Journal logo

I Work Harder Than You Do

I Am Going to Do Everything I Can to Succeed

By Jason ProvencioPublished about a year ago 4 min read
Like
An open letter to the average writer I once was. Image by Bruno /Germany from Pixabay

Dear Average Writer,

Just a quick note to check in and see how you are doing. It’s been a while since we caught up. How’s your Writer’s Journey going? Are you reaching all of your goals, the small ones and the larger ones?

I realize it takes time to reach those bigger goals. Rome wasn’t built in a day, as they say. I hope you’re doing your best, feeling fulfilled most days, and not allowing periods of slower progress deter you from kicking ass.

I’m working hard. I’m working harder than you are, Mr. Average Writer. But you could be doing it, too. It just takes attention to detail, sacrificing some of your free time, and a lot of effort. It’s not always easy, but it’s always worthwhile.

I’m not writing you this letter to show off. I believe in you. I just want to provide an example of what can happen during your first year of writing if you bust your ass and live up to your potential.

So read these tips below. You can work as hard as I do. I see great things coming your way in the future.

Sincerely,

Jason Provencio,

11-month Writer &:^)

This is a letter sent to myself. Specifically, my March of 2022 Medium Writer self.

You see, back then, I was a real newbie. I wasn’t doing the things I am doing daily now, back then. I was happy writing and publishing the occasional blog. Hell, I took almost the entire month of February from posting here on Medium.

I had my reasons. After starting to write for Medium at the beginning of the year, I didn’t find the quick results I had hoped for. I thought my writing was good enough to earn far more than just a couple of dollars a month.

I didn’t understand that eye-catching titles were important. I didn’t know the importance yet of building an ever-growing following each and every day. I wasn’t the best at commenting back on other writers' writing pieces or even their comments on my own posts.

Thankfully, these lessons came as I read more about how to write on Medium. There were plenty of articles about how to build a larger following in a quicker amount of time. I read so many of these kinds of articles. I even wrote a number of them myself, as I started realizing what worked well and what wasn’t the best use of my time.

How do you stand out ahead of the next average writer? Keep reading. Photo by Andraz Lazic on Unsplash

With as many talented writers are there are on Medium and Vocal, I knew I had to do it better, more detail-oriented, and more regularly. One thing that can never be said about Jason Provencio, the writer, is that he didn’t show up every day and give it his all. I wanted to become one of the biggest bloggers in the world. I still do.

The years of marketing and social media experience definitely were helpful in building a larger following. They translated to my building a pretty solid following on Medium in a quicker amount of time. I’m closing in on 6000 followers and it’s been truly awesome to get to know so many amazing people.

However, all of this is for naught, if the writing isn’t very good. Fortunately, mine has gotten better as time went by. When you write a blog every day, and then up that level of production to twice a day, you get pretty skilled at producing solid writing. At least it seems good.

Judging it as “good” solely based on the comments and feedback you receive is one thing. Truly enjoying rereading your older blogs and laughing at them is a second way to gauge how well you’re writing. I really do enjoy those older blogs I wrote, months later.

I’m proud of my level of activity for the past 30 days. But I’m always looking to improve upon it.

I’m closing in on writing 400 blogs in 2022. Considering I took that month off in February, that’s a pretty lofty achievement. I’m doing an above-average amount of writing and publishing daily with this blog. More than I had anticipated when I started on Medium.

I’m trying to make them even more polished, funnier, and newsworthy when I write about current events. I want to look back a year from now and think, “Man, that hard work sure paid off. I’m glad I honed my craft by writing daily.”

It pays to write as much as you’re able to. Taking time to create clever titles, using attention-getting pictures, and proofreading your work for accurate spelling, grammar, punctuation, and formatting will serve you well. It’s important to stand out amongst so many other writers here on our platform.

Likewise, be a good friend to all here in our community. Reading other writers’ work and highlighting or leaving comments helps you build a solid, loyal following. Plus it’s just the right thing to do.

Working hard, keeping your fingers moving along the keyboard, and paying close attention to the details will make you surpass the average writer. I know this because I was that average writer, about nine months ago. &:^)

advicecareerfact or fictionhow toliteratureworkflow
Like

About the Creator

Jason Provencio

78x Top Writer on Medium. I love blogging about family, politics, relationships, humor, and writing. Read my blog here! &:^)

https://medium.com/@Jason-P/membership

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.