Journal logo

Juneteenth on Vocal

Announcing Vocal Creators Chronicle's issue centering on Juneteenth

By Clyde E. DawkinsPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
6

Hello. My name is Clyde E. Dawkins, and I'm a columnist for the Vocal Social Society. I've been a writer on Vocal since April of 2021, and I've taken pride in being part of a wonderful site with amazing stories, as well as contributing to them and conversing and collaborating with many fellow writers. The latest collaboration involves the Vocal Creators Chronicle's upcoming issue on the holiday known as Juneteenth, with the issue being similar to VCC's special surrounding Black History Month this past February. For a look back at that issue, check it out below:

Now as proud as I am of being part of Vocal and this issue, there's something I am not proud of: I didn't know anything about Juneteenth until two years ago. As a Black person, I feel that I should know and learn about a lot of important facts regarding Black history, but it wasn't until 2020 that I really knew about Juneteenth. The holiday commemorates the official freedom and emancipation of slaves, with the announcement taking place on June 19, 1865. The day was originated in Galveston, Texas, and has been celebrated every June 19 in various parts of the country for over a century. However, it wasn't until 2020--to be precise, about a week or two after George Floyd--that Juneteenth became known not only to me, but to all Americans across the nation. It was on June 17, 2021 that Juneteenth officially became a federal holiday, beginning with the first celebration two days later.

While Juneteenth does celebrate the official end of slavery, it also serves as a celebration of Black culture, as well as the celebration of Black history and progress in the Black community. I myself am joyous over the fact that a day as important as Juneteenth is finally being recognized nationally, and given the proper and perennial pomp and circumstance that had been long overdue for so long.

The announcement of this issue was first made on the Vocal Social Society's Facebook page by the always amazing Call Me Les, and similar to the Black History month issue, this issue will contain all different types of stories: blogs, commentary, fiction, poems, you name it. Any and all entries can be submitted on a thread from the VSS page, and in addition, this is for any and all writers, whether you've been on Vocal for years, or you are just starting.

I am elated for the chance to collaborate on such an important issue. I have my own ideas percolating, but I am also looking forward to seeing other stories from so many talented writers! I want to thank Les for giving me this opportunity; much, much appreciation! I also want to thank Vocal overall for opening the door for stories that show awareness of the immense amount of racial issues that have plagued society. This includes (but isn't limited to) calling out unfair racial biases in many forums, calling out the double standards, and detailing ways that we can improve as human beings.

And also, I want to thank everyone who takes the time to read my own stories! As the saying goes, "every little bit helps," and every read I get warms my heart immensely!

Once again, for stories for the Juneteenth issue of the Vocal Creators Chronicle, click this link to the thread on Vocal Social Society's Facebook page. This special issue is set to be published on Sunday, June 19, the official Juneteenth day!

Thanks for reading, and here's to another amazing issue of the Vocal Creators Chronicle! Happy writing and happy reading to all!

feature
6

About the Creator

Clyde E. Dawkins

I am an avid fan of sports and wrestling, and I've been a fan of female villains since the age of eight. Also into film and TV, especially Simpsons and Family Guy.

Feel free to follow my social media:

Twitter - Facebook - Tiktok - Instagram

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  5. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Call Me Les2 years ago

    So pleased to be partnering with you on this! And thank you for the kind words <3

  • I loved this article. I have known about Juneteenth for the longest time. I went with family friends to a Juneteenth celebration here in Denver and had a blast. Since I will be moving back home this week, I will have to find where they are holding their Juneteenth celebration. Enjoy the holiday.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.