Journal logo

Journalism award replaces ones stolen during homelessness

I always have let my work define me. Why this award from NewsBreak means so much after all I've been through

By David HeitzPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
2

I recently received the “Local Champion” award from NewsBreak, the local news aggregator I write for every day. It means a lot to me.

Someone stole my journalism awards when I became homeless in 2019. I lugged the awards around in one of two shopping bags I carried for a few weeks.

One day I had gone to Union Station to use the restroom. I asked a homeless woman outside if she would watch my shopping cart bag full of journalism awards as I used the restroom. She said she would be happy to do so.

When I returned, the woman, and my journalism awards, were gone. A bottle of cologne that also was in the bag littered the light rail tracks.

My journalism awards and memorabilia adorned my office walls before I became homeless.

I lost everything when I became homeless, and at one point I owned a home and lots of “stuff.” But I don’t think anything hurt worse than losing the journalism awards.

A silver lining: I had taken a picture of all the awards hanging on the wall of the office in my old house. Since I had posted the photo online, it lives on. I lost every other picture I ever owned when I abandoned my apartment in Glendale after becoming fearful.

Some of my journalism awards and memorabilia.

I am hardcore about journalism

Much of my identity is wrapped around what I do for a living. I take reporting the truth very seriously and even have put myself in danger to do it. Do I live for what I do? Kind of. When I’m not working, I suffer from boredom and depression. I don’t feel engaged with the community. I don’t have purpose, which is so important to me.

My journalism awards represented work I considered meaningful. Ironically, one of my journalism awards was for a piece I wrote in 2005, I believe, on homeless panhandlers. The Iowa Newspaper Association awarded me first place in the news category.

Certainly, I never thought then I could become homeless. Well, I always knew it might be possible. Suffering from bipolar disorder that can be severe, there were times in my life I was unable to work. During those times, my father supported me. When he died, it was inevitable that I could become homeless.

And I did. And when I lost those journalism awards it was like someone drove a stake through my pride. But I managed to rise above those feelings. The impact I make with my stories isn’t lessened because someone stole my awards.

An award for a piece about panhandling

Some of the awards had sentimental value. I won an Award of Excellence from the Greater Los Angeles Press Club for a story I wrote for the Glendale News-Press about my mother’s final days. She died of breast cancer in 1995.

I also had some ribbons. The Orange County Fair for years, and I don’t know if it still does, had a news writing contest. You could enter stories in several categories. In addition to the ribbons the winners received cash. I cleaned up one year, winning two seconds and two thirds. I think I won $150. That, too, was back in the 1990s. I won the ribbons for pieces written for The Anaheim Bulletin.

My first award came in 1989. My hometown newspaper, the Quad-City Times, called me an “Outstanding Journalist” as a high school student. I worked for the paper from age 17 until I graduated from college.

Award represents recovery

I am grateful to have a new journalism award to remind me my work matters. The Local Champion award is especially meaningful to me. I moved from my hometown to Denver under great duress, and when I arrived a lot of bad things happened. The award stands for how I’ve been able to make a home in Denver and contribute to the community despite the lows I experienced.

It’s a cool-looking award, too. It’s the iconic red NewsBreak “N” logo in glass. Impressive.

During homelessness, journalism continued to be the reason I got up every day. I wrote a blog about homelessness every single day. I would send it to the Denver police and City Council.

At the time I suffered from severe mental illness. I am embarrassed about how I acted at times. But I cannot change that. I can only handle how I conduct myself now.

I am glad I have been doing so in a way that leads to awards. I feel like my psychiatrist should get an award for all she’s done for me.

In the meantime, I am so grateful to NewsBreak. I don’t plan to let this trophy get stolen.

career
2

About the Creator

David Heitz

I am a journalist with more than 30 years' experience. Here at Vocal, I write mainly for Potent, Vocal's cannabis magazine. I have a PTSD diagnosis and a medical cannabis card. I have lived in a penthouse and also experienced homelessness.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.