Journal logo

Laid Off, What's Next?

Typical 20s

By ChantelPublished 7 months ago 4 min read
1
Laid Off, What's Next?
Photo by Les Anderson on Unsplash

September 13, 2023

I was laid off from working as a remote recruiter for an agency for the past 2 years of my life.

And now- I am in the in-between. The unknowing stage of what is to come.

No one in my family has ever started a business of their own. Will I be the first? I've worked for myself and negotiated prices for myself.

I would like to live and work abroad. Meet my future husband, fall in love, and build a new life. And I think that's what this time is for.

I think after this last bit - I will be done traveling long term for a while.

Hopping from place to place is very fun and I really enjoy meeting all the different characters along the way. I will be forever thankful for my time as a Digital Nomad and for my time at 24Seven to build up my wealth and having the flexibility to see old friends in the new stages of their life.

But now I truly feel it's time for me to focus on creating my own. I had been busy visiting and catching up with all of them - but where is the life I want for myself?

I could see myself settling down in Australia for a year. And having a fun time building new friendships, relationships, and a new life in one settled spot.

I see myself actually being genuinely excited for a change of pace, rather than in the rut I've been in back home. I love San Francisco. But I am ready to move on from there.

I love my country and what it has offered and provided for me to get to this spot. I love that my family sacrificed so I could even have choices like this.

I love that at the end of the day I know life is made of choices and I can make this one.

I wish to see 25 year old Dom living in a new country, with a new job she is at least excited to try, and to continue saving for the family one day I know she wants. You will make it. You will be okay.

I hope you find a husband who enjoys adventure as much as you- not necessarily needing to leave the country as often as you had, but at least someone who want to go away during the weekends and enjoys nights in with you. Would be so nice if they could be a chef tho!

I would love for my kids to grow up in a safer neighborhood than San Francisco. I would love to experience a new world than I grew up in with them.

As much as I enjoy spending time with Troy, I know I want to be in a different home than San Francisco. And I would truly love to be away from the USA for a bit or maybe for a lifetime. Who knows.

I want to do this and hope that when I have kids- they follow their own paths in whatever form they desire. And if they desire to move back to the USA, I'm okay with that too. When the tables turn and it will be my own kids, that will be difficult. But I know that is life.

So Dom, what is next for you?

I am done with situationships. I don't want to go into bed with anyone I'm not seeing go long term, I feel too old for that. I want something that lasts. Someone I feel safe with, can trust, and know we want to build on.

I have guilt that I am wasting my time. I have that from my family continuously telling me that. And for friends who are getting married, all of them are in relationships, etc.

But I also just would love to stay in the moment and just be? Planning and traveling at the same time is honestly difficult. I wish I just decided to stay in this airbnb for the rest of my time. I know I'll be okay, I just need to do new small action items each day to ensure it.

career
1

About the Creator

Chantel

I range from social justice issues to sexuality articles, all depends on my mood.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Alex H Mittelman 7 months ago

    I hope you find something great! Great article! Fantastic! ❤️💙💜♥️🩷🩶🧡🤎🩵💚

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.