Journal logo

Kiss Up or Kick Down

How I fought against an abusive working environment

By John BowenPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
1
Workplace Bullying will NOT be tolerated

Dear Emma Braxworth,

It seems that there has been a concerted campaign by the Student Services Coordinator to undermine my tenure as an Equality Officer at my local community college.

I was elected to this position in September of 2021 by the students of the college to represent them in order that their collective voice is heard by college staff and administration. My term ends in June 2023.

Firstly, there is a malicious rumor circulating in the Personal Development Department, the department in which the Student Services Coordinator works, that I am overplaying my role as an Equality Officer. This was initiated by the coordinator and reinforced by her subordinate staff.

Secondly, I was recently involved in the filming of a student documentary at the College. During the filming we were approached by the Student Services Coordinator who, in a very inquisitive and undermining tone, asked the team what was so special about me that they would consider including me in this film project called "Notice Me."

Afterwards, I felt I was obligated to turn over a copy of the transcript to the coordinator but felt violated as I believe I disclosed too much about my personal struggles and gave her an excuse to treat me as someone with a disability.

My suspicions were confirmed last Friday during an outside college trip when she started to demean me by treating me like a minor.

Generally, it was a very unpleasant experience to be under her supervision during the trip. So at the end of the trip when the bus doors opened I wanted to get off the bus as I was exhausted from the event (I was giving feedback to college governors regarding my experience as both a Student and Equality Student Officer).

The Student Services Coordinator (Team Leader) violently grabbed me, pulled me from the back and stopped me from getting off the bus. She shouted at me “wait” and then forced me to go back to my seat in front of all the students in what appeared to be a display of authority.

I felt totally humiliated and disrespected.

I sat frozen in my seat and was unable to react as I was trying to process what had just happened. When she finished talking about student elections I was about to leave the bus. She whispered into my ear that she needed me to hear about the elections just in case I was not aware of them. I don’t know what that was supposed to mean as she was fully aware about my passion regarding Student Elections.

This inappropriate and unnecessary use of physical force was exercised against me by the Former Student Services Team Leader at the Student Union who today is the new head of Personal Development at Student Services).

I would like to raise a safeguarding notification of concern.

I would also like to notify Human Resources (in my capacity as a staff member) that a fellow colleague has used inappropriate physical force against me.

Finally, I would also like to request further investigation of the malicious rumor that states that I am overplaying my role. This was a comment that was made by both the Former Student Services Team Leader, who is now the new Head of Human Resources, and the Advocacy Worker.

To conclude, I would like to see a policy instituted that would protect Student Officers and ensure that they are treated with dignity and respect. In no way should I or any other employee be subjected to either verbal or physical abuse by other staff.

Sincerely,

Joseph Kindweiller

career
1

About the Creator

John Bowen

I am a NYC based Musician and Writer originally from Atlantic City

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.