Journal logo

Invisible String

Harley Pennington

By Harley PenningtonPublished 12 months ago 4 min read
Like
Invisible String
Photo by Kelly Sikkema on Unsplash

isn’t it just so pretty to think/ all along there was some/invisible string/tying you to me” - Taylor Swift

After the news of Taylor Swift and Joe Alwyn ending their 6 year relationship, I decided to relisten to all of her songs that were made about him. And this one stuck out to me.

My boyfriend and I have been together for 6 months now, and there has been times in our lives where our paths could have crossed. But we didnt meet until 8 months ago. And on top of that we met on a dating app of all places.

Throughout these last 8 months with him, we have talked about everything. And there has been some things that have lined up with person, places we have been- or just been.

And at first I was thinking about how it‘s just a big coincidence, but the likely hood of every-time we could have met or things that just lined up perfectly about our lives is out there.

It makes me think that there was an invisible string that was always tied to each other. The point of me writing this is to share the times that we could have met but didn't until we swiped right on a dating app.

By Debby Hudson on Unsplash

The first time we could have met was when I was a Junior in high-school and he was a Sophomore in college. At the time I was living in Dallas Tx, and he was going to a college that was about 5 hours away from there. I was in a program in high-school called AVID, the main goal of this program was to get us ready for college. We went to quite a lot of college tours, and in the Spring semester we were going to tour the college my now boyfriend attended. At first I didnt sign up to go, for many reasons. One, it was 5 hours away and I didnt want to be on a bus that long. Two, I wasnt planning to move that far away for college. Three, I already had plans that weekend to hang out with friends.

About a week before the tour, my teacher asked me if I wanted to go and I gave her the reasons listed above. Even with that, she and a few of my friends convinced me to go. On this trip I didnt run into my boyfriend, and I dont remember seeing him when we were touring his college. But recently when we were talking about how I toured the campus, he asked if I recalled what buildings I went into. And I told him the ones I remember touring and it turns out the resident hall we toured was the one he lived in and one of the Science buildings we toured was the one he spent his entire Spring semester in. The fact that we could have been in the same place at the same time was actually really cool to think about now.

By Fadi Xd on Unsplash

The second time we could have crossed paths is when I moved to Arlington for college. First off, I didnt plan to go to the current university im attending now. I planned to attend a school in Denton, but very last minute I decided to transfer everything to the School in Arlington.

( My boyfriend moved back to Arlington after he graduated college, and he was raised in Arlington )

After coming to school in Arlington, I started to work at a protein shake place. And majority of my co workers rock climbed. So I joined them a few times at a climbing gym that my boyfriend had been attending since he came back to Arlington.

By Tyler Nix on Unsplash

The third time we could have crossed paths was when I went to a Halloween Festival that was hosted at a park right by his house and he always ran at that park. At this Halloween Festival, I didnt know it was going on until the day of. And when I found out about the festival, I told my friends we should go and we drove the 25 minutes there. And my boyfriend told me he went to the same festival. (We met on the dating app 2 weeks after this )

The fourth time we could have met sooner than we did was at this brunch place. My group of friends at church and I always went to this brunch pkace after Sunday service ( this brunch place was my boyfriends and I’s first date). During the date he told me that the restaurant is his favorite place to get brunch and he wanted to show it to me. At the time I didnt tell him I’ve been plenty of times and he was really excited to show me a new place in Arlington.

There has been plenty of coincidences too. One that really stuck out to me is this;

My mother’s favorite group of singers is Pentatonix, she went to one of their concerts a few years back when they were in Texas. The group of singers were my boyfriend’s neighbors in the early 2000s to mid 2010s.

Realistically, all of these are just coincidences. But I thought it would be a cute thing to document. It’s a crazy big world out there and it’s nice to think that my boyfriend and I were supposed to meet, and that there was an invisible string tying us together :)

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Harley Pennington

Aspiring writer :)

Instagram: Harleyy.pennington

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.