Journal logo

Just Another Scam

Attempted Scams Come In Many Forms Here Is One More

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
5
Another Scam

James Veitch Shows How It's Done

How To Approach Being Scammed

The other day I got hit by a new scam, well I didn’t get scammed because I cottoned on to what was happening. I go with the James Veitch and Joe Lycett philosophy that if you know what you are doing with these things. String the scammer along for as long as is practical for you because that way you are protecting people who may actually be vulnerable to these sorts of scams.

This is the last piece I did when someone attempted to scam me out of $200.

I am including the pictures of the conversation I had with the scammer so I gave them a little information but not enough to do anything with. But this is how it went between me and the scammer.

How The Scam Went

The First Message

I got a text saying from my “child” telling me her phone had water damage so could I use this temporary number that she had texted me from. Now my daughters are both tech-savvy and have backup devices and would be unlikely to send me this sort of text.

So I was a bit suspicious, so I asked if it was Jules or Kirsty, and the scammer replied with Kirsty. There was then a little conversation before the scammer told me they were locked out of online banking for 48 hours because of the phone number change.

I thought now would be a good time to call, but there was no answer, I was wondering who would be on the other end of the phone, but obviously, the scammer couldn’t answer.

The conversation continued pleasantly I said I was out walking and then the scammer tried the next phase. They asked if I could pay a bill for them that needed paying today but they needed some details from me, but were ok with my bank name. I know my bank has decent security, though I could have given any bank name,

I then contacted my daughter via another app and she said that it wasn’t her and should report it to Ofcom.

It’s always good to have multiple options to contact friends so that you can deal with situations like this.

I awaited the next phase.

It came, an invoice for £1,384 direct into an account which I assume was the scammers.

I then finally replied that I knew it was a scam and would be reported. When I block text messages as spam they are automatically sent to the Ofcom Spam service which in the UK is 7726.

The final message

I didn’t receive any further messages or requests although, no doubt there will be more coming in the future.

Conclusion

I was not affected by this, it just took some of my time, but many people will fall for this. I know that because they believe that all salesmen have their best interests at heart when a salesman is only interested in lining their own pockets. The number of times my dad has come back from a mobile phone shop with a top of the range phone because “they said it was the best on the market and it was the best one for me”

So if you feel you can take on the scammers for a bit, know that yo will be helping to protect some of the more vulnerable members of the online community. You can be a sort of guardian angel.

Here is the website for Ofcom if you need to report any potential text scams.

how to
5

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.1m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ Thrds

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsMariannDharCathyJudey

DawnMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Sarah Loydabout a year ago

    What a story! I was recently a victim of a scam. I couldn't get my money back. Why are people so awful?

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.