Journal logo

Jesus, How Far Can I Go?

Short Story #1 on my podcast

By Effie FieldsPublished about a year ago 3 min read
1
Effie's Story Time Podcast Cover

Today, I chose what I want to do with my life. It took 25 years with many previous trials and errors to be confident in this decision. I needed to realize who I am and what makes me unique. I journaled who God created me to be and really dove deep into what brings me the most fulfillment in my everyday life.

Three days ago, I realized my potential in my quirky sense of humor and deep insightfulness. I tapped into that and really let it shine in a brighter light than before. I knew it was there, but I didn’t think much about it or do much with it. I learned how natural it comes to me, and I know this is because God gave me these beautiful personality traits before I was born. It’s my God-given identity.

I’ve always been a writer and have enjoyed doing that since I was five years old. I want to use my writing abilities in some way, as well. So, I asked God how I should use all of my unique traits of who he created me to be to identify which career path is right for me.

Another talent of mine that I’ve been really enjoying is creating funny improv skits. God helped me understand how I am going to use this, as well, in my career choice.

Here’s a summary of what I decided to do with my life. Jesus helped me choose the career path of reading aloud short stories I wrote on my Podcast Show and creating funny improv skits of my stories for my YouTube channel.

But my question for Jesus is, how far can I go?

But then I remember that God only reveals a little bit of his plan to me at a time. He tells me only a little, so I can learn to be faithful and to trust him. The more I walk in obedience, Jesus will reveal more and more of his plan for my life. In the past, I struggled to begin life goals, as I wanted to know everything before I even started. But if I knew every detail about the future, I wouldn’t need faith, and honestly, I probably would be too overwhelmed by everything about to happen that I wouldn’t want to start.

So, although I want to know where this will take me, I want Jesus to reveal it to me more and more over my lifetime. I like the idea of being surprised. I need to be obedient today, and Jesus will make the way. I will not overthink another career decision and allow the devil to come in and steal my calling from God. I’m going to obey the Lord. TODAY.

This story is also found on my podcast if you are interested in listening to it being read aloud by me. I have new stories available on Tuesdays!

I write insightful short stories that I read aloud on Effie's Story Time Podcast and perform an improv skit of the story on my YouTube channel, Effie's Story Time. This short story, read on my first podcast episode, is about stepping out in faith to begin my career, even though the future is unknown.

If you are interested, I'd love for you to become a follower of Effie's Story Time Podcast and a subscriber to my YouTube channel, Effie's Story Time. Maybe you want to watch a video of my excitement about starting the podcast, then Effie's Story Time YouTube channel is where you want to go right now. I hope you enjoyed the story!

Goodbye for now! Effie F.

social media
1

About the Creator

Effie Fields

Hello everyone! :) I'm Effie Fields - a Podcaster, improv actor, and short story writer. I write insightful short stories about things Jesus has taught me in life.

Podcast: Effie's Story Time Podcast | YouTube channel: Effie's Story Time

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.