Journal logo

Identity Crisis

Underdog and Mixed Culture

By Kimmie HitePublished 2 years ago 7 min read
Like
Small spec of my family

I got relis, I got cuzs that are G with it or straight hood

I’ve seen the wild and bad side as a child

So my dad made sure to keep me off the streets against all odds

He was determined to keep me a good girl

My current dude follows suit and keeps my head above the choppy waters

But my first ABCs read, “Association Brought Complications” so be careful who or what you claim streets stay watching

From the projects and streets of the east coast to surviving and living on the west

I walk around blessed to be ignorant of the life but knowing without doubt

Wherever I’m steppin in the 5280 family making sure I’m not touched

I got fambam not about that life who bougie with it despite our roots

Just don’t take their kindness for weakness

Quick to clear a room if you poke the hive or tap dance on their final nerve

Crazy run deep and we try to blend and mask it for your benefit

I got Black Excellence On that military flex

Taking over Army, Air Force, Marines and the Navy

Applying pressure on me everyday

I’m a Diamond in the Making

So I’m not allowed to break or show weakness

I wasn’t raised as no weak chick even when I got diagnosed with lupus

Oxymoron is I’m the golden compass for my squad with depression and anxiety

So I pop oxy and mood stabilizers to keep my KK impulses to a minimum

Cause if I go they go that’s just how we roll

I got latins from overseas and the border I’m Mexican by conception

Ya tu sabes no soy mientriosa (You already know I’m not a liar)

Looking at my kid you would think she was 100 percent from across the border

I got Asians from around the world I’m pinay beaner through my mother

Mahal Kita (I love you) my people I’m coming for those lost chapters don’t trip just give me halik (kiss)

I got Europeans and Caucasians I know how to maneuver white collar while in America

Cest la vie (such is life) we carpe diem (seize the day) and carpe noctem (seize the night)

Das vedanya (goodbye), Au wiedersehen (until we meet again)

If there’s money to be made Bet we moving or shaking it

You not about goals and priorities

Merci becoup (thank you very much) we not associating with you

Like society when they hear you got COvid

No Grazie (no thank you) but God Bless You

I got Native Americans from different tribes with different skin tones

Very definition of Colors of The Wind

Teaching me to give thanks to Mother Earth

And fight over flight when it’s something you believe in

Yea my family ties see no color

We’ve been took over

It’s that LOVE OVER HATE

Because RESPECT goes both ways

But Please Don’t tempt that Devil in my soul

My DNA gets a little hot on the inside

Like a Super Saiyan on steroids

If disrespect come for anyone we love or claim

Never know who, what, when or where we are

So WHY NOT START BEING NICE for the Hell of it

And mind your own business

Otherwise Heaven help ya

If we really get sick of the treatment

We’ll open the doors of our War Rooms to finish this

Prayers vs Weapons

Everyone knows HE’S ABLE

When it comes to his Kids

He loves us like Naruto loves ramen

That’s why one was sacrificed for the many

Lines above the door mixed with the Triforce (CourageWisdomStrength)

Keep my family multiplying even when the world steadily keeps

Deducting and Dividing in order to Conquer the little folk

Jokes on them

We take those L’s with our heads held high and our chest out

From sickness to old age

Or the top reason FEAR mixed with HATE

We The People coming for our propers (respect)

Yet Despite the chaos I’m just me

A Blazian with an Identity Crisis

Zoned out on Love and suffering from the side effects

A storm of emotions who’s a bit bipolar or schizophrenic

I’m Kit Kat sweet or Kamikaze Kray for no reason

I walk on that tight rope with a noose around my neck daily

I color in and out the lines for the hell of it

Just to see what boundaries I can test today

So you can see how it feels

Purple Kush Rogue in these streets

They stay sniffing and smoking it for that chill factor

Vampire Diva when I want him to hit me up just to put it down between the sheets

So if I say Bite Me take it strictly as a warning unless your HIM

So you think you got me Identified

Living out in the open

My fingerprints, background, blood, saliva and hair in the data bank and on record all exposed

Easy to set me up so I’m not allowed to really black out and see red as I’m taken to the dark side

Gotta stay in the light and walk on the right

Despite the tears, stress and sweat nightly

Be The Golden Compass how He designed

Because I’m my mates better half even on his worst days

While holding the real down and having the world on my shoulders as it’s crumbling

That’s the Everyday Struggle of My Underdogs and Real Ones around the World

So I keep his business out the streets and I stay clean no matter the crisis

Purple is my fave color for a reason

Been Crowned I’m just NOW seeing it

Ive put my life on the line to show these kids a better season

Because of that Everywhere that I go there’s no beef just the love I gave out reciprocated

If anyone does get out of pocket

I can sink the eight ball On the side or the corner if I gotta address it

The KK in me don’t play she’s a Triple B (brainy, bronze, beauty)

But as long as you don’t hurt our weakest links (Children, elders, sick) we gonna keep the peace

Just starting to realize I’ve been the voice Of Keep Kindness King (KKK)

We’ve been revamping hateful words

Y’all just too blind to really see

Currently feeling like the devil need to stop trying me

We’ve been doing this song and dance since birth

You’d think he’d get the picture by now that

My angels below and above Don’t Play Dat

They’ll live or die for me

Depending on what the situation calls for

Why he keep trying to silence me on OT

Is above and beyond my mental capacity

I’m like Harry Potter

Im the girl that lived and became chosen from birth bish

Got loved ones dead and gone lead by my mother protecting me and my purpose

Rolling out the fanfare and red carpet

For my homecoming but my works not done

My DNA was made for that kind of pressure

Hate on Earth better not approach me

Just come correct because

Vamp for the cause has taken a whole other meaning

To survive gotta take blood till I get a new kidney

Tempted to take it from the jugular like a pro

So any nigga out here sporting bite marks with my lips on his neck

Is mine no question

Check the signature written in his fine print

My name will be written on him

He my life source and I feast on him every night

So NO TOUCHING or you will feel my voice when I come full force

Unknowing pawns in society nor my family could make me give him up

ABC’s of love

His fam true Blue

My fam Red deep in the veins

I love y’all and y’all love me

So we gonna mix it up

And be ONE BIG HAPPY family

No choice in the matter

We making Royal purple

And if you haven’t figured it out

Red, blue and purple

Been the wedding colors

Just get with the program

Realize I still love even when I’m mad at you and not understanding the circumstances

In fact I will do for others without having to be asked

Because I will find a way despite my predicament with or without the help

Underdogs were meant to use pressure and become Diamonds

While I was made to apply pressure to the D and Kiss it up to my G

In thanks For the mercy and blessings

I just want people to be happy with what they got and grind to reach they goals or change they predicament

EVERYONE got it in them if they stop letting doubts and jealousy take them out

Maybe because of my identity crisis

I’m putting too much hope in the world

To maneuver like my family

Just realize we all brothers and sisters blood not withstanding

Family comes in three if I’ve learned anything from my history

One: family your related to gives you roots and foundation that’s Culture

Two: marriage ties blend different families to become a union and 2 becomes 1 expanding

Three: friends turned family are ones you choose from the heart yea that’s inner circle and day ones

Despite my Identity Crisis I stand on

No Friends just Family in my personal space

They the only ones that will really Accept Me

No matter the changes I be facing

Above the call of duty

Beyond expectations

Cause of Love

Gonna always be my kids first ABCs

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Kimmie Hite

Born in the Philippines as a military brat I grew up as a kid exposed to all walks of life and cultures. Currently, working on releasing self published book while living with lupus nephritis as a single mother waiting for transplant

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.