Journal logo

Learnings From 30 Days of Unemployment

Being out of work for 30 days was a great learning experience for me. It gave me the opportunity to take some time off, think about my future and come up with a plan for how I want to move forward.

By Courtanae HeslopPublished about a year ago 4 min read
1

Being out of work for 30 days was a great learning experience for me. It gave me the opportunity to take some time off, think about my future and come up with a plan for how I want to move forward.

I've come out of these 30 days looking at a long list of learnings.

  • I learned a lot about myself. I learned that I am not as productive as I think I am, and that there are so many things that I need to improve on in my life and work day-to-day.
  • I learned about how to be more productive in my daily tasks and responsibilities by managing time better, making better use of my time and setting goals for each day/week/month etc…
  • Learned about how to be more efficient in completing tasks, learning the most efficient ways of getting things done so i can get them done faster or even eliminate unnecessary steps altogether…
  • Learned that if you want something done right then do it yourself! No matter how hard someone might try there is no substitute for experience when it comes down to certain skills/tasks (i'm talking business here).

You can't do it all and that's okay

You can't do it all, but that's okay. You will never be able to do it all. If you try, you will burn out and feel like a failure. That is not what I want for you! The trick is to prioritize the things that are most important to you (say, spending time with your family) and then say no when someone asks for something else (like helping with their project). When everyone else is saying yes to everything, I am saying no so that I can have time for what's important to me. And just because others don't prioritize their lives like this doesn't mean they are doing anything wrong; it just means they value different things than me.

As a recovering perfectionist who has always tried her hardest but still felt like she didn't measure up in some way or another, this was an especially hard lesson for me at first - but one that has made big changes in my life since then by allowing me time with my kids without guilt or resentment because someone else needs help somewhere else right now

Prioritize, Prioritize, Prioritize

If you're facing unemployment, the obvious answer is to focus on finding employment. But I think that if we can be honest with ourselves, we know that there are only so many hours in a day and we have other things that need to be done as well.

The rule of thumb is: Prioritize, Prioritize, Prioritize!

  • Focus on the most important things first (things that will make the biggest difference)
  • Focus on tasks that move you closer to your goals
  • Focus on tasks that will help avoid problems (or at least minimize them).

Don't let others hold you back from your dreams

You should never be afraid to take risks, especially if it means pursuing your dreams. Don't let others tell you what can and cannot happen.

Don't let them hold you back from your goals or dreams. Don't let anyone else control your life.

Know when to ask for help

There will inevitably be times when you need help. You can't do it all by yourself, which is why you should always ask for help from people who are more experienced than you.

Those who have already been there know how to handle a situation of unemployment better than someone who has never experienced it before. If they don't have any advice, then they can at least give referrals to resources that will help guide you through this difficult time in your life.

Have a solid plan and execute it.

The most important lesson I learned is that having a solid plan and executing it is vitally important. The plan can be as simple as a list of things you want to do each day, or it could be relatively complex with specific milestones and deadlines. Whatever your plan looks like, ensure that you're committed to it and have the ability to execute it.

I also learned how important this step is because if things don't go according to plan, or there are other issues getting in your way, having a back-up plan will help keep you from feeling overwhelmed by unexpected circumstances.

Spending time as an unemployed entrepreneur was a great learning experience.

Spending time as an unemployed entrepreneur was a great learning experience. It taught me how to manage my time, how to be productive and most importantly, it taught me that no matter what happens in life, you can always find a way out of any situation if you are determined enough to do so.

I learned the importance of being able to take on new challenges when I had no one else around me who could help out with my business ideas or projects. This gave me the opportunity to try out things that I normally wouldn't have even considered doing before because I didn't think they would work out well enough for me at the end of it all - but they did!

It also taught me how important it is not only taking responsibility for your own actions but also learning from others; regardless if these people/others were experienced entrepreneurs or just people working their way up through normal jobs in their chosen field(s).

Conclusion

Ultimately, I learned a lot about myself and my business during this period of unemployment. It was a great opportunity to reflect on what is important to me and how I can achieve my goals. In addition, it forced me to get creative with my time management skills which will be useful in any entrepreneur's journey.

PS: Hi! I am a freelance writer with a passion for writing. I am open to most genres, but my primary expertise is in content and blog writing. If you would like to discuss any upcoming projects please feel free to contact me by email at [email protected]

advice
1

About the Creator

Courtanae Heslop

Courtanae Heslop is a multi-genre writer and business owner.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.