I would go for it.

Whilst it was exciting at first, I noticed as the days went on the doubts still piled up. They became louder to the point where not only was I thinking about them, but I also started feeling them.

At first, I judged these feelings. I had the urge to see them as a sign that things weren’t working out for me.

That they weren’t meant to work out for me.

But that wasn’t the case.

Those thoughts and feelings had nothing to do with whether things would work out for me.

Instead, it was a way of releasing old ways that no longer aligned with me.

Have you ever noticed that when you’ve decided to go after something, all the chaos and doubt come to mind?

How do you usually react?

Do you let them flow and release them?

Or do you give them meaning?

Do you lower your goals?

Do you think “mmmm, maybe not”?

How does the way you react influence the way you show up?

This time around, it influenced me by making me feel like I wasn’t doing enough and as a result, I ended up doing this, that and everything else.

Being able to recognise this pattern has not only helped me become more compassionate towards myself, but it has also helped me become aware of what thoughts are my own and what can be considered to be years and years of conditioning.

Here’s what to do when you’ve set a new goal and you feel like there’s been nothing but chaos and bleh ever since:

-Breathe: take a moment to ground yourself through taking deep breaths. We often get tensed up and hold our breath when we start to worry. Breathing allows us to release the tension AND the thoughts that aren’t aligned with us.

-Journal: explore the thoughts you’re thinking. Get them all down on paper to clear your mind. Shift your energy to what you want through scripting. Sometimes we can get so caught up in the negative thoughts that we forget what we want. Use the energy towards creating rather than worrying.

-Move your body: get out of your head and into your body. Not only does movement release tension, but it also improves your mood.

I know we live in a world where we’re taught to freak out when things aren’t all fine & dandy, but what would happen if you trained your mind to just let it be?

How would your life change?

Here are some journal prompts to write on when you're feeling all over the place:

-What is this trying to teach me?

-When did this first start happening? What caused it? Is there a pattern of that happening?

-What feelings come up? Where do I feel this in my body? How can I release it?

advice
Like

About the Creator

Monique Kostelac

Storyteller. Creativity Coach. Law grad (Bachelor of Laws/Bachelor of Intl Studies).

High chance I'm writing about Croatia & south-Eastern European history.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.