Journal logo

Job #26

Don’t Commit to the Job, Commit to Yourself

By High SocietyPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like

“If you aren’t moving up, move on.”

I’ve learned to trust my gut. At a young age I knew I didn’t want to live an average life but based on statistics, I could’ve ended up in a very different situation. I didn’t have the type of parents that provided me with any guidance and I learned a lot of things from experience. I didn’t have the type of family that encouraged me to go to college or really do anything with my life. In fact, the lack of motivation was all the motivation I needed.

I always wanted more out of life and at 16, I had my first job. By age 25, I had held at least 26 job titles. A lot of people who know me think I’m crazy BUT the fact that I’ve worked in so many jobs has made me realize that it’s never the work that makes a good employee leave, it’s always the people. If there is clear evidence of poor leadership, greedy bosses, and/or inequality, it’s obvious to someone like me. Although job #26 paid more than the previous jobs, I was the only minority and the youngest within the company. I was always being taken advantage of and always told what it “wasn’t my role” to do. After years of being there, I walked away and I decided that I would not work for anyone again.

This was probably one of the hardest decisions I’ve had to make, mainly because I genuinely loved what I did. I loved it so much that I overlooked everything else but because I allowed these things, they continued. I did not receive a raise or bonus for years when I worked unsupervised while continuing to outperform my colleagues and bring in money for the business. I was pretty good at what I did and I felt that I had outgrown my position but my boss refused to allow me to work in any other areas. Instead, he insisted that I work on some entry level tasks to help other people if I felt my work was “too easy”.

What did I do wrong? I’ve come from nothing and made a life for myself but this job is just that and it’s not a job I see myself doing for the next 5 years. Frankly, I would always want to be in a role where there was room for advancement, or at least that’s what I wanted.

I declined to take the easy work and wear myself out for a job that obviously didn’t care about my personal growth. I was depressed and I hated going to work. I didn’t have time to make friends in the city because I worked so much and I hated coming home and being alone. I told myself that I needed to pull myself out of it and I started going outside and doing different things.

One day I was at the park reading a book about wealth management (not that I had any wealth to manage) and I started to think about how much I love to read. There were books out there about anything a person could want to know and I started looking at things I wanted to learn about. Spirituality, copyright & trademark laws, and entrepreneurship. I started buying books every week and reading every morning and night. I came up with a plan on how to make money on the side and it was successful, to say the least.

Once I started generating my own source of income consistently, I began to think about my future and how successful I could be if I put the same energy I was willing to put into someone else’s goals into my own. I was mind blown by the thought of making unlimited income on my own terms and being able to enjoy my life.

I believe that the idea of being stuck and not being able to accomplish goals or being limited in what goals I could accomplish stressed me out more than anything. Why would I limit my potential to work for a company that would easily replace me if something were to happen to me? In the end, I realized I wasn’t going to move up and I made the decision to move on.

When I focused on the job more than myself, the goal was to get a promotion.

Now, the goal is to be semi-retired by 30.

career
Like

About the Creator

High Society

Welcome to my safe space. These are my Confessions and Life Lessons 🤞🏽

Writing is therapeutic, Reading is fundamental

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.